Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Perfect Divinity Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Perfect Divinity

    Average Rating:

    50 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 50

    Sort by:

    • on August 03, 2014

      Great recipe. A little weird though, same recipe that has been passed down through my family. I have my great grandmothers hand written card with the same recipe as above.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2014

      I don't know how anyone is getting this recipe right. Far too much water.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2013

      Turned out just like my Grandma's!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2013

    • on December 20, 2013

      I'm giving this a 5 star for taste. Mine turned out horrible but tastes terrific. Its like puddles of white marshmallow. I beat it till my mixer got HOT! The gloss never went away. I poured it in a pan hoping it will be able to be cut in squares. I wish I could figure out where I went wrong.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2010

      I have known not to make divinity in rainy weather. Well had a request from new daughter-in-law to help her make it this Christmas. Told her Thursday 23, as the only sunny day. Weather pattern changed. So surfed the internet, found some odd bits of info., tried this and it worked. Using one teaspoon Knox Gelatine, I added 2 T water and deleted 1 T water out of 1/4 cup. While the syrup was cooking I microwaved Gelatine for 10 sec. Stirred and let cool When eggs were whipped and just before adding the syrup I added the dissolved and cooled gelatin. It set up so well, I actually had to add a Tablespoon of hot water to the last 1/3 batch so that I could spoon it out. Also two spoons dipped in cold water is the ticket to dropping on waxed paper. If I want more even swirled divinity I stuff in Freezer bag and cut tip off. (I do this when I don't use nuts.)
      First batch used whole package of gelatin, but felt it was a bit rubbery texture.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2010

      Turned out perfecto!!!! Divinity is one of my sister's favorite treats, so I decided to make her a batch for her upcoming b-day. My first attempt at divinity and turned beautifully.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2009

      Great ! It is perfect ! I almost gave up, it took almost 15 minutes with the mixer on high for the product to lose its gloss. As soon as it is dull, it is ready.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2009

      Let the mix cool down a bit before dropping onto waxed paper. The first half of mine were too warm and spread into pancakes. Very good flavor. I even made on a rainy day which my mom said would never work. ;o)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2009

      Great recipe - never tried to make divinity before, I live in Florida and it's usually too humid. We had a cool day today and this recipe turned out great! I am glad I read the reviews about being patient with the candy mixture, had no issues and the divinity tastes great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2009

      Pretty bad experience, as I was going to take these to a party. When you drop candy from a teaspoon swilring the top of each peice, it just makes a puddle. So I decided to wait a while. Divinity is supposed to have an airy-light quality. This just made a sticky, heavy, puddle of a mess.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2008

      I couldn't wait to try this but it didn't come out so perfect till it cooled off a bit while dropping. The first 10 or so pieces were a puddle and once cooled didn't come off the waxed paper. The next few pieces made were ok, some were flat but harden nice and the taste was great. The last pieces were perfect. My dh suggested I wait a few minutes to drop when the first ones were puddles but I told him the recipe said to drop quick but I should of tried to wait a minute or two. I appreciate the recipe, the taste was delish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2008

      This did not work for me at all. This made the sticky-est mess I have ever seen in my life!! You could repair tar-mac with this stuff. Waste of time and money! I almost blew up my mixer it was so gooey it bound up the beaters. I ended up prying the whole thing out on wax paper where it oozed itself into a puddle and rolled it up and threw it away. This one is not for beginners and is not easy. I followed the instructions exactly as listed here with a candy thermometer etal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2008

      this is just what I was looking for perfect every time. Thanks so much

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2008

      This is the exact recipe my grandma used to make for us! Very simple once you do it once or twice; just gotta know how to handle it. Divinity is very precise and can be difficult, but this... this is just wonderful! Thank you for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2008

      This was my first time making divinity and it turned out great. I forgot to add the vanilla and had planned on not adding cherries/nuts. It set up very fast and I didn't have enough wax paper down and in the time I grabbed more and was ready to continue, it was already started to form. I'd recommend having at least 2 cookie sheets of wax paper ready. Overall, easy recipe and it tastes wonderful. Thanks for posting this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2008

      The name of this recipe speaks for itself. It truely is perfect! I have tried several time to make divinity in the past, with failure each time, until now....Thank you so much for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2007

      The name says it all! It turned out perfect. Super easy and very tasty. Thanks for posting a keeper! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2007

      Awesome! One of the first things I look for when I walk into a candy store - now I don't have to when I can make it at home! Couldn't believe how easy it was. I think I will try in a 9 x 9 pan next time just for sake of speed. Will be on my Christmas trays this year for sure!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2007

      This is the first time that divinity worked for me. Needless to say I was amazed. Thank you for sharing your recipe and the great instructions....SHOFLYPIE

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Perfect Divinity

    Serving Size: 1 (22 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 40

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 61.6
     
    Calories from Fat 0
    46%
    Total Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 20.1 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 15.8 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 13.6 g
    54%
    Protein 0.1 g
    0%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites