8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is pretty good. It had a distinct flavor. I think I would put the full TBSP of flavoring in next time instead of the recommended 2 tsp. It was moist and tasted pretty good. My husband liked it because it wasn't real sweet. I'll probably make it again. I like that it's low in fat/calories. Thanks for sharing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
vttrapperman November 16, 2006

I don't often bake from scratch - but this cake was easy to make. We all enjoyed it very much. I made a chocolate glaze for it from Chocolate Chip Bundt Cake With Chocolate Glaze. I put just a little less peppermint than called for - but I did not feel it was too strong, so probably I will put the full amount next time. Thanks for the great recipe, Kree!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Trisha W March 23, 2004

I have actually made this quite a few times. Now my family asks me to bring it to every family function. I'd give it ten stars if I could. P.S. If you don't have Heather's book, "Eating for IBS" , buy it. It has alot of really good recipes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
IBS challenged January 12, 2007

Really good! The applesauce makes it so moist and dense! We spread nutella on the cake instead of icing and it was delicious! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HulaHealthPrincess April 10, 2006

Well Kree I fnally got around to making Heather's cake. DH loved it and so did I. However with the icing of yours I put on the Mocha Icing, it may have been too much peppermint for my good ol acid reflux. Non the less it is as good as I imagined it would be. I am taking some into work tomorrow to share with others. Thanks Kree/Heather

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shirl (J) 831 February 06, 2006

As Trisha said this is an easy cake to make. I drizzled with chocolate icing laced with a little peppermint extract. My kids loved the cake and it packed up great for their cold lunch the next day at school. Thanks Kree!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FLYing4Me January 31, 2006

This cake is OUTSTANDING, deserving well more than 5 stars. The only thing I did differently was decrease the sugar by 1/4 cup, as I most often do, as I like cakes a little less sweet than most. I also did a little less than 1 tbsp of peppermint becasue I was using really old yet REALLY strong pepperment extract. I really can't say anything but good things about this cake. It was moist, and full of chocolate and mint flavour - one of my favourite combinations! Thanks so much Kree, this is definitely a low fat cake fit for company!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LUv 2 BaKE November 14, 2005

This was delicious--it was moist and tasted rich, rather than low fat! I followed the directions as written, except I just whisked the dry ingredients together well and skipped the sifting. It was done right at 50 minutes. I topped with your Mocha Mint Glaze (#87509) and it was very good as well. Thanks for sharing this wonderful recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GaylaJ September 02, 2005
Peppermint Fudge Cake