Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Perfect Blueberry Pie Filling Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Perfect Blueberry Pie Filling

    Average Rating:

    26 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 26

    Sort by:

    • on December 18, 2008

      Absolutley perfect!! I doubled the berries, sugar, and cornstarch/water to make it thicker to use as a filling for a cake. Then added the blueberries and it worked amazingly. Its a little sweet with all the sugar. To speed up the liquid process in the begining add a tablespoon of water to the sugar and berries. Tastes wonderful without the spices as well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2010

      This was my first pie EVER and it was so easy and delicious..my daughters8&10 really enjoyed the ease and fresh flavor...I've made it twice in one week..EXCELLENT

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2010

      Yummy and easy. Not too gloppy, full of blueberries, just the right amount of sugar. Didn't use this in a pie, but made to go with They Won't Know It's Not Cream Cheese Cheesecake and enjoyed it quite a lot. Next time I'd leave out the nutmeg, just my personal preference. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2009

      This is a tasty recipe, BUT I had to add 2 Tablespoons of water to the saucepan, as my sugar started to become really big crystals...it worked out perfectly after that! The flavor is great, but then blueberries are the main ingredient...what's there not to like? One thing I had to do different: I was using frozen blueberries I had recently frozen from fresh ones, so I would add the butter to the hot berries, not the cold (if you are using frozen), as the butter was not melting (had to put the whole thing into microwave to get the butter to melt, after mixing it all together...even with those changes, I still give it 5 stars...thanks Pastryismybiz! You have a winner here!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2011

      OH MY GAWD!! This is hands down the absolute BEST blueberry filling I have ever made! Super quick, super easy and perfectly delicious. I am using it in my holiday squares and in my kolackys. I did not have lemon zest on hand, so I substituted 1/4 tsp. of lemon extract. I also doubled the inital blueberry/sugar mix, and added 1 extra TBS. of cornstarch and water. So yummy, I too was licking the spoon. Pastryismybiz...you ROCK!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2011

      this is the best pie filling i've ever made! thank you so much for this recipe. i didn't have corn starch, so i had to use flour, but next time i will deffinitley use the corn starch. this is so good i'm licking the spoon as i write this =)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2011

      YUMMY! Just like my Grandma makes! I have some deeper pie plates I think, because 4 cups berries was a little on the skimpy side. I think for my pie plates next time I will multiply the recipe by 1.5...and if there is a little extra left over, I might be forced to put it on top of some ice cream while the pie is baking. THANKS FOR SHARING!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2011

      This recipe is ideal and very easy to make. My family enjoyed the pie to the last mouthful. I'm so impress with the texture of the blueberry filling and the egg wash pie top came out so flaky. I really loved the this pie- no more store bought blueberry pies, also, the grated lemon rind gave the pie that extra twist

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2010

      I had fresh blueberries I was going to make a cobbler from. The pie filling recipe was perfect & very easy! I didn't have the lemon rind but it turned out very good. Thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2010

      Mmmm blueberry-ey. This went on top of a cream pie. Delicious. Not overly starchy. i was surprised at how good the nutmeg was in this!! It was such a nice flavor. i did use frozen blueberries though. Thanks for such a delicious recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2009

      I have not actually put this on my cheesecake I just tasted it and it is so good. I am even thinking I might enter it in the youth fair pie contest. That means I will need to find a great crust recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2009

      I made this because I had a bag of frozen blueberries in my freezer and if I didn't do SOMETHING with them, I'd end up with a frozen blueberry block! I didn't follow the recipe EXACTLY -- I added a bit of water, and I skipped the lemon rind and butter. But nobody seemed to mind! I used this to make a blueberry swirl cheesecake and a blueberry crumb cake, and it worked out fine. Thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2007

      It IS perfect! Even if you want to alter the spice or the sugar a bit, the method is absolutely perfect. I used it to make a few dozen tiny blueberry tarts. They were wonderful--not too sweet, not sugary, juicy but not too liquid--Just Right!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2014

      This pie filling recipe is absolutely amazing! A few changes I made to the recipe were, when adding the sugar to the pan, with 1 cup blueberries, I added 3 tablespoons of water with fear that if not the sugar would burn. Secondly, I added 2-3 extra tea spoons of corn starch after I let it boil the first time, because I added a little more water. Thirdly, I added 2 teaspoons of lemon juice instead of lemon peel. This change made the pie, the slightly sour taste from the pie, with the spices and the sweetness of the sugar and blueberries made the pie. Lastly I added a little bit more spices then the recipe called for. The pie filling was amazing, and made my pie. It was easy, tasty, and will use it again with different fruit, or with blueberries again.<br/>Thank you for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2014

      This filling is so Delicious, I will never buy can filling again!! Thanks a million!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2013

      This was so good and so easy. I love it and it is scrumptious on my easy cheesecake-pie recipe that I found. Fist cheese pie I ever made and it is to die for. My girlfriend wants to eat the whole darn thing.<br/>I really love it that all the berries aren't cooked into mush. Just awesome.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2013

      I loved the way the last two pieces of pie I managed to rescue, held together without all the blueberries falling out the sides (my family attacked it almost straight out of the oven). It looked wonderful (I used the pastry recipe on the side of the Crisco pkg), smelled heavenly and tasted great. I used lime rind rather than lemon because that's what I had on hand. My husband loved it but found it a little on the sweet side so next time I'll cut back on the sugar some.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2013

      This recipe worked for me!! I needed to make some frozen blueberries into a pie filling, and this recipe was perfect. Thanks so much for posting this keeper recipe, Pastryismybiz!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2013

      Absolutely amazing! I've made this several times and can't believe I never reviewed it before! We just used it to top a cheesecake, then mixed the remainder with some fresh sliced peaches for a simple fruit salad. I love the method, as it keeps the fresh fruit flavor. Thanks so much for sharing!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2013

      This was a great filling! It was very sweet. I made mini pies with this and they were wonderful! I will definitely make this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Perfect Blueberry Pie Filling

    Serving Size: 1 (163 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 401.1
     
    Calories from Fat 168
    41%
    Total Fat 18.6 g
    28%
    Saturated Fat 5.7 g
    28%
    Cholesterol 30.8 mg
    10%
    Sodium 263.8 mg
    10%
    Total Carbohydrate 56.1 g
    18%
    Dietary Fiber 3.5 g
    14%
    Sugars 29.3 g
    117%
    Protein 4.1 g
    8%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites