11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Yes, fluffy! Don't worry if you add too much milk, the potatoes will thicken up eventually. Tip: use a large and deep bowl to mix the potatoes or else the potatoes will be flying all over the kitchen. White pepper for black. Very good!~ Thanks! cg ;)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
COOKGIRl November 24, 2007

So, I was a little sceptical that this would be any different to any other mashed potato, so I had to try it to see, and how wrong I was! The wee secret ingredient makes these spuds amazing, and we now only ever have our spuds this way. Thank you for such a fantastic recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
djmastermum December 18, 2005

Thank you for sharing this lovely recipe dukeswalker. What a great way to prepare smashed potatoes. They were light, tender and fluffy with a great buttery flavor and they were perfectly seasoned. Who knew that a little baking powder would be so great with spuds. Thank you for teaching this ole woman a new trick. I will be making these quick and easy to make potatoes all the time now.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Baby Kato June 12, 2014

Yummy mashed potatoes! Put through a ricer then stirred in the baking powder with a fork, not sure if I got the same results you would with a mixer, but still quite fluffy and good. I always seem to add more milk than what's called for but no otehr changes. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LonghornMama October 11, 2009

YUMMMMMMY! I love mashed potatoes but had never made them from scratch... until now. So simple and delicious. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PamperedP April 13, 2009

Wow! Really fluffy! Love the addition of the baking powder!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MaMa's Apprentice February 11, 2009

We love this fluffy mashed potato recipe. Truly a favorite in our house. Thanks for posting! ~Andi

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cookiegirlandi October 26, 2008

This was a great recipe. It was my first stab ever at making mashed potatoes, and the directions were simple and easy to follow. I added some garlic and scallions and it was very nice as a side dish with baked ham. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bricookie55 January 06, 2008

Golden, fluffy, and yes, perfect! I made these on Thanksgiving morning, transferred to a casserole dish, and put them in the oven, covered, half-an-hour before it was time to eat. Delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sandrasothere November 23, 2007

Simple recipe with fluffy, great tasting results. This would go well with almost anything. Even my 10 year old who will only eat my mother's mashed potatoes gave them 5 stars!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
3islandgirls May 22, 2006
Perfect Fluffy Mashed Potatoes