Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Perfect Hard Boiled Eggs (Technique) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Perfect Hard Boiled Eggs (Technique)

    Average Rating:

    21 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 21

    Sort by:

    • on July 06, 2009

      I always used this method after seeing it on Emeril. He said "remember LUCKY 13". 2 minutes of boiling, then 11 minutes sitting in covered pot. Then immediate to ice cold water, which shrinks the egg away from its outer peel, making it easier to peel them flawlessly.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2008

      Seems everyone has their own way to do hard-boiled eggs! I was making an egg salad and I forgot how long I was supposed to cook my eggs, so I searched Zaar and came up with your method (I had X-tra large eggs and you mentioned a time for jumbo eggs). I never added a pinch of salt before and never boiled for just 2 mins and let sit covered & timed. I let my X-tra lg. eggs sit for 13 mins and well, they came out perfect. I even had my 2yr old and 4yr old peel them without any problems, so I know this is a good method. I've added this to my cookbook and it will be the only way I make hard boiled eggs from now on. Thanks DangerBun!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2005

      I had no idea that the green color was from over boiling! This is a great tip. Thanks a million!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2014

      Well, I wasn't such a happy cook with the way my eggs turned out. Love deviled eggs but, can't seem to get easy peel eggs any more. I tried LayerMom's advice, used a timer, and 1/2 of them were hard to peel. Now, my husband advised that when the timer went off that I should shock the eggs in cold water and I did that, then I put about 6 in the fridge and will try them later. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2014

      Perfect is right! No grey ring and they were really easy to peel.. Thanks for posting the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2013

      They were perfect and easy to peel. Thanks DangerBun :) Made for Name that ingredient tag game

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2011

      This worked perfectly. Thanks for sharing your technique.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2011

      Perfect, thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2011

      I usually only do 2-5 eggs, but I've used this recipe for a while, except for the salt. I always get perfect eggs. I do bring them to a rolling boil for 2 minutes, not just when bubbles appear and start to surface. My eggs have turned out perfectly every time. Thanks for sharing this technique.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2010

      Yes indeed this works !!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2010

      I have no clue what I did wrong. Followed the recipe exactly. The eggs turned out perfect in doneness, but I could not peel them at all :o( I tried this recipe to hopefully solve my peeling problems, but no such luck. If anyone has any suggestions on what I did wrong, let me know.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2010

      Yes, this does work. The eggs are very easy to peel after the ice bath, and the yolks are a pretty yellow color. I'll be using this method from now on.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2009

      Many thanks DangerBun! I hated making boiled eggs and dreaded making boiled eggs for Deviled Eggs. It was a "back breaking job" hanging over the sink to shell the eggs. Worse yet, my eggs always looked like the "rats picked at them"! Thanks to you, I finally found a way that works every time every time!! My eggs peel like magic every time and are perfect inside and out every time. Truely, I am grateful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2009

      Worked Perfect. thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2007

      Followed the technique exactly as posted and it worked great. I always over cook them and didn't this time. This is the only way I'll boil eggs from now on.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2006

      I couldn't give this recipe any stars. I tried it, and it took me 45 min. to get the shells off. I read the reviews that others had made, and I feel that it is possible that my eggs were not fresh, altho the freshness date is 3 weeks away. In order to not bring Danger's ratings down, I will only comment.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2006

      To me they were undercooked since the centers of the yokes were wet. But, they weren't so bad that I could use them. While they were still warm, they were very easy to peel. Once they had been in the refrigerator for a day, they stuck some. Thanks for sharing but I think I'll go back to my old method.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2006

      Needed to boil the eggs to color for Easter but could never remember how long to boil,etc... This was great-only cracked two (on top) out of three dozen!!!! Thanks for posting!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2006

      Very nice method and I only had one egg crack out of the 44 I boiled. Thanks for posting DangerBun!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2006

      These turned out perfect! No green rim and they were EASY TO PEEL! I used those new omega 3 eggs... don't know if that had anything to do with it. But I will always use this method!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Perfect Hard Boiled Eggs (Technique)

    Serving Size: 1 (600 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 71.5
     
    Calories from Fat 42
    59%
    Total Fat 4.7 g
    7%
    Saturated Fat 1.5 g
    7%
    Cholesterol 186.0 mg
    62%
    Sodium 83.9 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 0.3 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.1 g
    0%
    Protein 6.2 g
    12%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes