9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I made these as written except at 350 for 12 minutes. 4 candy canes looked like about the right amount. Did not get to putting in sugar when really hot - maybe 10 minutes. Probably could roll in powdered sugar again now that they are cold. I thought they would need extra peppermint extract but I didn't have any and they turned out great. Made 60 cookies. Half a cookie scoop size.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sheepdoc December 02, 2012

Very festive and pretty! I added 1/2 tsp of peppermint extract as some reviewers suggested. Rolling hot cookies in the sugar does create a pretty glaze. I've also dusted the cooled cookies with extra powdere sugar.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
blairie December 16, 2007

This is very similar to my almond snowballs, so I set the oven to 350* and the timer for 15 and they came out just fine. I added 1/2 tsp. of peppermint extract at some others' suggestions and it made them just minty enough. I also added some red sanding sugar to my confectioners sugar for rolling and it gave them a very festive look. This is a fine recipe. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pies & cakes & cookies ohmy! December 02, 2007

the icing sugar on the outside created the greatest glaze i have ever tasted definitley a great recipe to get rid of all those extra candy canses laying around after christmas although i used spearmint and vanilla mint candy canes

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Smiles3 February 21, 2007

Thanks for the recipie followed it to the tee and they were GREAT! thanks again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
boots December 17, 2006

Very pretty! Love the pink peeking through! Rita L sent these to me in the cookie swap! I am so lucky! I will be making these in the future. A little more peppermint flavor would make these even better- maybe 1/2 t peppermint extract? Yummy and pretty!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mama's Kitchen (Hope) December 22, 2005

Very tasty; just the right amount of peppermint flavor for my tastes. I used about 15 peppermint disc hard candies, crushed. Some of them spread out a bit while baking but I sort of smooshed them back into rounds after taking out of oven and they were ok, just not as pretty. I also reduced the baking time to 10 minutes. Looked great on my Xmas cookie trays. Thanks Pamela!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
flower7 December 20, 2005

Not a bad cookie, but could be improved. If I were to make again, I would add peppermint extract to increase the flavor, and DON'T bake 15-17 min at 400 - you will have burnt cookies! I baked about 10 minutes (after one toasty pan full!) Also, be careful about the amount of food color - mine are the color of raw ground beef making them look frighteningly like uncooked meatballs! Oh well - live & learn!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kx3mommy December 07, 2005

This is so much easier then forming into candy canes as I`ve made before. A nice touch for children. I rolled in sugar before and after baking!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rita~ November 21, 2005
Peppermint Snowballs