211 Reviews

Tip; use Dr. Pepper and its even better, use your favorite BBQ sauce, and don't skimp on the smashed garlic cloves. Also use a sweet white or red onion, yellow cooking onions add a bitterness you don't want, try my suggestions and see.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jayburt2002 September 02, 2015

This was so good! I used diet coke became that is what I had and the gravy was perfect with just a dash of season salt and Tabasco. Roast was tender. Keeper for sure. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
brandywine1974 July 21, 2015

I tried it twice, each time using half of a pork shoulder butt I bought cheap. The first time, I cooked it like the recipe said, 4 hours on high. It was okay. Not tough, exactly, but a little chewy for our tastes. Second time, I used the low setting and tossed it in before I left for work. When I came home, it was so incredibly tender and tasty, my wife asked for seconds. So, low and slow is the way to go.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dusty June 11, 2015

I made this recipe last Sunday and glad I did! I had bought a very inexpensive cut of pork roast and wasn't sure how to cook it. Your recipe was wonderful! My other half and I both really enjoyed it. I did season the raw meat with pepper and garlic but that's the only thing I did differently. Loved the result and will make this again! Great Sunday meal, and the best thing is how easy it was to make. Put in in the crock pot and forget about it ;)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Katie Lou Who June 07, 2015

I used a bone-in pork shoulder and a can of cola. cooked it in a Dutch oven at 325 in the oven for five hours. I think this is one of the best things I ever cooked!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
aldisessa_9854216 May 01, 2015

Was very skeptical about the pepsi, not a soda drinker lol. This dish was easy and the gravy was delicious! My hubby had 3 servings, I made mashed potatoes and vegi sides. Kids liked it++ And I left it on warm for a few hours and it just got more tender, great dish. I didn't even add the cornstarch, gravy was perfect.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tia D. April 09, 2015

I'll start off by saying that I would have known this was a terrible recipe just by reading it; but because my husband was trying to be helpful while I was at work, I had the displeasure of tasting this. He was quick to point out that there were hundreds of good reviews (though he agreed it was terrible).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kelly h. March 29, 2015

I wish I had known that 1. this was more like shredded or chunky pork..2. dry....I made this exactly as written ..it was a 3.5 boneless roast.but altho my Husband liked it..I was looking for a more sliceable roast with a nice browned crispy top.this came out pale and not too good looking....I don't usually make roasts in the crockpot for that reason but was swayed by all the great reviews.///,,the taste was good however and we liked the gravy but I will stick to OVEN roasts from now on...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
shanti2 October 08, 2014

This turned out really well. It made the house smell great. I only adjusted the recipe by adding a full cut onion. We served over mashed potatoes. We will make again. Super easy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DisCERNing Diner April 08, 2014

I used Pepsi Max because I'm a diabetic, Me and the family loved it!! Definite make again and again recipe.Pork was tender, very juicy. I also used whole pkg Garlic onion soup mix and sliced yellow onion.<br/>I did not make the gravy. This is no negative to the recipe..I used a pork shoulder and it was fatty. Most of it rendered down into the gravy..Trying to keep fat down I made a pkg of pork gravy on the side. And sadly discarded the crock pot gravy (I'm thinking had I made this the day before I wanted it, I could have cooled and refrigerated to remove fat next day) But no time for that when hungry family wants to at NOW! lol..Enjoyed the simplicity. Thank you a Whole Bunch! I WILL MAKE THIS ALL THE TIME!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ed & Cheryl February 17, 2014
Pepsi Pork Roast