Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Peppery Turnip "Fries" Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Peppery Turnip "Fries"

    Average Rating:

    36 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 36

    Sort by:

    • on March 26, 2004

      These were great. I'm not crazy about french fries so was happy to find this. I did toss the turnip pieces in the oil first and then in the spices. It seemed to me if i tried to brush on the oil it would brush off all the spices and cheese. It worked great. Thanks for a great recipe Geema.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2003

      Really enjoyed this turnip recipe! They were zippy , a nice addition to my dinner and very different from my regular mashed carrots & turnips. Followed the recipe except when it came to the baking. I used my baking stone with a piece of parchment paper on it had oven at 375f. This way I did not need any oil and they came out golden and delicious - This is a real keeper Thanks Geema

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2004

      Unusual recipe, and really good! I used rutabaga instead of turnip; I adore rutabaga. I think I went a little overboard on the pepper, as measuring is not one of my strong points, but the flavor was very nice. Watch these in the oven toward the end, mine were on the verge of getting a little too cooked. Very yummy recipe, thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2003

      The pepper-lime-parmesan taste is great - but it is CRUCIAL that you do not cut your turnips too small! I made this mistake and ended up with turnip charcoal. Just do as Geema says. The salvageable ones were quite tasty... I wish myself better luck next time!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2003

      This is a very enjoyable way to eat turnips. My ancestors in Poland survived cold winters eating turnips but I don't think they ate anything this flavorful.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2003

      This recipe was made for me! I'm Somersizing at the moment and potatoes are out, and boy, do I miss them. But with these turnip fries, I don't miss them so much now. It's not exactly the same as a potato fry, but it's delicious all the same. The turnip has a slight sweet taste, and drenching it in olive oil and Parmesan cheese can only improve on it's flavor. I left out the lemon juice and nutmeg, added a healthy dash of Hungarian paprika and za'atar. The recipe says this makes 4 servings, but two of us just inhaled these in one sitting. Geema, these rock!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2012

      So simple and so so yummy! Great recipe, thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2012

      I didn't care for these but my husband ate them all... I thought they were kind of bitter and bland even with the nutmeg and pepper

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2010

      Not a big hit with the kids or hubby. They were ok, but not great. Maybe would have been better if I had lime juice...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2010

      Pretty good for turnips. I was able to get our neighbors four year old to eat a couple of them. We dipped them in ketchup but sour cream and honey-dijon mustard with some cayenne would have been even better.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2009

      A delicious recipe. I leave the nutmeg out (I forgot it the first time I made this recipe, and liked it so much, I never went back and added it back in, though I'm thinking that I might experiment with spices -- maybe rosemary?) I have found it easier to add the Parmesan at the end, since it tends to melt and stick a bit when I try to turn them. If you sprinkle it on the turnips fresh from the oven, they're still hot enough for the cheese to blend and melt.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2009

      Neither I or my husband are turnip people but when our CSA gave us some, I gave this a try. We liked them, our kids did not. I wasn't quite sure what the final consistency was suppose to be. At 45 minutes, they were still chewy and seemed to need a little more at an hour some were overdone.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2008

      OMG these rock said my ten year old and I agree!!!!!thank you!!! I wasnt sure what to do with the tunips my mother inlaw gave me now I do. I cant wait untill my husband is home from Iraq so I can make them for him. Again Thank YOU!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2007

      This is a great way to eat turnips! I didn't have any nutmeg on hand so I just coated them (along with some asparagus spears!) in parmesan cheese and lots of pepper ( I refrained from salting which was a good thing). I also sliced them quite thin, so I turned/checked on them every 10 minutes. Yummy side dish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2007

      I wasn't a big fan of these. They were a really good attempt at a low calorie and fat fry but they were just a little off for me. The seasoning was an awesome mixture but I just couldn't get over the bitterness of the turnips. Sorry. It was a really good idea, though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2007

      My family didn't much like these. I used my stone to bake them on. Did everything according to directions,they came out limp and were very spicy. In the end they just tasted like peppered baked vegetables. In the end I'm glad I tried them. Thanks Geema

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2007

      These just weren't our cup of tea, sorry. I couldn't get them to get crispy, kept them in the oven alot longer than specified too, I don't know and the taste was a little bitter. Maybe I'll try next time with parsnips or other veggies. Thanks for the recipe though, I love trying new things, made this for ZWT3.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2007

      I have to confess, I don't think I'd ever had turnips before I tried this recipe, but I'm looking to expand my horizons, so I have this a try and I was very glad I did! They turned out so tender and I loved the flavor. I will definitely be making this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2007

      What a treat, Geema! No more potatoes for me!! LOL Truly delightful taste and texture. Baked on Pizza stone for extra crispy. THX!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2007

      good! a lil on the sweet side. i love these as i hate the normal fries made from potatoes. a lil too starchy for me. definitely a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Peppery Turnip "Fries"

    Serving Size: 1 (130 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 53.3
     
    Calories from Fat 11
    22%
    Total Fat 1.3 g
    2%
    Saturated Fat 0.7 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 3.3 mg
    1%
    Sodium 139.2 mg
    5%
    Total Carbohydrate 8.5 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 2.4 g
    9%
    Sugars 4.7 g
    19%
    Protein 2.6 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes