Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Holiday Central >

    Top Holiday Finger Foods

    Top Holiday Finger Foods

    Do You See What I See? #PartyBites
    28 Ultimate Holiday Desserts

    28 Ultimate Holiday Desserts

    You Saved Room For a Reason
    DIY Holiday Food Gifts

    DIY Holiday Food Gifts

    57 Homemade Gifts From The Kitchen
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Peppermint Meltaways Meltaway Cookies Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Peppermint Meltaways Meltaway Cookies

    Average Rating:

    25 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 25

    Sort by:

    • on January 31, 2010

      I clipped this recipe from a Land O'Lakes ad. These are very good - buttery and not too minty. I also think they would be good with a chocolate-mint drizzle or with other flavorings, such as lemon. I didn't find them as fragile as others; perhaps because I did make them a little smaller than called for. I agree with the poster that said there was alot of glaze and if you double the recipe you don't need to double the glaze.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2012

      I'm sorry, I made these for a Christmas party bake-off and I won't make them again unless I can find a substitute for the corn starch. The cookies look pretty and had a good amount of peppermint flavor, not too strong or weak, but you could taste the corn starch. My husband and I disliked them, the judge at the bake-off (who is a friend) didn't like them and my friend Lisa straight up said she'd only make them if there was a corn starch substitute. =(

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2012

      Well anything with real butter combined with this recipe is heavenly as far as melt in your mouth, no doubt. So delicate are the cookies you do have to be careful in moving them from cookie sheet to rack and rack to frosting/topping, for they crumble so easily. I put too many drops of food coloring in the glaze and ended up with a too pinky topping, and I'm not 100% convinced the peppermint candy doesn't make it too much of a candy over a cookie for me, but I am going back for seconds. Be sure to crush the candy well, as chunks are too overwhelming.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2009

      I'm not leaving a star review because I think that it's just a matter of taste preference. My hubby and I really didn't care for the texture. I think it was the corn starch that made it more "pasty" for us. The frosting is good and the idea is good - maybe next time I'll make it like a wedding cake, only with the mint flavor and no corn starch. Thanks for posting and it looks like everyone else really is enjoying it! Made for I Recommend Tag game.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2008

      These were very good. I guess I was expecting more of a sweeter peppermint cookie, which these definitely were minty, but not as sweet as I had expected. I doubled the cookie and glaze recipes and ended up with WAAAY too much glaze. If you're doubling, I would suggest only doubling the cookies, not the glaze.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2008

      These are amazing!!! The best cookie I have made for the holidays hands down! I gave them as gifts and everyone asked for more. Super easy to make and will make them year round!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2006

      Great cookie! Just what I needed to make as a treat for a child who can't eat chocolate, but loves sweets. This was perfect - tender, and they do just melt in your mouth.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2005

      Marg, these are so yummy! I doubled the recipe thinking to give some as presents...well, there's not enough left to give away now! I added a few drops of red food coloring to the cookie dough too and I have the prettiest little pink cookie you ever saw! They just melt in your mouth and the peppermint flavor is so refreshing and not overpowering at all. Mmmm, these will be a regular part of my Christmas baking from now on, and probably throughout the year! Thank Marg for a great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2005

      Oh Marg I knew I would be in trouble when I saw the sprinkles. I lovee sprinkles. I was amazed how these cookies melted in our mouths. Our 13 year old came down and had one in his mouth and I said how are they? He said as he had his mouth full, Mom these are good,hehe I can't wait for the holiday's to make them both ways but I can see I will have to double the recipe for sprinkles and peppermint candies. These are great, thanks for another keeper and one that will be given to everyone this holiday season.. :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2004

      My husband snatched one of the unfrosted cookies from the cooling rack and said, "Wow!" When I offered him one after I had frosted and added the crushed candy canes, he said, "This is even better!" What more do I need to say? LOL I made my cookies a bit smaller for my Christmas cookie trays. Due to the make-up of these cookies, this made them a little fragile. The awesome melt-in-your-mouth flavor made up for it, though. Thanks for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2013

      Made these tonight for Christmas because they looked delicious and festive. The dough tasted bad, which left me skeptical. As I took them out of the oven, I glanced one with my finger and it crumbled - they're soooo delicate. When I finally tried one, I really thought they tasted like butter, flour, and corn starch...because they are. The two friends with me each spit them out. We tossed the entire completed batch. Definitely will not be repeating this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2013

      I loved the glaze that went on top of the cookies, it really made it work. Although the cookie itself, my family said it was a little bit chalky, but other than that it was great. I personally love them, they are so addicting to eat!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2012

      These are wonderful! The unique texture and visual appeal add lots of bonus points. Also, I used the soft sweeter peppermint pieces rather than the hard sticky kind like are in candy canes since it went better with the airy cookie texture. They are very delicate, but with care it's easy to keep the damage minimal while handling, and it was worth it! Next time I will make less glaze and maybe try to make the cookie itself a little sweeter.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2012

      so yummy! amazing cookie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2012

      These cookies are amazing! Love the texture and the peppermint! I glazed mine with green and still added the crushed up candy canes on top. They were a big hit at the office!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2012

      Thank you so much, Marg!!! I was so excited that such an amazing recipe does not have egg in it as my 3 year old son has a severe egg and nut allergy! Often times eggless recipes are not so great. This one is amazing! Thank you from the bottom of our hearts!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2011

      Absolutely WONDERFUL!!! The first bite was good but got better the longer it was in my mouth. I would definitely recomend!!! My family has a new Christmas favorite.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2009

    • on November 21, 2009

      A little difficult to deal with because they were so fragile. They were very tasty, however.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2009

      Boy, these are really, really pretty & Christmasy!! And, the cookies are nice & tender, too! I thought with the peppermint in the cookie, frosting & garnish that the flavour would have been stronger. The only problem with these cookies is that the crushed candy gets really gooey after a day or two & the cookies stick to each other and the waxed paper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Peppermint Meltaways Meltaway Cookies

    Serving Size: 1 (30 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 24

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 149.8
     
    Calories from Fat 78
    52%
    Total Fat 8.7 g
    13%
    Saturated Fat 5.4 g
    27%
    Cholesterol 22.9 mg
    7%
    Sodium 76.8 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 17.4 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 0.2 g
    0%
    Sugars 9.8 g
    39%
    Protein 0.7 g
    1%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes