202 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I've made this several times now usually with coke although I did buy a pepsi specially the first time. I noticed no difference between the sodas but this is an old stand-by recipe of mine now for Sunday pork roast. Extremely easy to put together and build a nice dinner around. A belated thanks to MG for posting it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cher Jewhurst March 23, 2008

Made this a few weeks ago, and ajpprently just forgot to come back with a review. This is DELICIOUS! As another reviewer did, I just used half the onion soup mix packet. I also didn't buy a Pepsi, but used a store brand cola instead. This was an easy and tasty roast that also makes great left-overs. It made plenty for a big meal, and I had plenty left to take to work for lunches for a couple of days. The ease of prep and the relative economy makes this a keeper. I'll use the recipe often.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DEEP March 18, 2008

This was very easy to make and taste excellent! I used the whole onion soup mix package. This is a ultimate recipe. Thank you for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
superseniorita March 17, 2008

Wow....how can something so easy to make taste this fantastic! The gravy is so good that even my husband who does not normally like gravy on anything...kept asking for more....three helpings worth to be exact.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
merrylady March 08, 2008

I made this for my dads welcome home Lunch. His plane was to land early morning so I let it cook on low over night.Boy did I have some SAVORY dreams that night. The next morning it was hard not to sneak a nibble. Everyone loved it.My dad who loves pork but is not one for new things loved it. He even took left overs for lunch. What little left overs there were made great tacos and sandwhiches. I used a pork roast because its what I had. I also used a lil extra onion soup a 2 oz packet and I seasoned the roast with garlic salt and fresh ground pepper. DELISH. This is going straight in my recipe box. Thanx for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
islandsweetie March 07, 2008

Wow,this was the greatist gravy I've ever had.I make my roast this way every time now.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jefnvic February 24, 2008

This roast is great! I seved this with twice baked sweet potatoes and the flavors really complimented each other nicely. I followed the recipe exactly, I went to the refrigerator that night for a little midnight snack, but my hubbie had gotten to it first. He took out almost a whole roast by himself! Thanks for sharing Mysterygirl!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cook in Training #2 February 13, 2008

This made a tender delicious roast. I seasoned the meat first with salt,pepper and garlic powder and then added diced onion to the bottom of the crock pot. I used the whole package of onion soup mix The gravy was also really delicious. Thanks for the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tuttifrutti February 12, 2008

At 2 PM, I was staring at a rock solid frozen pork roast and holding a can of diet Pepsi with Lime. With this recipe and a little kitchen ingenuity, dinner was ready at 6 PM.A can of mushrooms and Creamed Soup Substitute gave me cream of mushroom soup. Two tablespoons of Homemade Dried Onion Soup Mix – Paula Deen rounded out my ingredient list. Following the lead of a previous reviewer, I threw it all in a heavy pot, covered it and baked at 325F for 4 hours. The meat was impressively fall apart tender; the gravy thick and tasty with no Pepsi taste ( but I did detect a mere hint of lime. ;-).Thanks for posting this fun recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SusieQusie February 07, 2008

AWESOME... it just fell off the bone after 9 hours on low in the crockpot. Used full pack of onion soup mix and full can of Diet Pepsi. Will definitely be making my pork roasts this way in the future(and my beef roasts, too!).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lori Ann D February 04, 2008
Pepsi Pork Roast