Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Perfect Divinity Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Perfect Divinity

    Average Rating:

    50 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 50

    Sort by:

    • on December 15, 2008

      Very good! Turns out everytime! Just a hint to make spooning it easier. Have a cup of cold water ready and dip your metal spoon in it when scooping it. Slides right off. (My Grandma taught me this)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2010

      I love Divinity! My granny and I make it every Christmas and instead of stirring in the nuts we place a singel pecan on each one which makes it very pretty! This recipe is a good one!! I have one small change though, I decreased the sugar to 2 cups because my first batch was very stiff. My second batch was perfect! Like little pillows of goodness! My granny also says never to make it on a rainy day, too much humidity!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2011

      Yummy! Just like my Auntie used to make. I used my Kitchen Aid and only needed to beat it at the 8 speed for about 3 minutes. Other than that I followed the recipe exactly.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2010

      This is my first experience with divinity, and it turned out spectacular! I love the tip another reader gave; beat until the mixture is no longer glossy. The other great tip is dip your metal spoon in cold water if it's getting to sticky to drop easily.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2012

      Excellent recipe! I've made divinity too many times to count and this worked perfectly. Looking at some of the other reviews, the amount of sugar does not need to be reduced. If your divinity comes out grainy you've either overcooked (always use an accurate candy thermometer) or overbeaten. I never stir the cooking syrup. Err on the side of under beating the syrup with the egg whites. Beat until you think it's almost ready, then work quickly to drop by spoonfuls onto waxed paper. I prefer white, but you can also add a couple of drops of food coloring to make a pastel. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2011

      You've made an old woman very very happy...finally I have made divinity successfully! I can die now! This recipe made it all come together for me and simple instructions to follow made it so doable. It's far from looking pretty but oh my gosh it tastes sooooo good. Flavored it with Black Walnut extract. Thank you so very much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2010

      Yippee - I made divinity!!! I'm 66 and have tried making divinity several times over the years and it never, ever turned out. This was perfect. I'm not sure my old mixer will ever be the same (I've been wanting a new one anyway as mine is 30 years old), but this was awesome. Thanks for a great recipe. I'm with one reviewer - this isn't just for Christmas.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2007

      This was my first attempt at divinity. I made it on a sunny day, but at first I thought it wasn't going to come out right. I beat it for longer than the recipe called for, and it was still too runny to hold its shape. So I walked away for a few minutes to fuss about it, and when I got back, lo and behold, it was setting up! So I scrambled and managed to get it all out of the bowl before it got too hard to spoon. It was indeed perfect divinity, and I'll definitely make it again--after I get a stand mixer! ;-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2012

      I am so excited! This recipe turned out perfect!! I tried the Paula Deen recipe yesterday and failed. I was mad and determined not to try again! But my stubborn streak overpowered me and I decided to give this recipe a go. Sweet redemption!!!! No changes made to recipe. Just make sure your egg whites are room temp. Thanks for sharing!! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2011

      So dang good! Wonderful divinity!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2011

      I omitted 1/2 cup of sugar and used peppermint oil instead of vanilla.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2010

      This recipe was fast, and I made it after receiving 6 pieces of divinity from my brother-in-law and his family for Christmas. I couldn't believe how fast it was, and I put my pecans on the top instead of in the mix, which gave me extra time to get it onto waxed paper before the spoon got messed up. Fantastique!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2009

      This is an extremely awesome recipe!! the divinity came out light and fluffy!! so perfect!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2009

      My daughter and I made this recipe for divinity today and it turned out great! I switched beaters from my whipping beater to the regular beater after the egg whites were beaten before gradually adding the syrup. I had a sink full of hot soapy water waiting for the pan, mixing bowl and untensils and clean up was a breeze too! It is truly perfect divinty and I am very pleased.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2009

      Perfect on my first try! Thank you very much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2009

      Second try was the charm. My mom always said to cook the syrup until it coats the spoon and makes a long string when falling to the pan. Yum! I have perfect Divinity.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2007

      This is truely "Perfect Divinity", Living on an Island in the Puget Sound, having a "good weather" day to make divinity just doesn't happen. My kids had never had homemade divinity, they now insist that it isn't a "Christmas" candy, and that I can make it whenever I want to. This is a really keeper!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2012

      Yummy! but I had some trouble. I tried following the recipe exactly. I started beating my egg whites to get the stiff peaks when the temp reached 250 degrees, but before the egg whites got stiff peaks my syrup was above the 260 degrees called for. I continued beating the eggs and turned the heat off under the syrup. Because I didn't want the syrup to cool too much, I finally just added it to the egg whites and continued from there. After about 5 minutes, I tried spooning the mix and swirling the top only to get "pancakes" rather than pretty little divinity lumps. So, I added a bit of blue food coloring (just to change the color) beat the mixture just enough longer to get the blue color mixed throughout and then was able to make "lumps" but there was no way I could swirl the top because it was already too set up.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2012

      As my sister took a bite, her response was "AMAZING!". This is a keeper!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2012

      Perfect is right. If you don't have a stand mixer, find something to rest your pot-bottom on while you're tipping the hot syrup into the egg whites; pouring gradually, it gets heavy. Better yet would be another helping pair of hands.

      I added chopped black walnuts to make this taste just like my grandma's, and I poured the candy out in a rectangle, to cut when it was cooled, like she did. Very nostalgic, thank you.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Perfect Divinity

    Serving Size: 1 (22 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 40

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 61.6
     
    Calories from Fat 0
    46%
    Total Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 20.1 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 15.8 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 13.6 g
    54%
    Protein 0.1 g
    0%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites