136 Reviews

I would give this 10 plus stars! It is incredible! All the reviews saying how great it was are correct. I was never a big pasta salad fan but this made me change my mind. I will throw out all my other recipes for pasta salad. Go ahead and make the whole amount -it will be gone. I made it yesterday and there are 3 people in my house-my hubby, me and my son and I gave one small container to my friend and it's all but gone. I saved a small container for my self in back of the fridge-he he. My friend is now making it too. No one can stop eating it.I added in roasted red peppers along with the green peppers, grape tomatoes-(love'em) and used mozzarella instead of provolone. I added about a 1/4 cup of grated Parmesan in there too. I had the Pompeian red wine vinegar, but used Sam's Club extra-virgin olive oil. I used 1 tablespoon dried oregano and 1/2 teaspoon dried basil. I used seasoned salt instead of regular and I grated a garlic clove into the dressing as well. I used the full amount of sugar. The dressing makes this salad perfect! Thanks Mrs. Jaye for the recipe and answering my question!

9 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bad kitty 1116 May 20, 2009

Really, really good salad! I tweaked the dressing a bit since there wasn't enough of a vinegar taste to me, so mine ended up being 1.5 parts vinegar to 1 part olive oil, but otherwise I followed the recipe with great results!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RSL July 23, 2010

You are right Kelley, this pasta salad is INCREDIBLE!! Beautiful with color and very refreshing taste. The dressing is nice and zesty. Took it to work to share with my co-workers and we all agreed it was worth 5-stars. Thanks.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ratherbeswimmin' April 17, 2003

Good - but dressing needs some tweaking. Maybe garlic, Italian seasoning.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GusOnBrys September 07, 2014

I messed up the second time that I made it and bought the pomegranate infused red wine vinegar. WOWED. What an awesome mistake. That kicks it up 3 notches.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sblowe July 03, 2014

Good pasta salad. I made as written, but the possibilities are endless of the type of vegetables that can be added. After making and tasting I decided to add capers and green olives. I also used shredded mozzarella cheese on top, mixing it in when served. What I like about this recipe is that it wasn't oily, I did make a half recipe of extra dressing just in case it got dry after chilling.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ms. B September 04, 2013

This pasta salad is really good! I used sharp cheddar cheese in place of the provolone. After tasting it, I decided to add 2 tbsp of grated Parmesan cheese. It also needed a little garlic, so I added 1/4 tsp of garlic powder to the dressing. I would definitely make this again - thank you for the recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cooking Creation May 27, 2013

Thank you for this keeper of a recipe! Very pleased with this one. I ran out of red wine vinegar and used half rice vinegar and it was still great. I used string cheese cubed as the provolone, yum! Used sliced pepperoni and should have seperated the slices before adding to the mix. I will use a pepperoni stick next time or manually seperate the slices a they do not come apart while stiring. This will be made many times this summer.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marjorie D. May 15, 2013

Turned out very well. I had to eliminate some ingredients since I didn't have them on hand but it is really the dressing that shines. Yes, there is a lot of sugar and tasting it before mixing into the pasta is scary and way too sweet. But something magical happens if you let it sit in the fridge overnight, the dressing isn't sweet at all and enhances the other flavors. I ended up not using all the dressing as I didn't make quite enough pasta or use enough added veggies but it worked out beautifully. And I have a little bit of leftover dressing to use for something else. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mybirdzone July 12, 2010

Very good! Thank you for the recipe! I used store brand noodles, vinegar, and olive oil with fantastic results! Only change I made (besides brand names) was that I used cubed pepper jack cheese instead of provolone. I also decreased the sugar to 2tablespoons instead of 1/4 cup. Thanks again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jenisinchina July 03, 2010
Perfect Pasta Salad: