103 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I've banished the boil in the bag variety and retired my rice cooker, cos I've found Mama's method, tried & true! I've been making rice this way for so long, my apologies for not (thanking Mama, and) reviewing this recipe sooner. I have used this method with white rice and par-boiled with no problems (other than it's hard to put the fork down!) I usually make this with chicken broth in lieu of water, as my family loves it. Thank you.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jug O'Mud June 09, 2010

My beloved rice cooker broke and my husband didn't think I need to go to the expense of
replacing it. I have not had a lot of luck with a pot. The rice was ususally too sticky.
I followed this recipe exactly and it is HEAVEN! Thank you soooo much!!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cinandbakincoquille March 08, 2011

Thanks so much for posting what the rice producers SHOULD have written on the bag! As I make it more and more, I am gaining confidence in the recipe and the rice is getting better!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ginny Ax January 11, 2011

Thee Best!!!!! Look no farther Just follow instructions to the tee...

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
a1k January 09, 2011

This was very good but slightly overcooked for our taste. I like the method and will make it again but cook for less time. Thanks for sharing. Made for ZWT 6.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CJAY June 27, 2010

My apologies for not reviewing this sooner. I've been using your method for a couple of years now and our rice comes out perfect every time! The only things I do different is to NOT salt my water until it comes to a boil because I don't want to pit the bottom of my pan and I always rinse my rice until the water runs clear to reduce the amount of starch. This results in fluffier rice which we prefer. The tip about the steam coming from the lid is the key and exactly what I needed. I've got rice cooking down to a science now. Thanks!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SloppyJoe February 05, 2010

In twenty years of cooking ... and I am a pretty good cook ... I have never had perfect rice until I tried this recipe! Thank you, thank you, thank you!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Willet5 April 11, 2013

Although the writer of this recipe is mistaken in saying "Real rice is so much better for you than instant" (nutritionally they are identical), rice cooked by this recipe has much better taste and texture than instant rice. I have cooked rice many different ways during my long life, and this without a doubt is the best.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jmjm January 27, 2012

i just cook rice for the first time and its freaking DELICIOUS THANKS to this recipe:D am i dont cook much and now i feel AWESOME

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mtabora March 08, 2011

You wouldn't think you'd really need a recipe for rice, but mine just never turned out quite perfect by following directions on the package. This method REALLY does make PERFECT rice! Thank you for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CarlyJax July 15, 2010
Perfect Basic White Rice