303 Reviews

I came across my previous review for this recipe recently, which just said "Mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm..." Now I don't know what I was thinking just leaving a review like that or if I even tried these, so I figured I owed it to both you and myself to give these a go, if I didnt' before. These are wonderful- I halved the recipe and cooked in an 8x8 pan, which still worked perfectly. I actually forgot the nuts, which I wish I hadn't done- but next time (and there will be a next time!) I'll remember! These are moist, chocolately, perfect chocolate brownies. I liked how these just used the one pot and came together very quickly and easily. I wanted to line the pan with aluminum foil or parchement, but I'm unfortunately out of both, so I just oiled the pan well, but man these guys still stuck. Oh well- you can bet I will be picking every little stuck-on bit out of the pan and savoring it. These are delicous! Thank you for posting- I will definitely make again.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Roosie June 10, 2004

VERY, VERY GOOD! I followed the recipe exactly. I did put the shortening in my mixing bowl and melted it in the microwave, it worked great. I greased and floured the pan and no problems what-so-ever. These will definitely be made many, many more times! Thank you!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mamamain May 20, 2010

Followed the recipe exactly and they are not chocolatey or chewy enough. Don't care for them at all.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sarah Smile September 17, 2011

Oh please forgive me for my disbelief because if I had not read the reviews I would never have considered this recipe. My brownies are always loaded with sugar and shortening an absolute NO NO. Anyway, having said all this I thank you. They are easy and gobbled up by all.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
waynejohn1234 October 16, 2010

I was looking for a recipe to use up some ingredients in my pantry and came across this one. After combining the melted shortening and chocolate I was a little concerned that the mixture would be too thick after adding the flour as the eggs were the only "liquid." I needn't have worried. The batter turned out perfectly. I used an 8" x 8" pan so the brownies would be a little thicker and adjusted the cooking time accordingly. These turned out fantastic -- not dry or cake-like, but chewy and fudgy -- just the way we like them. Thanks for sharing this recipe -- I already have requests to make it again!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TasteTester July 23, 2010

Delicious brownies. I used a cup of butter instead of the shortening and cut the sugar by just a bit (2 cups) and they were a big hit. Making them again today for another party. Didn't sink in the middle or on the edges. Fabulous.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
863647 October 24, 2009

These tasted too much like the shortening to me, and not chocolately enough. Definitely recommend throwing in some chocolate chips or something!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommymakeit4u December 12, 2008

It was ok, but got pretty hard the next day

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shasha November 02, 2008

I'm not sure you need another 5-star review, but you're getting one from me. I needed a recipe that uses cocoa powder. So many use baker's chocolate or chocolate chips. This was the perfect chocolate brownie. Took me right back to my childhood. Crispy edges and super moist inside. I had to halve the recipe due to a shortage of sugar, so I used a 8" round cake pan. Baked just as long. All gone before they even had a chance to cool off. My husband is amazed I could make something that good with ingredients from the cupboard. My secret: Barry Callebaut cocoa powder--and a great recipe!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kate 8:) August 22, 2008

we tried them twice and both times they tasted over cooked even though we baked them half the time it said. They also werent chocolatey enough and tasted a little like shortening.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pamplemoussee February 03, 2008
Perfect Chocolate Brownies