301 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I've made these brownies dozens of times and everyone asks for the recipe, They really are perfect.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mom2dawood January 16, 2008

I way over-baked these the first time, to the point that they were rock hard. They didn't look ready after 30 minutes. My mistake. I tried again a week later, following the instructions exactly, and wow! These are wonderful brownies. They went fast, even the first bunch - the flavor is that good. Thanks for posting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pesto lover January 06, 2008

These are excellent! Couldn't find my mother's famous recipe anywhere. These sounded like they would come the closest, and they did indeed. This is definitely a keeper for me. I made "Katharine Hepburn's Brownies" about a week later, and everyone agreed that these were loads better. We love them moist, and they were indeed. Thanks. :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PrairieHarpy December 30, 2007

These were great and really easy to make!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wendybird December 20, 2007

Superb-ly scrumptious! I never knew how quick and easy making homemade brownies could be; and so much better than the box! Thanks so much for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mariemeow77 December 11, 2007

One word: DEEEEEEEEVINE!!!! I have been searching for a brownie recipe that would produce an ooey-gooey, really chocolaty, soft, and rich brownies and this one is IT!!! I took the advice of another reviewer and added some chocolate chips upon melting the shortening. Also, for personal preference, I reduced the sugar. Will definitely make these again... and right now sounds like a great time as the ones I JUST took out of the oven are about all gone!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hotlids November 21, 2007

these were wonderful! Thank you so much. The batter was thicker than I was expecting, but they turned out amazing. I will make these again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hannah234 November 11, 2007

EVERYONE asks for my brownie recipe when I serve these. I've experimented with the recipe a bit and have found that I get the best brownies when I add 250g of milk chocolate to the melted shortening and melt them together. I also reduce the amount of shortening and sugar a bit to make up for the chocolate. Also, I tend not to include nuts because lots of people don't seem to like them =( But thankyou sooooo much for the recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
myst_angel October 26, 2007

My daughter and I made these brownies. I usually can't pull off making brownies from a box, but let me tell you...these brownies are the most divine brownies I have ever put in my mouth!!! They were a hit with our family. My daughter wants me to make them for her birthday party. Thank you so much for sharing this wonderful, yummy recipe!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tchrgurl03 October 25, 2007

I added a 1/2 cup of semi-sweet chocolate chips and left out the nuts. These were simply decadent. Thank you!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
angie_pangie October 07, 2007
Perfect Chocolate Brownies