Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Peppery Beef Tenderloin Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Peppery Beef Tenderloin

    Average Rating:

    22 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 22

    Sort by:

    • on December 10, 2002

      I bought a beautiful piece of eye-fillet for a treat tonight, went looking for a quick recipe for it and found this. The combination of excellent meat and this tasty rub made for a really yummy dinner. Cooked rare, served with parmesan leeks, asparagus and jacket potatoes, it was fantastic.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2003

      Beef tenderloin was on sale today at my local store. I knew ahead of time,so looked for recipes. This is wonderful - never thought to cook beef tenderloin on a rack in a roasting pan. I got a very nice chunk that was about 2 and 2/3 pounds, had all the ingredients in my cabinet, and we all ate like pigs. None left! Made twice-baked potatoes, and a veggie on the side. This is a keeper, and very easy, and a very tasty, peppery, delight! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2003

      Used this for our New Year's Day dinner, on a really lovely 1 3/4 lb beef tenderloin. We roasted it for about 20 minutes to get extremely rare meat; it could've gone another 5 and still been sublime. The rub resulted in a spicy, perfectly seasoned roast. I didn't change a thing, and won't in the future. It's totally perfect as is - delicious and memorable. Thanks, Inez, for a spectacular recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2004

      Absolutely delicious! I've made this recipe 4 times now, and each time I receive outstanding compliments. The only change I made, after the first go around, was to reduce the thyme measurment a bit. It's not one of my favorite seasonings and I thought it a bit over powering. Super! Thanks MizzNezz!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2003

      What a great recipe! Our tenderloin was perfect...nice and pink in the middle and crisp on the outside. I did sear the tenderloin in a bit of olive oil before baking to ensure a nice crust. We had a fabulous Cmas dinner...thanks for sharing this recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2010

      Tasty! I love this rub; it far and away beats similar peppery rubs I've tried. I'm actually considering making it up in bulk to have on hand....and maybe trying it on other dishes. I cooked for 1 hour (raised to 425ish for the last 10 minutes or so) and it was a very nice well done. Going in the favorites pile!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2010

      Loved the rub, and our tenderloin was done perfectly (medium rare). We really like it medium, so I cut sliced from each end. However, medium-rare makes the leftovers better (not overcooked) when we re-heat them then next day. Thanks for an easy to make rub that's comprised of spices that I typically have on hand.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2009

      This is a super rub! The meat comes out nice and juicy and very flavorful. Watch your roasting time though... it really depends on how thick your tenderloin is. Mine was medium after 45 minutes and was rare in more like 37. I've made this a few times now and I tend to start checking the meat thermometer at 35 minutes. Everyone raves about the flavor, though! Just enough "heat" to make it interesting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2009

      Love this recipe, cooked it to 145 on the meat thermometer for med rare. Love the pepper crust. Served with creamy horseradish sauce on little buns for appetizers. Thanks for sharing this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2008

      This is so good!!!!! I have made this several times now and will continue to do so. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2008

      Wonderful spice mixture! I rubbed the tenderloin with olive oil before rubbing in the spice mix. I also left the meat out at room temperature for 1 hour before cooking. It was perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2007

      I served this for Christmas dinner and it got great reviews from everyone. Very easy. I seared it first then roasted it for about 40 minutes for medium rare. Even my picky child ate it up. Next time, I might try it on the grill.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2007

      Incredible flavor. I prepared a 12 pound beef tenderloin using increased amounts of this rub. It flew off the buffet table at my holiday open house. I did alter the roasting process a bit, though. I roasted for 20 minutes at 450, and then reduced the temp to 350 and checked every 15-20 minutes for the internal temp to reach 120. When the beef was roasted to "rare", I pulled from the oven, wrapped in foil, and set aside to cool slightly. Later, I sliced thinly and reheated in a chaffing dish with au jus. I offered small fresh sandwich buns and horseradish sauce for guests to create their own sandwiches. It was a hit.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2006

      Really easy, tasty rub , brings the best out of beef. Wouldn't change a thing about it. But the cooking times given were bit long, I thought. For mediumrare I baked the filet less then directed, 40 miutes and still it was all too well done. I didn't sear the filet, but might try it next time and only bake it 30 mins.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2006

    • on December 27, 2005

      Absolutely delicious beef recipe, I bought a 1.7 kilo piece of eye fillet and cooked for 65 minutes, cooked to perfection to how we like it. Loved the peppery coating.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2005

      This was highly recommended to me by MEP awhile ago. Now I wish I hadn't waited so long to fix it. The flavor was marvelous, but a tad salty so I believe I will cut down on the salt the next time I prepare this. I baked it for 60 minutes to a perfect medium rare. It was an absolute delight!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2005

      A wonderful rub. The entire family enjoyed it. We broiled the tenderloin instead of baking. Don't forget to put heavy duty foil in the bottom of the pan. The dripping are a pain to get out of the bottom of the pan.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2005

      I BBQ'd the beef and it was outstanding. I wrapped the meat in foil before cooking it and used a meat thermometer to watch the temperature. This was terrific. I thought it might be too spicy, but the paprika and cayenne pepper were just right.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2005

      I made the mix as directed, however I was only making a 5 oz tenderloin for my DH and so I only used a bit of this, and put the rest in a jar for later. I put the steak on an indoor grill for only a few minutes, and he said it turned out as good as anything he's had in a restaurant. Since I don't eat red meat, I put a bit of this rub on a tilapia filet, grilled it, and it was awesome! I think this would be good on any fish, even though that's not what you intended. :) Thank you for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Peppery Beef Tenderloin

    Serving Size: 1 (229 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 663.3
     
    Calories from Fat 413
    62%
    Total Fat 45.9 g
    70%
    Saturated Fat 18.0 g
    90%
    Cholesterol 194.9 mg
    64%
    Sodium 521.7 mg
    21%
    Total Carbohydrate 0.8 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.3 g
    1%
    Sugars 0.1 g
    0%
    Protein 57.4 g
    114%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes