301 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

My husband, who considers himself a brownie connoisseur, loves these and thinks they are truly perfect. I agree. Easy to make and oh so wonderful. A definite crowd-pleaser.

17 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
merlendale merlendale May 27, 2002

I will add my kudos to the rest. Delicious...moist and very chocolately. Thanks

16 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
blakesle September 23, 2002

UNBELIEVABLE!!! I swear, cross my heart, I will NEVER buy a boxed mix again! I didn't even have the vanilla to add and these came out perfect. They filled up the pan nice and deep like no boxed mix can. I COULD NOT wait for them to cool, so I cut them warm and they popped out easily. Everyone is raving about them. Thank you!

13 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kiss*My*Tiara November 14, 2002

First thing first...i am NEVER going to buy another brownie! After trying these ones. They were fantastic!! They were moist chewy and so chocolatey. After they cooled, i too cut them up with a cookie cutter into bite size hearts and stars. Love them!! I did add a couple of white chocolate chips to it, but I think they would be rich enough as it is. Don't change the recipe at all! They were wonderful!!

12 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KitchenManiac April 08, 2003

I think these are the Award Winning Brownies. They were simple to make and turned out wonderful. Thanks for a great recipe!!

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dana-MMH November 18, 2002

I used to have a recipe similar to this one & lost it. This is a wonderful, moist chewy brownie. My husband & I both loved it!!! Thanks. Yvonne

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Yvonne Miller May 27, 2002

OMG these are good. My dish was 8" X 11", so I had to bake mine for about 45 minutes. Delicious is ALL I can say!

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nat Da Brat November 29, 2002

After reading the astounding 240 reviews of this recipe I just had to try it out as I am trying to move toward more homebaked goodies and foods on a consistent basis. I am a true chocoholic and this recipe will not disappoint even the most finicky of chocolatiers and will delight the taste buds of all who use it. To all you novice bakers, you can substitute butter or margarine for the required shortening. If you choose to use salted butter or other substitute that includes salt, you can cut the amount of salt required in the recipe to half. I used unsalted butter and then used the full amount suggested in the recipe. I also used a cup or 2 sticks of unsalted butter. Whether you use shortening, butter; salted or unsalted, or margarine each will have it's own unique flavor. Depending on your sensitivity to taste this will make a difference. It is best to use what you regularly cook with and use as table spreads for your toast and waffles. Using shortening as your cream base if you are used to butter or margarine on a daily basis will have a funny flavor not that it is a wrong flavor just different. Too much salt can sometimes have a bitter taste and if you reduce the amount of sugar or other ingredients you may have to reduce the amount of cocoa too. When making modifications to any recipe just be careful you have enough time to make corrections or start all over again if it is needed and don't need to be greeting guests or walking out the door with a first class presentation just hours away. You know what the old expression says, "If it ain't broke don't fix it!" Sometimes recipes will not allow for substitutions and I am still trying to figure out why that is or if it is chefs choice. I also added a quarter cup of semi-sweet Toll House morsels to my batter. I consider my cooking to be at the intermediate level bordering to advanced on rare occasions and am in no way an expert on the subject. Mom was a great teacher and I have improved over the years too. Like so many others who commented on this wonderful recipe, I could not wait til they cooled either....OUCH! Great going Virginia!

9 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
punnylady December 25, 2010

Yummy!! Loved these, very addicitive, I will have to stay far(trying to and have to knock off a few pounds) :) My house smelt WONDERFUL while these were baking, and, when these were done, and I opened the door of my oven, mmmmmmmmmmmm, I was in CHOCOLATE PARADISE! Thank You so much for posting an incredibly tasty brownie recipe. I made a whole batch of these on 18th, and took it to my friends' place where their kid sister freaked on these;) THANKS A BUNCH for making her day and mine:)

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charishma_Ramchandani February 20, 2003

These brownies are simply outstanding. They are chewy & so simple to make with an deep chocolate flavor; they are indeed perfect & the way brownies are supposed to taste.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jodi B. January 24, 2003
Perfect Chocolate Brownies