Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Perfect Aussie Porridge Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Perfect Aussie Porridge

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on August 11, 2012

      I really liked this. I used banana and raisins in mine and drizzled with some honey. I know I'll be making this often so I can try some of the other fruits. Thanks for sharing. Made for ZWT 8.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2012

      Delicious and healthy breakfast. I love being able to cook the oatmeal in the microwave. I combined all the ingredients and then saw that the cinnamon was supposed to be sprinkled on at the end but I don't think that made a big difference in the flavor.I found that the shredded apple cooks up and is almost undetectable. I like biting into pieces of apple so I would chop it next time. The apple and raisins made the sweetness exactly right for me. Made for ZWT8

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2012

      Very tasty, this provided a good healthy foundation for my day (some spicy stuff coming later, so I needed to be nice to myself for breakfast). My rating is based on the presentation of the ingredients and the directions. If low-fat milk is to be used, it should be listed as the ingredient so that the recipe's nutritional values will be accurate, and the ingredient will show up as intended on a shopping list; I used whole milk because I used the Shopping List function. Step 1 of the directions said to combine all ingredients; when I got to step 2, which asked me to sprinkle with cinnamon, I was confused, and decided not to add more. I used a very large Pyrex measuring bowl, and the recipe yielded 2 cups. I liked that this used rolled oats instead of quick-cooking oats. This recipe could become a perennial breakfast for me. When I run out of rolled oats, I may be inspired to buy oat groats and split them using either the Vitamix dry-grains container or an Electrolux Verona Assistent Mixer with a flaker mill to have the very freshest oat taste with thicker, chewier flakes. For reducing cholesterol, this is the very best way to begin the day. Thank you for sharing. Made for The Wild Bunch for ZWT8's visit to Australia/New Zealand.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2012

      With a teaspoon of sugar added in, this was super good. And I thought the orange peel gave it a wonderful citrusy touch that turned a common porridge into something special. I used red delicious apples, but I'd like to make this again and try some of the suggested fruit substitutes, especially peaches. This is a great morning meal that could go in a wide variety of directions depending on what fruit I had on hand. Thank you for sharing your recipe, AlaskaPam. Made for ZWT8 ~ Australia.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2012

      This made a quick and tasty breakfast. I loved that it was healthy and filling, too. Made for ZWT8 for the Diners, Winers and Chives team.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2012

      This was a very filling breakfast. Made with apples and raisins. Liked that it was made in the microwave. Made for ZWT8

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2012

      This porridge makes a great start to the day! I did add just a bit of brown sugar which was great with the apples and cinnamon. Filling, healthy and tasty - thanks for sharing the recipe! Made for ZWT8, Chefs gone WILD!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2012

      Definitely terrific! Just the right sweetness, filling - yummy! Made it with apple and berries and cashew milk instead of cow's milk. Thanks for a lovely breakfast!
      Made for ZWT 8 / Aus/NZ for the Lively Lemon Lovelies

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2012

      this was so easy cooked in microwave and with the orange zest it gave me another way to make my oatmeal my oatmeal got done a little faster so check yours zaar world tour 8

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Perfect Aussie Porridge

    Serving Size: 1 (291 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 259.8
     
    Calories from Fat 57
    22%
    Total Fat 6.4 g
    9%
    Saturated Fat 3.1 g
    15%
    Cholesterol 17.0 mg
    5%
    Sodium 64.7 mg
    2%
    Total Carbohydrate 44.9 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 5.4 g
    21%
    Sugars 15.8 g
    63%
    Protein 8.1 g
    16%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes