Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Perfect Chocolate Cake With Whipped Cream Filling Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Perfect Chocolate Cake With Whipped Cream Filling

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on October 28, 2007

      **I made this cake in honour of Chef-I-am for her bake-a-thon.** This is the cake that is made for all special events at our house. It's really important to follow the directions to the T - time consuming but worth it. This cake only gets better after a day or two in the fridge. My grandmother found this recipe in a Southern Living as the winner of a bake-off in 1978... since then, it's made history! My grandmother always adds white chocolate to the filling. This keeps the whipped cream from tamping down and spilling out the sides of the cake. Try this recipe for the filling: FILLING 2 cups whipping cream 2 ounces chopped white baking chocolate 1 teaspoon vanilla 6 tablespoons confectioners’ sugar Melt the white chocolate in 1/2 cup of the whipping cream. Chill for one hour. Whip with remaining cream, vanilla and sugar until spreadable.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2010

      This would have been perfect if I had three separate baking dishes to use. Since I didn't I put it all in one pan and it took forever! About 2 hours to bake and when I took it out of the pan to cool it fell in 3 pieces. So overall it tasted really good but it was a huge failure for me ;(

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2010

      This is seriously the best chocolate cake Ever! I first found the recipe in a Southern Living cookbook and I've made it several times since.I made it for my moms birthday one year and everyone went wild over it.Several people wanted the recipe.This cake is just so moist and rich..the chocolate frosting is heavenly! It is time consuming but it's so worth it! I follow the recipe exactly..it's perfect as written.This is the cake to make if you want to impress people.It's so delicious!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2010

      This is delish! After a day in the fridge, it tasted like a moist whoppie pie in a decadent frosting. Next time I when I make the frosting, I'll let it cool then whip in my stand mixer rather than hand mixing, and make the filling last. Maybe some cream cheese to the filling. But this one is a keeper!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2009

      This cake is so fantastic. Rich, rich chocolate taste, especially if you use good-quality cocoa. Stays moist. I love it with a peanut butter frosting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2008

      This is the birthday cake that all 5 of us kids would request on our special day. My copy of the recipe was cut from a McCall's magazine (1982) which is now very tattered. My girlfriend just asked me for the recipe to do her son's birthday cake so I thought I would check to see if posted here. I am thrilled to see this recipe on Zaar. My mother's notes on this recipe are that she reduced the butter in the frosting to 1/2 C as we thought it was too rich with the full amount. I always follow Mom's way and it is still great. This cake is the bomb! Great post Marie!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2008

      DH made this cake on a whim one night because he was having a sweets craving. He dabbles in the kitchen somewhat and he found this recipe to be quite okay in terms of ease. He said that considering the outcome it was worth every step; I agree, this cake is simply sinful, it has won a place in our family as our new "birthday cake". He susbstituted Splenda in the cake portion of the recipe and halved the fat by using apple sauce and butter. It was incredibly light and fluffy and I could not tell the difference.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2005

      Someone made this exact recipe for Christmas dinner, except they split the layers and alternated with the frosting and plain whipped cream. It was soooo decadent! My son said he was "addicted to this cake!" Really a fantastic recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2005

      This is the best chocolate cake I've ever had. I found the recipe ages ago in McCall's Cookbook and it's on my website. It takes a little time to make, and it's huge, but the most incredible chocolate cake i've ever had.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2014

      I used a kitchenaid to make the frosting, then made the whipped cream without washing the mixer, made the whipped cream a bit chocolatey. Very rich and delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2013

      i have tryed this cake and was so great. my familly loved it !!!! it was just like the photo and tasted amazing, it even became more delicious the day after. i want to thank you it really was like i wanted and more.....thank you again?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2013

      I made this cake the other day for a birthday. It was the first time I made a fancy b'day cake (i've only ever made banana bread, carrot cake etc before) and it turned out great! I did change a few things as I felt it would be too rich. I used 3/4 cup of butter and 3/4 cup of cocoa and 2 1/4 cups of sugar. Still turned out perfect and devilishly rich, everyone loved it. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2010

      This is definitely a chocolate lover's cake. It is very moist and rich. The filling did not hold up as expected. I tried adding a little cocoa powder to thicken it and make it semi-chocolaty. It helped a little. I still had to use wooden skewers to hold the three layers together until the cake firmed up in the fridge. This cake does take more work, but the flavor is excellent! Thanks for sharing the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2010

      Great Cake! Used cake recipe only. Very moist & Delicious! Thanks for sharing!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2009

      Yay! I've used this recipe for years, but I couldn't find it! I originally got it from a McCall's cookbook, too. Thanks so much! I think this is the best chocolate cake ever.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2009

      I made two of these cakes for my son's second birthday. My son was clawing at me when I was mixing the eggs, sugar, etc. and when I went to reach for the vanilla the next day to make the whipped cream, I realized that I left the vanilla out of the cake completely! Even still this cake was great. Everyone loved it. I made two because we were having a party with twenty people (three small children). I still have one whole cake left and I believe everyone had a good sized piece. This was a delicious yet simple cake to pull off and I think that it will become a birthday tradition. I added a picture as well of the two cakes decorated.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2007

      This is by far the best chocolate cake ever. I found it in a Southern Living Cookbook - and have made it and it gets RAVE reviews every time. You can't go wrong with this cake. It's alot of work - but worth the effort.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Perfect Chocolate Cake With Whipped Cream Filling

    Serving Size: 1 (366 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1292.5
     
    Calories from Fat 645
    49%
    Total Fat 71.7 g
    110%
    Saturated Fat 43.4 g
    217%
    Cholesterol 272.3 mg
    90%
    Sodium 811.6 mg
    33%
    Total Carbohydrate 157.6 g
    52%
    Dietary Fiber 4.4 g
    17%
    Sugars 114.6 g
    458%
    Protein 11.8 g
    23%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites