Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Perfect Crispy Toasted Pumpkin Seeds Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Perfect Crispy Toasted Pumpkin Seeds

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on November 02, 2012

      I am snacking on this wonderful treat right now, fresh out of the oven! Delicious! I followed the recipe exactly (except for using vegetable oil, since i was out of olive oil ) and they turned out perfectly! My pumpkin yielded about 2 cups of seeds, so I used 4 cups of water and 4 teaspoons of salt. I cooked them in my toaster oven at 400 degrees for 20 minutes and it was the perfect amount of time. Would recommend this to anyone! Thanks for the recipe Kittencalskitchen! YUM!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2010

      These are delicious. A sweet pumpkin yielded 1/2 a cup seeds in all. I am giving this 4 stars rather than 5 because both times I have tried this recipe the seeds burnt slightly at about half the amount of time. I did dry mine very well. I feel 400F is too high. Maybe my oven runs higher..?!! The olive oil was giving off a burning smell. I used a good quality unrefined extra virgin olive oil (maybe because it was virgin, I think that is what I used both times, but previously using a refined version!) I sprinkled on a little sea salt. DD (toddler) loves them, she likes all kinds of seeds a lot. I will try this again at a lower temperature or with way more seeds.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2010

      I made these tonight after carving our pumpkins. I have never boiled the pumpkin seeds before toasting them until now. They turned out crunchy and very tasty. I used half the salt when I boiled the seeds (trying to reduce sodium) and added some chili seasoning for flavour when I toasted them. I also used my stone bakesheet when I toasted them. I'm not sure if that made them any crispier than a cookie sheet would, though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2008

      I made these yesterday after helping my 2 year old carve her first jack-o-lantern ;-). The directions were easy to follow and they definitely came out nice and crunchy. Too bad her small pumpkin only had about 1/2 cup seeds in it to begin with, because I've eaten almost all of them already and still want more. I'll gladly be saving this method to use again in the future. Thank you so much for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2008

      Great recipe! My seeds turned out nice and crispy and yummy! I actually used butternut squash seeds! Thanks Kitten!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2007

      I got 2 cups of seeds out of a medium pumpkin. I only used 2 cups of water to simmer them in (instead of the suggested 8 cups which seemed like far too much). Worked fine. They never got that brown even after 40 minutes, probably because I didn't dry them. Very delicious and crispy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2007

      These were good! My kids love pumpkin seeds.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2006

      Kittencal, loved these. Have been making these for years with different recipe, I just threw it out! This was a great way to cook them, and much easier and better. The addition of olive oil was something I had never done and made all the difference. Thanx for great recipe addition.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2006

      Made these after I carved pumpkins a few days before Halloween and they turned out very well. I did add salt before and after baking the seeds, but other than that, I made no alterations. They were easy and tasty! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2006

      I just made these last night, and really had fun! My DH and I carved our own pumpkins, his looked like a smart-alec with an evil grin..and mine looked like a chubby girl with a big nose and a big mouth~!(hey, you don't suppose that means something,do you?!) The seeds were delcious and crunchy. I used garlic salt instead of the regular. Thanks! Hazeleyes

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2006

      This is an awesome recipe! I baked the seeds for 30 minutes on 2 greased cookie sheets. We did 2 small pumpkins and 2 medium. So had a lot of seeds! Family can't get enough of these seeds done this way. To anyone who is hesitant about this - DO IT - you won't do seeds anyother way!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Perfect Crispy Toasted Pumpkin Seeds

    Serving Size: 1 (14 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 39.7
     
    Calories from Fat 40
    10%
    Total Fat 4.5 g
    6%
    Saturated Fat 0.6 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 0.0 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 0.0 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 0.0 g
    0%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    pumpkin

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites