205 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I'll start off by saying that I would have known this was a terrible recipe just by reading it; but because my husband was trying to be helpful while I was at work, I had the displeasure of tasting this. He was quick to point out that there were hundreds of good reviews (though he agreed it was terrible).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kelly h March 29, 2015

I wish I had known that 1. this was more like shredded or chunky pork..2. dry....I made this exactly as written ..it was a 3.5 boneless roast.but altho my Husband liked it..I was looking for a more sliceable roast with a nice browned crispy top.this came out pale and not too good looking....I don't usually make roasts in the crockpot for that reason but was swayed by all the great reviews.///,,the taste was good however and we liked the gravy but I will stick to OVEN roasts from now on...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
shanti2 October 08, 2014

This turned out really well. It made the house smell great. I only adjusted the recipe by adding a full cut onion. We served over mashed potatoes. We will make again. Super easy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DisCERNing Diner April 08, 2014

I used Pepsi Max because I'm a diabetic, Me and the family loved it!! Definite make again and again recipe.Pork was tender, very juicy. I also used whole pkg Garlic onion soup mix and sliced yellow onion.<br/>I did not make the gravy. This is no negative to the recipe..I used a pork shoulder and it was fatty. Most of it rendered down into the gravy..Trying to keep fat down I made a pkg of pork gravy on the side. And sadly discarded the crock pot gravy (I'm thinking had I made this the day before I wanted it, I could have cooled and refrigerated to remove fat next day) But no time for that when hungry family wants to at NOW! lol..Enjoyed the simplicity. Thank you a Whole Bunch! I WILL MAKE THIS ALL THE TIME!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ed & Cheryl February 17, 2014

I made this today and this was just awesome. I made just a couple of changes. I used a 1.5 lb pork loin roast( cooking for 1). used 1 envelope of Lipton onion mushroom soup. and just 1/2 can of coke. I sprinkled some Cajun seasoning and garlic powder ( just a little bit 1/2 tsp of cajun and 2 tsp of garlic ) and added fresh mushrooms in the last hour. I cooked on high for 4 hours maybe 5 hrs. The roast was so tender it cut like butter and I had lots of gravy. The gravy needed a tiny bit if thickening but instead I added some cooked egg noodles to it and it thickened up to make a delicious gravy for the noodles. I already passed on the recipe to a friend that's always looking for delicious crock pot recipes. I will definitely be making this again. Thank you Mystery Girl.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ridergirl February 16, 2014

This was the juiciest pork roast I ever tasted. Loved the ease and taste of the pork roast. I ended up pouring the broth into a saucepan and boiling my noodles in it. Soooo tasty, Thank You!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
airedd56 January 28, 2014

LOVED IT! I really didn't have faith it would turn out because of the ingredients, but it was the best meal I've made in ages. This will be on the regular menu in my house!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mindynicole7 November 14, 2013

Very good. The roast came out so tender. Due to some food intolerances, I wasn't able to eat the gravy, but my husband loved it. I was surprised that the meat actually had that distinctive Pepsi flavor. To make this gluten-free, I used Pacific Cream of Mushroom Soup and Simply Organic Onion Dip Mix.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Delicious as it Looks November 05, 2013

A lovely tender roast. I used Coke, not Pepsi, as like another reviewer mentioned, I don't like the metallic aftertaste of Pepsi. And, like a few reviewers, I found this a little bland. I added pepper, and I'd add more next time, as well as Worchestershire sauce.<br/>My crock kicked the bucket, so I used a covered roasting pan at 275 for about 2 hours, then opened the lid and bumped it up to 350 for about another hour. YMMV.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amethyst42 September 19, 2013

Terrific recipe, but I should have listened to a lot of the other folks here... 12 ounces of Pepsi was way too much. I stirred in a whole cup of cornstarch and the gravy was still watery. I'll make this again, but with a lot less Pepsi next time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gritchie2 July 11, 2013
Pepsi Pork Roast