300 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I had high hopes for this recipe, given the long list of positive reviews, but this recipe just did not turn out for me. The brownies were quite flat and dry in the middle, and they lacked much chocolatey-cocoa taste (and I used Girardelli premium cocoa that I've used for all my other brownie recipes with great success, so I don't think it was that). I thought maybe it was something I had done wrong, so I made it a second time with the same result. So I don't think I'll be making these brownies again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NorthwestGal February 09, 2012

Was difficult to cook as I chose to use a smaller pan so it could fit into my toaster oven.--the top was done, but the inside needed an extra 15 minutes on 325 with aluminum foil over it. Because I'd always prefer to use my toaster oven rather than the big oven, I probably won't be making this again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bake Em N Take Em December 04, 2011

Very good recipe! I didn't have shortening on hand, so I used oil instead, otherwise made as written. My whole family loved it. Thanks for posting! :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KaraRN June 25, 2011

wonderful tasting and very easy-to-make and chewy brownies. it's now my official brownie recipe. i omitted the walnuts becuz i didn't have any but still turned out great. thanks :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Amira January 31, 2011

Great brownie recipe. I made it exactly as posted and they were perfect!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Colleen M. January 08, 2011

I made these for my SO on 11/23/10.I sort of followed the recipe as it was written( READ: messed up :) big time ) I didn't read the recipe right and put the cocoa and sugar in the same bowl, luckly I was able to get out most of the sugar. Then I added the cocoa and shortening to a large saucepan and went on with the recipe.I baked the brownies in a pre-heated oven for about 20 to 25 minutes. I let them cool for 30 min..The smell was so enticing, that as soon as they were cool enough I had to eat a couple. And both my SO and I really enjoyed the taste, moist and fudgy just what a brownie should be. Thanks for posting a brownie recipe that will be made again and, " Keep Smilling :) "

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef shapeweaver � November 29, 2010

Wonderful tasting brownie. Loved that it was mixed all in one pan and no separate bowls needed. Moist and full of chocolate-y goodness. Tagged and made for I Recommend tag game. Thanks for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HokiesMom November 24, 2010

Have never been a big brownie fan and had certainly never made them before. Saw this recipe and thought about giving it a try - OMG !!!!!!! My husband and I nearly lost our minds. These brownies are moist, fudgy and so very very good. Will definitely make again and again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jennifer Dawn November 21, 2010

I know this recipe has lots of reviews but it was so good that I had to write another 5 star review. I have made this many times and for big crowds (80 people) and small crowds all worked out in one batch. This is for sure the best brownies I have made and has great reviews from the guest. Oh I almost forgot to say it works well with Whole Wheat flour also.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bcchef October 05, 2010

Great recipe. i halved the recipe & reduced baking time by 5 minutes. turned out great :) highly recommended.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
binacm October 03, 2010
Perfect Chocolate Brownies