Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Perfect Pasta With No Watching and No Sweating Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Perfect Pasta With No Watching and No Sweating

    Average Rating:

    164 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 164

    Sort by:

    • on June 08, 2002

      Thanks for the great idea!! I made spaghetti using this method. It came out perfect. I was worried it would stick together--NOT! It was just great, freed up a burner, and NO steam in the kitchen! How in the world did you discover this?? Thanks a lot, will always do it this way!! :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2002

      I have to admit I was a bit skeptical about cooking pasta this way. Gave it a try tonight (used rotelle pasta), and they came out perfect, without watching the pot! Thanks for the tip.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2002

      I have made my pasta this way for decades. I believe I first learned about it when I was cooking part-time in an Italian restaurant when I was in college. I do add about a teaspoon of olive oil to the boiling water to help prevent any clumping, even when cold. Completely unrelated but this is how I cook corn on the cob also -- with NO salt in the water but a teaspoon of sugar instead.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2002

      I used this with Fettuccini for three persons and it was perfectly cooked, added sundried tomatoe pesto sauce right after I drained the pasta into the pot put the lid back on and presto perfect pasta no muss no fuss - of course I added some parmesan when serving. Thanks Margaret for a real no watch recipe that works

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2002

      I've been cooking pasta this way for years, having found the tip in a column on ways of saving energy. Just fyi, I allow 5 minutes for angel hair. If you like it al dente, probably 4 minutes would be better.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2002

      I don't believe this. When I first tasted the pasta I thought it was not cooked. I then realized I've always overcooked pasta and was now enjoying it the way it should be!! I'm sold and this is how I'll always cook pasta now. Thank you very much Margaret3.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2002

      I've made pasta this way and yes, it does work! :) We also have to make our rice in this manner because we have a gas stove - otherwise the rice burns.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2002

      Hey this also work's for hard-boiled egg's.......when the water comes to a boil take off the stove put the lid on and wait 15 minute's, perfect HARD-BOILED EGG'S EVERY TIME... DEBDEBZ

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2002

      The benefit is not just cutting down the heat in the kitchen, it turns out great pasta!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2002

      I was very wary of this method until I tried it and it worked beautifully. I used a large amount of regular long spaghetti and I followed the directions to a T. Perfectly al dente pasta. And, as a bonus, my kitchen was not blazing hot after cooking it. Yipee!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2002

      Margaret3...irrespective of how many other folk knew of this method...thank YOU sincerely for posting it here for those of us who have never heard of this ingenious approach. Over the last few days I have been finding the heat nearly unbearable and not having to stand in front of a dementedly boiling pot of pasta was truly a wee slice of heaven. Bless you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2002

      This really does work! I used this with with 8 ounces dry rotini and it came out PERFECT! Margaret u have no idea how much you've simplified my cooking like! THANK U!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2002

      It Works! I used this method to cook wide egg noodles tonight. I have to admit I was pleasently surprised, having been just as skeptical as others who tried it. You might have to tweak the time a little bit depending on pasta size and altitude, but it will be well worth the convience. It was 112°F today in Phoenix, but not in my kitchen. *^-^*

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2002

      WOW...with the heat index at 115 degrees here yesterday, I used the NEW method. Worked great on bow tie pasta!! I will never boil pasta the old way again!!! Thank you for posting!!! Amy

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2002

      THANK YOU for a wonderful idea. Works great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2002

      Your right...my pasta came out PERFECT! It was so nice not having all of that rolling steam in the kitchen on this hot summer day! Thanks for the GREAT tip!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2002

      What a great cooking method! I have tried this method a couple of times now with great success. How nice to not have to worry about your pasta water boiling over while you are busy preparing the sauce. If you follow the directions exactly, your pasta will come out perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2002

      This is great! I've always cooked hardboiled eggs this way. (less "bouncing around" and fewer "cracked eggs") Now I'll have to try this method with rice. Many thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2002

      Another convert here, and being from South Florida, it's the only way I will make pasta again. I made linguine and it was perfectly cooked.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2002

      I`am shocked like every one else that has tried this - its a great method I`ll never forget :O) You can also do this for hard boiled eggs :O) ~Poker~

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 9

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Perfect Pasta With No Watching and No Sweating

    Serving Size: 1 (114 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 422.9
     
    Calories from Fat 15
    66%
    Total Fat 1.7 g
    2%
    Saturated Fat 0.3 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 6.8 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 85.1 g
    28%
    Dietary Fiber 3.6 g
    14%
    Sugars 3.0 g
    12%
    Protein 14.8 g
    29%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites