Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Perfect Brown Rice Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Perfect Brown Rice

    Average Rating:

    104 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 104

    Sort by:

    • on September 19, 2003

      This rice came out perfectly, just as you say! It was hard to resist the temptation to stir, but I managed to get through it! As I have to fiddle with most recipes, I used egg whites only and left out the oil and it was still perfect and no detectible egginess. I used 1 cup straight away and the remaining 7 cups I have put in zip lock bags to freeze for easy future use. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2010

      Fantastic! I have tried Alton's method for baking brown rice, as well as Cook's Illustrated (they're similar). I don't know what difference the eggs and cooking 30 minutes uncovered does from a science perspective, but the end result is clear: this method makes better brown rice! I say this as someone who *loves* brown rice, not someone hoping to pass it off as white. I used homemade chicken stock instead of water, and added garlic salt because the rice was to go with red beans. This is definitely how I'll be making my rice from now on. Thanks so much for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2003

      This is hands down the best fool proof way to cook brown rice. I followed the instructions to a tee and it turned out perfect. This is a definate keeper, thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2008

      I followed Kittencal's advice and added onions and mushrooms to the recipe, as we love them. I also added peas. Very Good! This recipe can be experimented with, so use any ingredients you like to make it your own! Thanks for sharing your basic recipe with us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2005

      Loved this recipe. Very easy to make. The only thing I did different was keep it in the oven for and hour and 20 mins. This is a great side dish for just about any meal.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2013

      Really good base line for the rice. I used beef stock and at the end I add grilled squash and grilled onions and a tab of butter. My hubby raves over it every time!!! That makes it an A in my book!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2012

    • on April 18, 2012

      This is probably my most successful attempt at making great brown rice! I followed the recipe exactly, except that a good portion of the rice was not tender after a full hour. I ended up adding extra water and baking for an additional 30 minutes. The rice was finally nice and fluffy and soft, had great flavour (you can't go wrong with butter!) and I really loved the addition of the egg. Yum! It does make a lot for us but I can't wait to eat more tomorrow and I like the idea of freezing the rest. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2011

      This brown rice recipe is amazing. The rice was just the right texture and had a nice flavor. I will never make brown rice on the stove again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2011

      Hmmmm...I'm not sure about this yet. On the one hand, it did come much more tender and flavorful than when cooked in my rice cooker. But on the other hand, it was kind of....eggy? Maybe next time I'll try it with just one egg. And then if that still comes out strange, I'll try it with no egg, as one reviewer suggested. I did use chicken broth instead of water, as well. I was thinking that it might be good sauteed in butter before putting the oven, as well. But overall, the cooking method seems to work.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2011

      This rice was delicious. My kids ate it and are BEGGING for more.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2010

      I'm so glad for the people who try and review recipes before they're popular, because I honestly would not have given this a try if not for the 90 reviews. I have wanted to like brown rice for years but haven't been able to get past that gummy, oatmeal-y texture. I made mine with 4 cups of chicken stock and 2 of bouillon, and I added the oil to the skillet before the egg and the rice (I don't have a non-stick pan and was afraid I'd end up with a mess). I did have to cook it for longer, approx 80min.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2010

      Love brown rice, love this recipe. I always skip the eggs, just throw rice and water in a pyrex baking dish. Depending on what I'm serving the rice with, sometimes I add chicken bouillon granules and/or a tbsp or 2 of lime juice. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2010

      Great recipe! My husband told me that he didn't like brown rice, but I used this recipe, and he even had seconds! I did use chicken stock, garlic and onions to boost the flavor. It also took about 1 1/2 hours of cooking time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2010

      FINALLY! This worked out and after years of searching and trying to cook brown rice, success. My mind could not grasp that this recipe was going to work but how wonderful when I took it out of the oven and the brown rice was perfect. Thanks so very, very much for posting this method.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2010

      This did not come out good. I don't know if I did something wrong but it seemed I followed the recipe to a T and I could not even eat it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2010

      As bad as brown rice can taste this definitely gave me hope that I can finally give up the starch of white rice. I used a vegetable stock/broth. Thanks, I going to buy a bigger bag now that I know it's edible!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2009

      Very easy brown rice recipe. Would have never thought to use egg. I used chicken stock instead of water and added some diced onion and garlic. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2009

      Oh my gosh! Last time I made brown rice, I threw it out, along with the remaining rice in the package. It was terrible! I halved this recipe, and used one cup of chicken broth I happened to have leftover in the refrigerator. I added basil and garlic pepper to the water/rice mixture before baking. I did have to bake it all for about 1 1/2 hours, but it turned out great! I am eating it alone and really like it! Thank you Susan.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2009

      This turned out great! I used chicken broth instead of water. The texture was so fluffy and not gummy at all. I don't think I will cook brown rice any other way.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Perfect Brown Rice

    Serving Size: 1 (250 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 527.6
     
    Calories from Fat 170
    32%
    Total Fat 18.9 g
    29%
    Saturated Fat 6.2 g
    31%
    Cholesterol 108.2 mg
    36%
    Sodium 839.4 mg
    34%
    Total Carbohydrate 72.5 g
    24%
    Dietary Fiber 3.2 g
    12%
    Sugars 1.5 g
    6%
    Protein 15.4 g
    30%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites