Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Perfect Easy Microwave Rice Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Perfect Easy Microwave Rice

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on May 28, 2013

      If you find your rice is sticky you may want to change to a long grain rice like basmati or jasmine. Japanese sticky rice is intentional because that is how it is eaten in Japan with chopsticks (hashi) and for sushi. If all you have is Japanese sticky rice, put the rice in a microwave safe bowl dry, no water at all. Microwave for 2 to 4 minutes on high depending on the wattage of your microwave. This process converts the starch in the rice kernals so your rice will come out really fluffy. I cook 1 cup of rice to 2 cups water, add salt, margarine and sometimes a little broth and cook as directed. This works for all types of rice. Usually I dry roast my rice in a pan on the stovetop until it is opaque before cooking in water. Converting the starch has made it possible for us as diabetics to still enjoy rice.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2012

      This rice was good, but it could stand for some improvements! My rice was sticky, so I would wash it first to get some of the starch off. 2) the rice was a tad undercooked, so I would cook the rice for another 3 minutes, then rest for 2. 3) the cooking time was actually more with this method than stove top cooking, so you are not saving any real time. I used beef broth and a couple dashes of hot pepper sauce which gave it a nice flavour. This was fun to try, but I don't know if I would come back to this one again

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2014

      First, thank you for your contribution. It works well for me with white rice. I did make some revisions, though, when I make whole grain brown rice.<br/><br/>1) For the 15 minutes in step three, I bump the microwave from 50% to 70%.<br/><br/>2) I use vegetable stock in place of the water.<br/><br/>3) I add a splash of balsamic vinegar because I think it goes well with brown rice. (Actually, I think is goes well with SO many things...)<br/><br/>Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2012

      Perfect! I had tried another recipe that instructed cooking the rice uncovered. THAT was a big mistake. This recipe came out just right. I cooked the rice 5 mins., stirred, and cooked for an additional 12 mins. and let it sit for 2 mins. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2012

    • on May 13, 2012

      This worked perfectly! I was making Buffalo Chicken Casserole and wanted a quick and easy way to cook the rice which this turned out to be! I used basmati and the cook time was spot-on. I did use cold water without a problem and left out the salt since I was using the rice in a casserole. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2012

      Works well for Quinoa as well!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2010

    • on June 01, 2010

      I made this using brown rice and increased the cooking time by 15 minutes (doing it in 5 minute intervals) and amount of water as well. It was a nice way to cook rice but it only shaved 10 minutes off my stove top cooking time. I will use this recipe again but only for small amounts of rice and I will use my old stove top method for larger amounts. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2010

      This is the best recipe I have found for microwaving rice. Remember to add an ounce or two more water when doing other rices.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2008

      I've used this method to make rice for a couple of years now. I also found it on the back of a bag of rice. If you have problems with boil over, use a bigger dish! It doesn't work well to try and double this recipe. I tried it and it failed. Make as directed! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2008

      This is definitely a 5-star way to make rice, coming from the rice inept. I used a 2 1/2 qt pyrex with cover and had no boil overs. I could probably have decreased the rice by a Tbsp to keep it moister, and left the cooking time the same. I'll definitely be using this again, because it is so much more time efficient than my rice cooker. Thanks !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2008

      I was going to submit this and was pleased to see it here. I use any long grain rice (basmati, jasmine, or white) with this method. Cooking it in a 2 quart covered glass casserole works best.(always with paper towel underneath to catch any "boil overs") I sometimes omit the salt and cook it with broth, 1/2 broth and 1/2 wine, add soup mixes or an envelope of sazon. Perfect everytime! If you haven't tried cooking your rice this way you will soon be converted.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2007

      This worked well, it's the same recipe that's on the bag of rice that I bought (except the bag says to use cold water, which I did, just cool water from the tap). It definitely did boil over, I'm not sure what would prevent that. We had a bit of trouble figuring out if the microwave was actually microwaving at medium power, but after consulting the manual, we got it figured out. I served this with Crock Pot Peanut Chicken, and it was delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Perfect Easy Microwave Rice

    Serving Size: 1 (110 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 179.5
     
    Calories from Fat 10
    16%
    Total Fat 1.2 g
    1%
    Saturated Fat 0.6 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 2.5 mg
    0%
    Sodium 87.8 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 37.7 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 1.3 g
    5%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 3.1 g
    6%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes