Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Summer Central

    Top Summer All-Stars

    Top Summer All-Stars

    50 Warm-Weather Picks
    30 Killer Burgers

    30 Killer Burgers

    Up Your Grill Game
    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Learn How to Make 'Em Right
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Perfect Boiled Shrimp Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Perfect Boiled Shrimp

    Average Rating:

    42 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 42

    Sort by:

    • on April 19, 2009

      I tried to make this recipe, but was unable to find a 100 lb shrimp. That's probably because it would not be called a "shrimp" if it were that big!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2009

      Bizarre -- goes against all shrimp cooking wisdom. Works as advertised -- thanks! Notes: 1) Frozen shrimp work fine; they sink when they're thawed. 2) The "heads" of the shrimp pop to the surface when done -- that's what "float" means. They are flush w/ the surface. 3) Don't worry that the Old Bay forms a cloud -- you can still see the floating heads when done. 4) I tasted the first floater -- perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2012

      I'm making a salad that just calls for cooked shrimp. It doesn't call for Old Bay Shrimp or seasoned shrimp. This worked perfectly for me, following the directions. I did add a tablespoon of kosher salt, whenever I cook something that comes out of the ocean, I always add salt. This is the perfect recipe for serving any type of shrimp that isn't peel and eat, or when needed as additions to recipes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2011

      Now I know why this recipe is so highly rated. Both me and my wife have cooked shrimp our whole life the old way, just bring your water to a boil and drop'em in until done. Needless to say it was a hit or miss cooking method but that's how we were taught. Until now that is. I tried this recipe last night with some wild caught from Seadrift Texas and I,mere to tell you, they were cooked to perfection. I do believe these shrimp were probably the best I,ve ever eaten. Each and every one were perfectly cooked. We ate until we couldn't hold anymore. If you were clos by I would give you a big Texas hug! Again, a fantastic recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2009

      Wow what a great technique! I've boiled shrimp / prawns many times and my results have been as good as any restaurant or takeaway so I never thought I had anything to learn until I tried this. The constant stirring and vinegar really does make a great difference in addition to the ice bath which I'd tried before. Previously I'd only judged cooking by color but waiting for one or two to float to the top works wonderfully as long as you keep stirring around the outside to make sure it's not just the utensil pushing them up.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2014

      This is the absolutely best way to boil shrimp, EVER!!!!! You'll never cook them any other way, and you'll certainly never buy pre-cooked cocktail shrimp ever again...... We could eat these every day!!!!! My favorite cocktail sauce..... Ketchup, horseradish, minced garlic, salt, pepper, and fresh parsley to taste and a squeeze of lemon juice is nice! Love this with peel and eat shrimp the best, it retains so much flavor and is very tender!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2014

      Will never use another recipe this is perfection! I used frozen 16/20

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2013

      Perfect everytime and works with all kinds of shrimp but, of course, the wild caught in USA are the best. After making shrimp many different ways this is simply #1 in my book. Kudos to chef 178920.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2013

      You are quite right - I WILL NEVER COOK IT ANY OTHER WAY!!!!!!!!!!!!!! What a lucky woman to have a man like you around. I have a great problem with cooking raw prawns, they always turn out a bit mushy. I have now decided that I will accommodate each recipe to use already cooked prawns.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2013

      No more thawing frozen shrimp. It's perfect--I've cooked these twice: 2 lbs frozen, cleaned without heads. I added whole cloves, 1-2 T Old Bay Seasoning, and some cider vinegar. As soon as the second shrimp shows up I place them in an ice bath. Another plus--so easy to peel.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2013

      I have tried this recipe several times with frozen shrimp, comes out great

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2013

      worked great! used garlic powder with the old bay. wife loved it, thats what counts.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2013

      Just made this for a recipe calling for cooked shrimp and it's P.E.R.F.E.C.T... used lots of Old Bay - beer would be good in the broth, too :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2013

      I owned a restaurant. We tried every way imaginable to cook boiled shrimp without overcooking it. Tried it this way with shrimp WITH shells and shrimp without. Both turned out perfectly. Genius. Who would have thought that to BOIL shrimp it never actually needs to come to a boil. Excellent!!!!! Again, GENIUS. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2012

      I don't know who Chef 178920 is but he sure can cook shrimp! I cooked headless shell on jumbo 10 count shrimp, two pounds. Never saw one float (coz no head? and so big?) but thought they were getting close so husband taste tested until right, then immediately they all went into ice bath. Wonderful flavor and perfect texture. I think the water was close to boiling. We googled Old Bay and made our own - yes, we even had the cardamom. Thanks, Chef 178920.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2012

      I had my doubts about this recipe (how much water? shelled or shell-on?), I just tried it anyway. I had to use farm-raised prawns, and boy did I ever get compliments at Thanksgiving. "This is outstanding", was just one of them.
      I used one big pot of water with the vinegar and Old Bay and cooked 2 pounds of shell-on shrimp at a time. I'll never cook shrimp another way again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2012

      Great technique for cooking shrimp at home!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2012

      Amazing! Started with luke warm water...made my own Old Bay Seasoning - googled a couple recipes online, actually set timer for one minute once a couple started to float as they looked just a little underdone, drained and put in ice bath for one minute and PERFECT! Best shrimp I've ever made. Hands down.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2012

      Ive been on a shrimp kick lately, decided to make this for dinner last night. Was out of cider vinegar, so improvised on the cooking liquid. The results were PERFECTLY cooked shrimp! I will never again steam shrimp and this will be the only method I use to "boil" them from now on! BTW, I used warm liquid to start, the water never made it to a boil. Only took a few minutes!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2012

      This recipe did not work for me. Kept stirring the shrimp but not one shrimp floated. By the time I decided to stop they were definitely overdone. What a waste of money - shrimp are not cheap.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Perfect Boiled Shrimp

    Serving Size: 1 (257 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 167.3
     
    Calories from Fat 20
    12%
    Total Fat 2.2 g
    3%
    Saturated Fat 0.2 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 285.7 mg
    95%
    Sodium 1285.1 mg
    53%
    Total Carbohydrate 2.3 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.1 g
    0%
    Protein 30.8 g
    61%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    Old Bay Seasoning


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites