Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Perfect Flourless Chocolate Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Perfect Flourless Chocolate Cake

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on August 04, 2013

      Catfish Charlie is right. The recipe and the cake are "Perfect". Since the only flavor is chocolate, be sure to use the very best chocolate you can find. Here are the tweaks I used when I made this: I lined the bottom and the sides of my springform pan with parchment, buttered it and dusted it with cocoa instead of flour. Along with the melted chocolate, I whisked a tablespoon of powdered instant coffee into the egg yolks for deeper chocolate flavor. I tied a double thickness of foil around the pan with string. I let the cake cool in the pan on a rack to room temperature (about three hours) then chilled it overnight in the pan. Next day, it was a snap to remove the pan and the parchment liners. Since nothing succeeds like excess, I frosted the finished cake with chocolate ganache (Dark Chocolate Ganache) and served it with slightly sweetened whipped cream. Was it a hit? Eight of eight diners called it, "The best cake I have ever eaten...ever." Attaboy Charlie, and thank you.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2013

      Wonderful! I made this last night for my hubby's birthday and we all adored it...can't wait to have the leftovers tonight. I made a simple chocolate glaze and spread that over it to make it even more chocolatey...yowza! Thanks for a great recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2013

      I made this cake because I'm trying to eat cleaner, however, I love to bake. I came across this particular recipe because I had all the ingredients and it looked easy enough. Well i absolutely loved it!!! It had a mousse like texture and my co workers fell in love. Fast forward....one month later its the holidays and my husbands aunt wants me to bring desserts and she especially asked for something chocolate. This cake instantly came to mind but because I'm such a recipe seeker I couldn't remember where I got the recipe from (I usually print them) & I went into panic mode but I refused to give up! Alas, I just found out and just made it......we will see what the family rates it....results to come!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2013

      I started making this cake, as usual I got all my ingredients together before I started baking.. At the end I noticed I never used the 1/4 tsp of salt! I thought.. Silly me I left it out! But when I went back to see where I went wrong I saw that there's no place to put the salt in. Am I missing something? Is in the oven baking, hopefully it turns out alright

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2013

      I totally agree with you, Charlie...it is the best flourless chocolate cake I have ever eaten...and I've made many! Great, almost ethereal texture. I did use dark chocolate that had candied orange in, just for something different, and because that is my favorite flavor combination...absolutely MAH-VEL-OUS!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2010

      Awesome cake, definitely a keeper, love it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2010

      I had 2 kids who didn't like this, and they are my big eaters. But my gluten-free company loved it, so I'm bumping it up to 4 stars. I would say it is a very unique texture, not exactly what I imagined, but good nonetheless.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2009

      This was fabulous! I've tried lots of flourless cake recipes and this was by far the best I've tried. The egg white did take a while to peak, but eventually they were just right. I made a mistake and added 12 ounces of butter, instead of tablespoons (I got distracted), but the cake still turned out okay if a little on the heavy side. I made it for a special chocolate feast I was planned for the end of Lent at our church. It got rave reviews!!! Everyone wanted the recipe. I totally gave credit to you, Charlie, except for my little mistake. Even our friend who really doesn't like flourless choc. cake said it was pretty amazing. I made it the right way for another event the next week and it was perfect!!! More requests for the recipe. I added orange flavoring for a little exotic taste. Might try ameretto or raspberry next time! Thank you for the perfect fourless cake. My friends, family and I applaud you!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2009

      YUMMY! I would definitely give it 5 stars, except I monkeyed with it, and cannot fairly judge it as written. I added 1/2 lb of chopped dried apricots, along with 1/2 jar apricot preserves. When it was cool, I glazed it with the rest of the preserves boiled with a little OJ. It was really delicious, but the texture of mine made for very messy slicing. Probably due to the apricot chunks, as it was chilled overnight. I wasn't sure exactly what constitutes "bittersweet" chocolate, but I used a mix of chocolate averaging 65% cocoa. The chocolate and sweetness were perfect! And, since I was making it for Passover, I dusted the sides with cocoa instead of flour, and this worked fine. Anyway, it was so good that I will surely make this again, but without chunks. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2009

      We just thought this was ok. we love bittersweet chocolate, but this needed sugar. It also came out a little dry for our taste. I know I didn't overbake it, because I was very careful. It wasn't awful, but wasn't the greatest. Probably wouldn't make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2009

      This one is a real keeper!!!! Oh my gosh...I love chocolate and this one is sooo good...not too sweet, just unbelievably good. I would highly recommend this one. So glad I tried it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2008

      This is a wonderful chocolate dessert - not too sweet, great flavour and texture. We really enjoyed it and it's easier to make than the directions imply!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2008

      This was the first flourless cake I had ever made, and it was a BIG hit! I even had some New York baker following me around asking questions about the recipe!!! To save time, get all your ingredients out and measured before you start. Oh, I also topped it with a fantastic brown sugar vanilla whip cream frosting- perfect combo!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2007

      My husband's favourite dessert used to be chocolate amoretto cheesecake, but since trying this recipe , he has changed his preferance. My children (12 & 14) hate cheesecake, but they cannot get enough of this cake. UMM, so chocolatey, and easy. Thank you Catfish Charlie

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2007

      I made this for my dad's birthday. He is allergic to wheat and doesn't get to eat many desserts. He loved it so much he at it for breakfast, lunch and dinner over the next week. He wants me to make another one right away. I was very simple to make as well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2006

      So, I'm a pansy and don't usually do tough recipes, so I kind of cheated and skipped the whole two plates and a springform pan thing (I used a bundt pan) but it worked out pretty well. The cake tastes AMAZING. It's pretty much baked mousse (my husband hasn't tried it yet, but no doubt he'll flip...), like Catfish Charlie said. My only issue was that it took a lot longer than usual for me to get the egg whites to merengue consistency (could that be because of the brown sugar?), but that may just be me. Thanks! Definitely a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2005

      Not too easy to make, and I was grumbling a bit halfway through, but the end result was so totally worth it. And it was so rewarding to see my GI friend appreciate it so much. Five stars all the way, thanks!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Perfect Flourless Chocolate Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (91 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 213.8
     
    Calories from Fat 142
    66%
    Total Fat 15.8 g
    24%
    Saturated Fat 8.4 g
    42%
    Cholesterol 154.5 mg
    51%
    Sodium 100.9 mg
    4%
    Total Carbohydrate 13.4 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 12.1 g
    48%
    Protein 4.4 g
    8%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes