Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Holiday Central >

    Top Holiday Finger Foods

    Top Holiday Finger Foods

    Do You See What I See? #PartyBites
    28 Ultimate Holiday Desserts

    28 Ultimate Holiday Desserts

    You Saved Room For a Reason
    DIY Holiday Food Gifts

    DIY Holiday Food Gifts

    57 Homemade Gifts From The Kitchen
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Peppermint Snowballs Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Peppermint Snowballs

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on December 02, 2012

      I made these as written except at 350 for 12 minutes. 4 candy canes looked like about the right amount. Did not get to putting in sugar when really hot - maybe 10 minutes. Probably could roll in powdered sugar again now that they are cold. I thought they would need extra peppermint extract but I didn't have any and they turned out great. Made 60 cookies. Half a cookie scoop size.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2007

      Very festive and pretty! I added 1/2 tsp of peppermint extract as some reviewers suggested. Rolling hot cookies in the sugar does create a pretty glaze. I've also dusted the cooled cookies with extra powdere sugar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2007

      This is very similar to my almond snowballs, so I set the oven to 350* and the timer for 15 and they came out just fine. I added 1/2 tsp. of peppermint extract at some others' suggestions and it made them just minty enough. I also added some red sanding sugar to my confectioners sugar for rolling and it gave them a very festive look. This is a fine recipe. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2007

      the icing sugar on the outside created the greatest glaze i have ever tasted definitley a great recipe to get rid of all those extra candy canses laying around after christmas although i used spearmint and vanilla mint candy canes

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2006

      Thanks for the recipie followed it to the tee and they were GREAT! thanks again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2005

      Very pretty! Love the pink peeking through! Rita L sent these to me in the cookie swap! I am so lucky! I will be making these in the future. A little more peppermint flavor would make these even better- maybe 1/2 t peppermint extract? Yummy and pretty!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2005

      Very tasty; just the right amount of peppermint flavor for my tastes. I used about 15 peppermint disc hard candies, crushed. Some of them spread out a bit while baking but I sort of smooshed them back into rounds after taking out of oven and they were ok, just not as pretty. I also reduced the baking time to 10 minutes. Looked great on my Xmas cookie trays. Thanks Pamela!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2005

      Not a bad cookie, but could be improved. If I were to make again, I would add peppermint extract to increase the flavor, and DON'T bake 15-17 min at 400 - you will have burnt cookies! I baked about 10 minutes (after one toasty pan full!) Also, be careful about the amount of food color - mine are the color of raw ground beef making them look frighteningly like uncooked meatballs! Oh well - live & learn!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2005

      This is so much easier then forming into candy canes as I`ve made before. A nice touch for children. I rolled in sugar before and after baking!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Peppermint Snowballs

    Serving Size: 1 (776 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 791.7
     
    Calories from Fat 426
    53%
    Total Fat 47.3 g
    72%
    Saturated Fat 29.3 g
    146%
    Cholesterol 122.0 mg
    40%
    Sodium 553.1 mg
    23%
    Total Carbohydrate 83.1 g
    27%
    Dietary Fiber 2.9 g
    11%
    Sugars 22.4 g
    89%
    Protein 9.0 g
    18%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    candy canes

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes