14 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

These were Excellent! I used bacon grease in place of the vegetable oil and cooked them over medium to high heat, other then that I followed your directions exactly. They were not at all greasy, I think the key to not having greasy hash browns is to partilly cook your potatoes. My husband still thinks his are better, but I like yours, shhh. Thanks EdsGirlAngie....

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sheri-BDB February 27, 2005

These were very crispy on the outside, but turned out very greasy. I cooked the potatoes on medium heat and it still took about 25-30 minutes to brown. The taste overall was good but a little greasy for our likes. I think next time I will cut down on the oil and butter

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Nimz~ February 09, 2005

Boiling the potatoes first made a huge difference. The potatoes were soft inside and crispy outside. I didn't wait for them to cool before grating just held the hot potatoes with a towel. I reduced the oil/butter and just used what looked right maybe half. I cooked mine on medium heat they took about 12 minutes (I really wasn't paying close attention to the time.) I've made them twice this week! The second time I added a little onion powder. Made for Recipes without Photos tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
momaphet March 28, 2013

Turned out great but there is a fine line between crisp and over done. Had to do the first side almost 20 min. and then 10 on the second side.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
adopt a greyhound March 24, 2013

Best I ever had......deserves 5 stars.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jimjam63 February 19, 2013

This is the only recipe for hash browns that has worked for me!! We're going to be having a lot of hash browns from now on!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrsfizz July 08, 2011

These were quite tasty. I did go ahead and cook over medium high heat which worked well. I boiled the potatoes longer than 10 minutes (until almost done), but then they didn't grate very well. So we ended up with more like mashed potato pancake, but it was still pretty tasty for being fairly quick. I also didn't use quite the amount of oil or butter called for. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
StacyMD187373 April 07, 2011

Thanks EdsGirlAngie! I didn't know the secret of boiling the potatoes first. Helped a lot, these were great! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mom2Tess June 29, 2008

I think the pre-cooking method is good, but medium-low on my stove for frying the hash browns didn't work at all. I preheated the oil and butter, but it never got hot enough so the potatoes absorbed all the oil. After ten minutes I turned the heat up, but the damage had already been done. It took so long for them to cook that they discolored and were a little off in taste. We couldn't eat them.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
puppitypup December 07, 2007
Perfect Homemade Hash Browns