Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / " Perfect" Chocolate Frosting Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    " Perfect" Chocolate Frosting

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on March 17, 2004

      taylortwo is so right about this frosting! If you're looking for thick, creamy and fudgy, as well as easy, this one is it! I've made it twice already, since tt told me about it. First time with Ghirardelli chips, second with Baker's semisweet. After just having the last piece of the cake with the baker's frosting, I have to say that I liked it better with the chocolate chips. It was more on the rich chocolate side, and improved daily. But surprisingly, they were VERY close! I didn't think it would be nearly as good with Baker's, but it really was. This frosting is a dream to spread on a cake. The first time, I did have to reheat it on low for a few seconds at a time--just put the pan back on the heat, give it about 5 secs or so, and it's nice and soft again. Your cake will be beautiful and glossy with this one, in fact, I think it would be near impossible to make a cake look bad with this. It has it all, ease of prep, great flavor, good looks, AND it's usually stuff you already have on hand. Way more than 5 stars, for sure. Thanks tt, this is the only frosting I'm making from now on! DON'T FORGET!! You MUST sift the powdered sugar, or your frosting will be lumpy--do not skip this step to save time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2013

      I first reviewed this in 2006...Now 2013 Still my Daughters absolute favorite thank you once again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2012

      This has to be the best chocolate fudge frosting that I have ever made. Perfect spreading consistency and wonderful taste. I beat it foe 7 minutes in thrice bath and then let it sit I thrice for a couple more. I removed from the ice and beat it again and it was perfect to spread on the Darn good chocolate cake!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2011

      The most demanded cake I bake has this frosting on it. I always double this recipe....I know it can be hard to actually throw 4 sticks of butter into one recipe but guess what ? I don't care. Killer Cake

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2009

      This is my GO-TO chocolate frosting recipe. It's the bomb. I won't ever use another. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2008

      Be patient with this one, it's worth it! We were worried that it wouldn't set up right but we just kept beating it over the ice bath and voila! It turned into a yummy fudgey icing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2008

      "The best chocolate frosting I have ever tasted" from my chocoholic husband! Goes perfectly with the Spago Chiffon Chocolate Cake...

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2007

      This was a great recipe. I added 2 tablespoons of cornstarch. This made it a perfect consistency.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2008

    • on December 30, 2007

      Used this with Chocolate cake 87205.and it worked out perfectly.have put this in my special file and will use again,,Many thanks for posting..Don Steele

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2006

      I made this for my 3 year old's birthday cake (Something Special Birthday Cake #89883). I have never had so many compliments! I didn't bother to sift the sugar, and I think I probably beat it on too high a speed but it turned out wonderfully! I also added the corn syrup. So decadent! I think this will become a standard in my kitchen. Thanks taylortwo!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2006

      I prepared this frosting to use with White Wedding Cake (White Wedding Cake) for my Hubby's birthday. I used Ghirardelli Semi-Sweet baking chocolate, and the flavor was great. However, I was disappointed in the texture of the product. It was much more of a glaze than a frosting. It was not thick enough to properly frost my 2-layer cake, and instead was poured over and puddled at the base. Overall, the cake was still nice, but not what I had in mind. We did love the rich chocolaty flavor of the frosting, though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2005

      It does spread beautifully and looks pretty, but when you get down to it, the flavor is what I go for. I was somewhat disappointed since I love semi-sweet chocolate, but this frosting reminded me of some of the canned store bought I've tried. I only used the best of ingredients and with the time involved, I expected more. Since the recipe is highly rated, I didn't want to take from that, but appreciate that I can post my comments.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2005

      An excellent chocolate frosting! It was so creamy and thick and fudgy a definate keeper! I used chocolate chips as that is all I had on hand and had no problem with the frosting going hard at all. Absolutely beautiful and went great with the darn good chocolate cake layered. Very rich so not for the non sweet tooth eaters.Easy to do and what can I say just a great recipe! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2004

      This was a great frosting recipe. It is very rich but good. I used the Bakers semisweet chocolate squares and it was well worth it. You do need to sift the powdered sugar. This was very easy to make and great on taylortwo's "darn good" chocolate cake.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2004

      I have a question....how do u make the sifted sugar dissolve well? I tried this recipe and my sifted, powdered sugar remained grainy and crunchy and it ruined the taste.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for " Perfect" Chocolate Frosting

    Serving Size: 1 (820 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 4076.8
     
    Calories from Fat 2872
    70%
    Total Fat 319.1 g
    491%
    Saturated Fat 200.3 g
    1001%
    Cholesterol 651.0 mg
    217%
    Sodium 1713.7 mg
    71%
    Total Carbohydrate 354.6 g
    118%
    Dietary Fiber 28.8 g
    115%
    Sugars 295.2 g
    1181%
    Protein 26.8 g
    53%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes