Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Holiday Central >

    Top Holiday Finger Foods

    Top Holiday Finger Foods

    Do You See What I See? #PartyBites
    28 Ultimate Holiday Desserts

    28 Ultimate Holiday Desserts

    You Saved Room For a Reason
    DIY Holiday Food Gifts

    DIY Holiday Food Gifts

    57 Homemade Gifts From The Kitchen
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Peppermint Christmas Cookies Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Peppermint Christmas Cookies

    Average Rating:

    27 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 27

    Sort by:

    • on December 18, 2008

      1/15/08: These cookies came out really good, but I deviated so much from the recipe that I can only give it 4 stars. First, I added some extra flour to the dough because the consistency was too mushy and wet. Then I added a whole bunch of extra peppermint extract to make the mint flavor come through. When that didn't do enough, I crushed a bunch of candy canes and mixed them into the batter. Then it was perfect! I also had to add the Hershey kisses about 2-3 minutes before the cookies came out of the oven, as opposed to putting them on in the beginning. The chocolate got all bubbley and the kisses' tops sort of burned when I put the kisses on first. Overall, a pretty good recipe - it just needs some tweaking. Thanks Pamela! UPDATE 12/18/08: I made these again and ran into the same problems as before. This time, I recorded the amounts I changed. I ended up using 2 1/2c flour, 1/4c extra sugar, and 1T + 1t peppermint extract. I also crushed 6 candy canes and mixed them into the dough. Also had to refrigerate the dough before baking so the cookies didn't spread into flattened blobs. Still tastes great though!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2010

      12/22/10: I made these cookies yesterday, and they are amazing!! I have to agree with CherryRed because I had to make a lot of adjustments from the original recipe. The dough as written comes out very sticky. I added more flour and some more powdered sugar as well. I also crushed candy canes and added them to the batter. I also refrigerated the dough to let it firm up. Bottom line, this is a good base recipe and with some tweaking can make some fabulous cookies.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2007

      I made this recipe both as it is and with the suggestions other reviews have offered, and both times these cookies turned out flavorless. If you can get passed one bite, the chocolate is the only redeeming taste to this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2007

      These were so yummy, I didn't put in any peppermint extract and they were still really good. I also used caramel filled kisses!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2007

      I followed the comments given by other people, after first making the dough as stated, and you definitely need to add the extra 1/4-1/2 cup for flour. Other than that, I thought that they were great! I think that they are a very festive and beautiful cookie, tasting delish as well! Thanks for the great recipe! Will be making again, since the first batch "disappeared" according to my husband!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2007

      I can't rate this with stars since I changed it quite a bit. I divided the dough in half and used almond extract for one half and hazelnut extract for the other half. I omitted the peppermint & vanilla extracts. That being said, I wanted to comment on the dough. I took the cue from Chef Nadia NYC and used an additional 1/4 c. flour and 1/4 c. powdered sugar. I the chilled the dough for an hour or two. The resulting cookies kept their shape very nicely in the oven - didn't spread out to far at all. I baked them 8 minutes, then topped with a chocolate star and baked another 2-3 minutes. I got over 3 dozen cookies in all. This recipe is a great springboard for many variations to the traditional peanut butter star cookies that are on every cookie platter at the holidays - I like having something different.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2007

      These were OK. I should have heeded the advise of other users and added more flour. They were WAY goopy and spread out A LOT when the were baking. The peppermint flavor was pretty weak. Not sure I would make these again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2007

      Made these last night to add to the 2007 Christmas cookie tray. Like others have mentioned, be prepared to 'tweak' the dough. I added a good deal more flour and sugar... then the peppermint didn't come through as strongly, so I added more extract as well. When I got the dough to my liking I lightly oiled my hands to keep the dough from sticking and easily shaped the cookies. This is a great recipe for the kids to help out with during the holidays! I did enjoy the chocolate and peppermint combination.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2007

      Great cookie to make with the kids. Made it just as directed - Easy and quick. I did find that this makes a small batch (about 3 dozen small cookies). So, be sure to supersize this recipe if you need lots. Also, be sure to add the coloring in the liquid stage - yep, I forget and got quite an arm workout this morning stirring it in. For another variation, don't color the dough and roll the cookies in finely crushed peppermint sticks. Yummy. We also rolled our colored cookies in coordinating sanding sugar. They are so pretty. Thanks Pamela! We used your recipe and made 10 dozen for tonight's 4-H Christmas party.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2007

      We just made these today for our annual cookie baking for our christmas gifts and my 7 year old son had such a fun time helping me make them. I made the red cookies first in my KitchenAid mixer and made a batch of the green ones using a handheld mixer and the green batter made bigger cookies. I did need to use more flour for the green ones though. I didn't used peppermint extract, as my children don't care for it yet, so I added almond extract instead. They tasted very good and were quite easy to make.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2007

      I love these cookies. Not only are they festive but the taste is good too. I did find the first batch to be lacking in flavor so on the second I increaced the powdered sugar by 1/4 cup (may try a little more next time) and the peppermint by about a teaspoon and liked them even better. I think I'll try making another batch with the stiped peppermint kisses. I'd love to see how they'd look next to the colors. I used liquid green food coloring and a combination of paste/liquid for the red. The color is very vivid.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2006

    • on December 21, 2006

      These are good. I should have chilled the dough because it was very goopy. I did a green batch and they look so festive. Like another reviewer, I also needed more flour. I upped the amount of extract too, because of another review saying they lacked flavor. Overall, they ARE pretty and very simple, but not remarkable.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2006

      These are wonderful cookies. My DH, who does NOT like chocolate and mint combos in general said, "Those cookies taste like Christmas!" I made one batch of each color-and did end up adding an additional 1/4 cup of flour. This recipe is definitely a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2006

      I made them for a cookie exchange. They look great and taste awesome. Very Easy to make.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2006

      I made these last year for my Christmas baskets and they were a BIG hit. Not to mention I couldn't get enough of them. Great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2006

      I made these twice to make sure I remembered the sugar, but I couldn't get them sweet. They taste like the dough you use to make ornaments. Sorry

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2005

      These are so good!! I really loved them, I loved the fact they are mint and not too minty. These do freeze quite well!! I made them for my holiday baskets and did the food coloring trick. TOOO fun. THanks for posting another fabulous recipe!!! Karen

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2005

      Thanks pam for a great recipe. I made these for our boxes I made to give out and the ones that tasted them loved them. Thanks for such a festive cookie. I put some with hugs in them and caramel kisses too.. Thanks for a great recipe. :) faith58

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2005

      I made these last year and they were a hit. I've been getting requests for them so I've already baked some for this Christmas.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Peppermint Christmas Cookies

    Serving Size: 1 (22 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 30

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 106.1
     
    Calories from Fat 55
    52%
    Total Fat 6.1 g
    9%
    Saturated Fat 3.6 g
    18%
    Cholesterol 20.2 mg
    6%
    Sodium 58.0 mg
    2%
    Total Carbohydrate 11.2 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 0.3 g
    1%
    Sugars 5.2 g
    21%
    Protein 1.3 g
    2%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes