Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Perfect Basic Brown Rice Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Perfect Basic Brown Rice

    Average Rating:

    32 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 32

    Sort by:

    • on June 20, 2010

      You are so right about the rice being perfect! I doubled the recipe and used 4 tbsp of kosher salt in the water, together with 1/2 tsp garlic powder and 1/2 tsp onion powder. I followed your instructions exactly and even though it seemed that the rice wasn't quite ready when I drained it, it was perfectly cooked 10 minutes later, as your instructions say. I love the fact that no fat is used to make this rice. Thanks for sharing this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2011

      I have avoided making brown rice for decades because the one time I tried to make it (literally DECADES ago), it took forever and was gummy. But this works! I am delighted with the result. Who'd a thought. :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2010

      So easy!!!!! Thanks!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2010

      wow it worked! Usually I have a little burnt on the bottom of my brown rice. I tossed in some toasted Sesame Seeds for Asian flare. Made for ZWT6 for Looney Spoon Phoodies :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2010

      Wow, I can't tell you how glad I am to have found this! I adore brown rice, but have often avoided fried rice and pilaf dishes because I can never get the texture right. This made PERFECT rice for frying! Thanks so much for posting; I know I will revisit this often. Made for the Mischief Makers, ZWT 6!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2011

      So easy and turned out better than cooking the regular way! This is my new way to cook brown rice! Thank you! :-)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2011

      Fantastic! This is so much easier than the conventional way of cooking rice. Thanks for sharing. Made for Best of 2010 Tag.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2010

      I always have the worst time cooking rice, but this really did turn out just perfect! Made for ZWT6--Whine and Cheese--diabetic Asian Challenge.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2014

      My rice turned out perfectly. Thanks for a great recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2013

      I was worried about making this recipe because of the unusual cooking method. I'm glad I tried it because it turned out great! It was exactly like the brown rice I get at Chinese restaurants!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2013

      This is the easiest, no guessing way to make rice. Done perfectly each time. Thank you for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2012

      I can't believe I forgot to rate this recipe! I've been using your technique for over a year Nan, and you're right, it comes out perfect every time. I use it as a OAMC recipe by making a double batch.
      I freeze the rice in one cup portions, using my Food Saver. Whenever I need rice for recipe I just toss a bag or two into hot water to defrost. I use the microwavable bags for a quick side. Thank you so much for posting. Your recipe makes it easy for us to eat healthier.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2012

      This was awesome! I tried cooking brown rice last night following the instructions on the back, and for some odd reason, it was still crunchy. I used this recipe tonight, and it was perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2012

      Awesome recipe! Turns out perfect every time. A staple in our home.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2012

      I just got done trying one of the baking methods for brown rice and it was horrible, so moved on to this one...HUGE difference! The baked rice was still hard on top after 3 1/2 hours...not kidding...and the rice on bottom was soggy. This rice was perfect and so much better than from the rice cooker. Definitely deserves all 5 stars!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2011

      I forgot to rate when I posted my review.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2010

      Name says it all! Perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2010

      Great basic brown rice recipe. I added a little BRAGGs liquid Aminos for flavor. Thanks! Made for ZWT6 - Looney Spoon Phoodies!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2010

      I used short grain brown rice and thought I might have to cook it a little longer, but no! Leaving it on the warm burner let it steam perfectly! Thanks PanNan! Made by a Looney Spoon Phoodie for Zaar World Tour#6! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2010

      I was intrigued by this technique and wanted to give it a try. I made half the recipe since there are just 2 of us and it worked perfectly! Made for ZWT6 2010.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Perfect Basic Brown Rice

    Serving Size: 1 (504 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 171.1
     
    Calories from Fat 12
    99%
    Total Fat 1.3 g
    2%
    Saturated Fat 0.2 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 24.5 mg
    1%
    Total Carbohydrate 35.7 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 1.6 g
    6%
    Sugars 0.3 g
    1%
    Protein 3.6 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites