14 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I've been making this recipe for years. I can't believe I haven't reviewed it until now. These cookies are nice and chewy, and have a good peppermint flavor without being overwhelmingly minty. These are the one cookie I make every year for Christmas, and family ask where they are if it's close to Christmas and I haven't made them yet.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kay-t December 30, 2014

I had a ton of Hershey's peppermint kisses STILL leftover from the holidys, so I grated about 1/4 cup and then cut another 1/2 cup into chunks and added them in place of candy canes and white chocolate chips! Delicious! Very sweet- get the milk out!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MomaLary June 26, 2014

These were great, although I did add slightly more brown sugar and substituted coconut oil for half the butter.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pe88y December 24, 2013

I love the idea of these cookies, but this recipe didn't work for me at all. The dough wouldn't come together with the mixer, so I had to roll it into balls before baking. The cookies didn't spread at all, and they ended up like bland, dry biscuits. If I made these again, I'd use softer butter, an extra egg, extra vanilla and more brown sugar.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hija December 18, 2012

My cookies don't look anything like the picture.. the dough was crumbly and hard to work with..they spread and just looked messy even though I followed the recipe.. the taste is blah.. won't be making again

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CareyLee December 08, 2012

Made this recipe for work and it was a huge hit! They are great!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Aimeeoconnor December 04, 2012

I absolutely love these cookies. I make them every Christmas for my tray. Only two cookies make the tray every year. Make sure to use parchment paper since the candy canes melt and will make a mess otherwise. I crush one box of regular sized candy canes. (10 to 12) The candy canes make this cookie crispy but there is a chewiness to them as well. I have had no problem with the cookies spreading too much. Absolutely love these!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
janerdickey December 12, 2011

This recipe is great! I used 1/4 c. butter and 1/4 c. butter flavored shortening and only cooked them for 10 minutes. They spread perfectly and had just enough crispness to them.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lbd0b6 December 11, 2010

I had high hopes for this recipe - they look so good in the picture! When I made them, they spread uncontrollably. (Even after I had put the dough in the freezer!) I actually pulled them out of the oven to reshape them and still had to manipulate them into cookie shape at the end. They taste amazing, but they are a little oily. Next time, I will try stirring in white chocolate chips and crushed candy canes into my favorite chocolate chip cookie base instead. Thanks for the inspiration, and I hope other have better luck!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Miss Scarlett December 20, 2009

This recipe is awesome. I had bought some Andes peppermint crunch baking chips and have been looking for a good recipe. I had my 7 year old make them tonight and they are great!!!! I used the peppermint chips instead of choc chips and candy canes which makes it much easier and much, much less messy

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kelseypj1 December 16, 2009
Peppermint White Chocolate Chip Cookies