203 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is a very good, and very easy recipe. My pork was in the crock for a while, so it was falling apart and not slice-able...but that's ok! I made one change, which I guess was a bit of a big one. Didn't have any coke, so used ginger ale instead! Similar concept, but slightly different flavor profile. Thank you for posting the recipe. :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ltemple99 September 21, 2013

i was so excited to try this recipe after all the wonderful reviews and i was so disappointed. I have to admit the roast was tender and moist but even after adding sliced onions, garlic and black pepper this was one of the most bland pieces of meat i've ever eaten and the gravy was entirely too sweet for our taste. I took the meat out, added extra sauteed onions, celery and garlic to the gravy and it was still too sweet. Oh well, never know until you try. I'm sure the meat will make good pulled pork barbecue as it was tender.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
D. Goad January 01, 2011

Had a huge pork roast in the freezer and this recipe caught my eye. Used an extra large can of Campbell's cream of mushroom, a 16 oz coke zero, and the onion soup mix. Added Klondike Gold potatoes and carrots to pot. Cooked on high for first three hours and low last three. Unlike others who said there wasn't enough gravy I filled a 3 quart sauce pan and thickened it all. Wonderful!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mark Kovach October 18, 2010

This was awesome! My hubby shot a wild pig a few weeks ago and we just got it back for the processor so had to try it. I added pearl onions, red potatoes and carrots after about 2 hours. Everything was perfectly cooked. They gravy had a velvety texture. Sooooo good.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BetterLate March 30, 2010

This is a great recipe that I use all the time with any cut of pork or beef. I use Diet Coke since it's always in the house.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Robs415 July 08, 2009

This is an excellent recipe!!! The pork comes out very tender. I accidentally used the whole packet of onion soup mix but it didn't seem to affect the results. Halfway through (at the 2 hour point) I added some fresh baby carrots and cut up red potatoes and it made for a very satisfying complete meal. Thanks for a keeper for my meal rotation:)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brew City Chef June 20, 2009

Awesome! I used a 4.5lb pork loin roast cooked forf 4 hours on low, with the sauce made as listed. While the roast itself was good, the sauce/gravy is what makes this recipe really shine. I could use this as gravy on anything!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
StrongChef May 27, 2009

I made this for my family and they raved iver it. I cooked it the crockpot on low overnight and then turned it down to warm until dinner time. I doubled the Pepsi, soup and soup mix to have enough liquid to cover the roast and for extra gravy. The meat was EXTREMELY melt-in-your mouth tender!! It was so easy to make. My father, who rarely eats leftovers, ate the remaining roast the next day. A great recipe that allows you to still serve wonderful food with a less expensive cut of meat- something to consider during these economically challenged times. I will make this again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mystik's Mom April 08, 2009

Absolutely delicious!!! The roast was so moist, and the gravy was incredible. I did add carrots and potatoes to the crockpot during the last hour of cooking, and they absorbed all of those wonderful flavors. We had this New Year's Day, and my family said that this will definitely be a keeper!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
akcmom January 18, 2009

UPDATE: Since my first review of this recipe, we've made this 3 more times, as well as some of our family members! Most recently, we tried it with a beef roast instead and the result was just as good. Added fresh mushrooms again and the gravy was wonderful!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
princesskim June 07, 2007
Pepsi Pork Roast