17 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Catfish Charlie is right. The recipe and the cake are "Perfect". Since the only flavor is chocolate, be sure to use the very best chocolate you can find. Here are the tweaks I used when I made this: I lined the bottom and the sides of my springform pan with parchment, buttered it and dusted it with cocoa instead of flour. Along with the melted chocolate, I whisked a tablespoon of powdered instant coffee into the egg yolks for deeper chocolate flavor. I tied a double thickness of foil around the pan with string. I let the cake cool in the pan on a rack to room temperature (about three hours) then chilled it overnight in the pan. Next day, it was a snap to remove the pan and the parchment liners. Since nothing succeeds like excess, I frosted the finished cake with chocolate ganache (Dark Chocolate Ganache) and served it with slightly sweetened whipped cream. Was it a hit? Eight of eight diners called it, "The best cake I have ever eaten...ever." Attaboy Charlie, and thank you.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Feed me now! August 04, 2013

Wonderful! I made this last night for my hubby's birthday and we all adored it...can't wait to have the leftovers tonight. I made a simple chocolate glaze and spread that over it to make it even more chocolatey...yowza! Thanks for a great recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Liza at Food.com July 15, 2013

I made this cake because I'm trying to eat cleaner, however, I love to bake. I came across this particular recipe because I had all the ingredients and it looked easy enough. Well i absolutely loved it!!! It had a mousse like texture and my co workers fell in love. Fast forward....one month later its the holidays and my husbands aunt wants me to bring desserts and she especially asked for something chocolate. This cake instantly came to mind but because I'm such a recipe seeker I couldn't remember where I got the recipe from (I usually print them) & I went into panic mode but I refused to give up! Alas, I just found out and just made it......we will see what the family rates it....results to come!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
msnicky67 December 24, 2013

I started making this cake, as usual I got all my ingredients together before I started baking.. At the end I noticed I never used the 1/4 tsp of salt! I thought.. Silly me I left it out! But when I went back to see where I went wrong I saw that there's no place to put the salt in. Am I missing something? Is in the oven baking, hopefully it turns out alright

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
shellybellywho December 07, 2013

I totally agree with you, Charlie...it is the best flourless chocolate cake I have ever eaten...and I've made many! Great, almost ethereal texture. I did use dark chocolate that had candied orange in, just for something different, and because that is my favorite flavor combination...absolutely MAH-VEL-OUS!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
luvsweetstuff March 16, 2013

Awesome cake, definitely a keeper, love it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
carlaperez September 24, 2010

I had 2 kids who didn't like this, and they are my big eaters. But my gluten-free company loved it, so I'm bumping it up to 4 stars. I would say it is a very unique texture, not exactly what I imagined, but good nonetheless.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
annlouise April 19, 2010

This was fabulous! I've tried lots of flourless cake recipes and this was by far the best I've tried. The egg white did take a while to peak, but eventually they were just right. I made a mistake and added 12 ounces of butter, instead of tablespoons (I got distracted), but the cake still turned out okay if a little on the heavy side. I made it for a special chocolate feast I was planned for the end of Lent at our church. It got rave reviews!!! Everyone wanted the recipe. I totally gave credit to you, Charlie, except for my little mistake. Even our friend who really doesn't like flourless choc. cake said it was pretty amazing. I made it the right way for another event the next week and it was perfect!!! More requests for the recipe. I added orange flavoring for a little exotic taste. Might try ameretto or raspberry next time! Thank you for the perfect fourless cake. My friends, family and I applaud you!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
curtiseringae April 21, 2009

YUMMY! I would definitely give it 5 stars, except I monkeyed with it, and cannot fairly judge it as written. I added 1/2 lb of chopped dried apricots, along with 1/2 jar apricot preserves. When it was cool, I glazed it with the rest of the preserves boiled with a little OJ. It was really delicious, but the texture of mine made for very messy slicing. Probably due to the apricot chunks, as it was chilled overnight. I wasn't sure exactly what constitutes "bittersweet" chocolate, but I used a mix of chocolate averaging 65% cocoa. The chocolate and sweetness were perfect! And, since I was making it for Passover, I dusted the sides with cocoa instead of flour, and this worked fine. Anyway, it was so good that I will surely make this again, but without chunks. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dorie's Lori April 11, 2009

We just thought this was ok. we love bittersweet chocolate, but this needed sugar. It also came out a little dry for our taste. I know I didn't overbake it, because I was very careful. It wasn't awful, but wasn't the greatest. Probably wouldn't make it again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LizP February 06, 2009
Perfect Flourless Chocolate Cake