Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Perfect Homemade Hash Browns Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Perfect Homemade Hash Browns

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on February 27, 2005

      These were Excellent! I used bacon grease in place of the vegetable oil and cooked them over medium to high heat, other then that I followed your directions exactly. They were not at all greasy, I think the key to not having greasy hash browns is to partilly cook your potatoes. My husband still thinks his are better, but I like yours, shhh. Thanks EdsGirlAngie....

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2005

      These were very crispy on the outside, but turned out very greasy. I cooked the potatoes on medium heat and it still took about 25-30 minutes to brown. The taste overall was good but a little greasy for our likes. I think next time I will cut down on the oil and butter

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2013

      Boiling the potatoes first made a huge difference. The potatoes were soft inside and crispy outside. I didn't wait for them to cool before grating just held the hot potatoes with a towel. I reduced the oil/butter and just used what looked right maybe half. I cooked mine on medium heat they took about 12 minutes (I really wasn't paying close attention to the time.) I've made them twice this week! The second time I added a little onion powder. Made for Recipes without Photos tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2013

      Turned out great but there is a fine line between crisp and over done. Had to do the first side almost 20 min. and then 10 on the second side.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2013

      Best I ever had......deserves 5 stars.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2011

      This is the only recipe for hash browns that has worked for me!! We're going to be having a lot of hash browns from now on!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2011

      These were quite tasty. I did go ahead and cook over medium high heat which worked well. I boiled the potatoes longer than 10 minutes (until almost done), but then they didn't grate very well. So we ended up with more like mashed potato pancake, but it was still pretty tasty for being fairly quick. I also didn't use quite the amount of oil or butter called for. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2009

    • on June 29, 2008

      Thanks EdsGirlAngie! I didn't know the secret of boiling the potatoes first. Helped a lot, these were great! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2007

      I think the pre-cooking method is good, but medium-low on my stove for frying the hash browns didn't work at all. I preheated the oil and butter, but it never got hot enough so the potatoes absorbed all the oil. After ten minutes I turned the heat up, but the damage had already been done. It took so long for them to cook that they discolored and were a little off in taste. We couldn't eat them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2007

      Great recipe! Never have had good luck with hashbrowns until now. I skipped the butter and used canola oil and they weren't greasy at all. Browned beautifully. Will be making them this way from now on. Thank you for posting this, Angie.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2005

      These are awesome! These are exactly how I like my hash browns-crunchy and not too greasy. Next time I think I'll add a garlic clove and chopped bacon. We'll definitely be making these often! Thanks Angie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2005

      These are the first hash browns I've made that turned out exactly the way I wanted them too. Perfect. I added onion to mine, I hope my family likes them as much as do because we will be eating them quite often. lol

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2004

      I loved this recipe, very easy to make and I added shredded cheddar cheese to it and made it even better.I made it for my friends for breakfast and they loved it too. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Perfect Homemade Hash Browns

    Serving Size: 1 (134 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 3

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 344.7
     
    Calories from Fat 233
    67%
    Total Fat 25.9 g
    39%
    Saturated Fat 7.2 g
    36%
    Cholesterol 20.3 mg
    6%
    Sodium 76.6 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 26.4 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 3.3 g
    13%
    Sugars 1.1 g
    4%
    Protein 3.1 g
    6%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites