Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Perfect Crock Pot Rice Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Perfect Crock Pot Rice

    Average Rating:

    29 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 29

    Sort by:

    • on October 21, 2002

      An easy way to have rice ready to serve with your other crockpot meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2002

      This recipe needs to be rated. I just tryed it so I could rate it. Now I will make the Easy Fried Rice #26284 tomarrow. maybe this will be seen. I am happy I found this. Thank You

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2009

      This is great! I used 2.5 cups plain white rice with 5 cups of water (that was all the rice I had). I rubbed the slow cooker with some olive oil, rinsed the rice, and put the rice, water and salt in the slow cooker. I also added a cube and a half of organic chicken boullion. I stirred once near the beginning, but then forgot to do it again after. I almost left it in too long, I'll have to remember to set a timer next time. I had it in there for just over two hours. I will definately be doing this again, next time with more rice! Update: I have also made this with brown rice (following the water/rice ratio on the bag) and it worked perfectly! I find this method much better than my rice cooker.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2013

      I am so happy I found this recipe! From now on I will make rice only in the slow cooker. It is so much more efficient than my microwave rice cooker. I used brown rice and used the rice/water ratio from the bag. The only issue I had, and that was my fault, I should have added a little less water because the crock pot generates steam/water and so my rice came out a bit more watery than I like, but that is easily solved. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2010

      I chopped some onion, celery, and mushrooms, added 2-12c water, a chicken bullion cube and some butter. I was ready ahead of time, so I turned it on low (and did not add the rice yet) After about an hour I added 1c of basmati rice and continued to cook on low. The rice was done in about 1 hr and 15 mins but I still had a lot of liquid left so I left the lid slightly off for the last 15 mins. After a total time of about 2 hrs, the rice began to get mushy. Next time I will use less water and watch to see if I need to add any near the end. This is an easy way to cook rice especially in a small crock pot.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2008

      This is the next best thing to sliced bread! I cannot believe how awesome the rice turned out in a crockpot! I just had to try it! I tripled the recipe using Jasmine rice. I used a water ratio of 1 2/3 water to 1 cup rice; have been doing this for years and it always works for me. I did check on the rice periodically, and was worried until the final 1/2 hour. I will be making this again and again! Thanks so much, Mirj! Made for I Recommend Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2013

      This recipe might work for small quantities, but it does not scale to the 4 cups referenced. It comes out mushy and unevenly cooked. Yuk. Glad I tested it before I needed to cook it for a crowd.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2013

      Don't stir it! You'll just break up the starch and get mush. it may stick a bit on the bottom a bit, i used 4c rice, 8c water, salt. brushed crockpot with peanut oil. and it took 2.5 hours. i may have let it go a bit longer too. don't bother checking at 2 hours, u will have water left and let all the heat out. but do check maybe 10 mins early. and re: sticky rice? it depends on what kind of rice you are using, some have more starch thsn others. here, u can actually buy long grain rice called sticky rice. its preferred for holding thise yummy asian sauces :-)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2009

      Very easy and nice. I followed WiGal and merserdees advice. I used 2 cups of Jasmine rice and 3 1/3 cups water. I added 1 tablespoon of cold butter along with one chicken bouillon cube. I stirred 3 times and mine was finished in 1 1/2 hours on high. I sprayed my crock pot with cooking spray. Thanks Mirj for an easy way to make rice. I will use this again and again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2014

      Very easy recipe, but one clarification I learned the hard way: you only need to butter the *inside* of the crock pot. Instructions should be edited to clarify

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2014

      Turned out great, but I had to keep my eye on it. Used 1 1/2 cups of rice and 3 cups water. Turned on HIGH, but I really should have had it on low for 2 hours. I have a new ninja slow cooker 3-1 system. I used Jasmine rice and atirred a few times. When it was done (about 1 1/5 hours after I started), I put on warm setting since I didn't need it for awhile longer. The rice was still tender and tasted good (not sticky). Would make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2012

      This was a very easy method for cooking rice -- very glad I ran across it! My rice turned out very slightly mushy, as described by some other reviewers, so I solved the problem by letting it rest on the 'warm' setting for 30 minutes and putting a tea towel under the lid to absorb some moisture. Worked like a charm! Also used the slow cooker liner, which was perfect. Will definitely make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2011

      Perfect every time - with or without additions of spices, etc.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2010

      When I look at recipes online I ALWAYS read, and usually incorporate, user suggestions. So this was no different. Based on what others had recommended, I sprayed my slow cooker down with Pam, added 6 2/3 cups of water, 4 cups of white rice and 2 Tbs of butter. I stirred 3 times through out the cooking process. after 2.5 hours, the rice was cooked, but mushy. At this time I assumed that maybe the alterations I made caused the error. Maybe I cooked too much at once (i have a 3 quart slow cooker), or maybe the water amount difference was to blame, or maybe it was because i didn't follow the instructions exactly. So, I figured "give it another shot following the exact recipe". I followed the recipe to the "T", even adding the salt that I never add when I make rice on the stove. I stirred occasionally throughout the process and after 1.5 hours the rice still was a bit uncooked. After 2 hours, it was done, but alas, I had the same "mushy" problem *sigh*. So much for that idea I suppose. Well, I guess I am off to find recipes for my 13 cups of mushy rice. Maybe a rice pudding or make some kind of casserole. The only reason I don't believe that this recipe deserves a 1 star rating is because the rice, though not enjoyable, is still edible as long as it is made into something else.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2009

      Tried this last night. In fact tried it twice last night! Both times came out as sticky mush! Used Mahatma extra long grain rice and a 1.5 quart crock pot. Buttered sides of crock pot, 1 cup rice, 2 cups water and salt. Don't know if maybe the crock pot size was wrong and caused this not to come out. Would be nice if people would list crock pot size in recipe. Still looking for something that will work.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2009

      Excellent and easy! I made this based on meyserdees' recommendation for the Top Favorites of 2008 game. I used a slow cooker liner and jasmine rice. I put in 2 cups rice, 1 tablespoon of cold butter, and 3 1/3 cups water as meyserdees suggested for the ratio. Cooked 2 hours altogether and stirred it twice-but got in a nice walk while it cooked. Served ours with Canyon Ranch Health Resorts' Chinese Chicken. Thanks Mirj for posting. Made for Top Favorites of 2008 tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2008

      Worked well, a little sticky but cooked through.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2008

      This did not work for me either. I did 2 c. rice to 4c. water. At 1 hr. 15 min. it looked like it was progressing nicely and I had high hopes. At 1 hr. 33 min. It was a pasty mess with some of the rice still not tender.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2008

      Thank you, thank you, thank you! I did 4 cups raw jasmine rice in my 6qt crockpot for about 2 hours, stirring only twice during the cooking. It worked perfectly, and I am so pleased with the results. The rice was fluffy and tasted nummy, and it made enough for me cook rice for dinner and pack ups several bags for the freezer! My good rice cooking pot will only handle 2 cups raw, so I really can't thank you enough, Mirj. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2008

      This did not work for me. I followed the recipe exactly, checking it constantly. Don't know where it went wrong, but the flavour was off (and I eat rice all the time).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Perfect Crock Pot Rice

    Serving Size: 1 (167 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 175.5
     
    Calories from Fat 2
    43%
    Total Fat 0.2 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 4.0 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 38.6 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 0.6 g
    2%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 3.2 g
    6%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites