Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Perfect Basic White Rice Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Perfect Basic White Rice

    Average Rating:

    99 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 99

    Sort by:

    • on June 09, 2010

      I've banished the boil in the bag variety and retired my rice cooker, cos I've found Mama's method, tried & true! I've been making rice this way for so long, my apologies for not (thanking Mama, and) reviewing this recipe sooner. I have used this method with white rice and par-boiled with no problems (other than it's hard to put the fork down!) I usually make this with chicken broth in lieu of water, as my family loves it. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2011

      My beloved rice cooker broke and my husband didn't think I need to go to the expense of
      replacing it. I have not had a lot of luck with a pot. The rice was ususally too sticky.
      I followed this recipe exactly and it is HEAVEN! Thank you soooo much!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2011

      Thanks so much for posting what the rice producers SHOULD have written on the bag! As I make it more and more, I am gaining confidence in the recipe and the rice is getting better!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2011

      Thee Best!!!!! Look no farther Just follow instructions to the tee...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2010

      This was very good but slightly overcooked for our taste. I like the method and will make it again but cook for less time. Thanks for sharing. Made for ZWT 6.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2013

      In twenty years of cooking ... and I am a pretty good cook ... I have never had perfect rice until I tried this recipe! Thank you, thank you, thank you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2012

      Although the writer of this recipe is mistaken in saying "Real rice is so much better for you than instant" (nutritionally they are identical), rice cooked by this recipe has much better taste and texture than instant rice. I have cooked rice many different ways during my long life, and this without a doubt is the best.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2011

      i just cook rice for the first time and its freaking DELICIOUS THANKS to this recipe:D am i dont cook much and now i feel AWESOME

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2010

      You wouldn't think you'd really need a recipe for rice, but mine just never turned out quite perfect by following directions on the package. This method REALLY does make PERFECT rice! Thank you for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2010

      Thanks . . . guess the 'no peaking' is the trick, it was perfect! Served with Sweet & Sour Pork and Egg Rolls. Thanks for sharing. Made again for ZWT#6 . . . love this method!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2010

      It gave the perfect white rice. Very easy to do. I used only water and rice. But I may try with chicken stock and maybe some butter, it depends how I feel LOL Thanks Hope :) Made for the Zwizzle Chicks of ZWT

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2010

      I'm reviewing again because I'm so thrilled to be cooking perfect rice with your recipe.Thank you so much!!!!Rice is one of my DH's favourite food. I had to tell you I have been cooking Perfect Rice since I found your method. Thank you, Rita

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2010

      Thank you, thank you! I have very rarely EVER been able to make great rice. This was perfect. Everyone was so proud of me! Bravo, thanks again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2010

      This is such a fantastic recipe which produces FLUFFY white rice. Its so easy to follow and the secret seems to be not to lift the lid and keep the heat on low. Thank you mama. This ones a keeper

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2010

      My apologies for not reviewing this sooner. I've been using your method for a couple of years now and our rice comes out perfect every time! The only things I do different is to NOT salt my water until it comes to a boil because I don't want to pit the bottom of my pan and I always rinse my rice until the water runs clear to reduce the amount of starch. This results in fluffier rice which we prefer. The tip about the steam coming from the lid is the key and exactly what I needed. I've got rice cooking down to a science now. Thanks!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2013

    • on February 03, 2013

    • on October 31, 2012

      Made my rice this way tonight and it was perfect. Thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2012

      Perfect! I always avoided making rice because it would always come out burned or not done. I'm so glad I found this simple and easy recipe. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2011

      Thank you, thank you, thank you!!! Finally a recipe that is perfect for our family. I made it exactly as written except I doubled it to freeze. This will be my 'go-to' white rice recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Perfect Basic White Rice

    Serving Size: 1 (167 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 168.8
     
    Calories from Fat 2
    65%
    Total Fat 0.3 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 587.2 mg
    24%
    Total Carbohydrate 36.9 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 0.6 g
    2%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 3.3 g
    6%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites