Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Holiday Central >

    Top Holiday Finger Foods

    Top Holiday Finger Foods

    Do You See What I See? #PartyBites
    28 Ultimate Holiday Desserts

    28 Ultimate Holiday Desserts

    You Saved Room For a Reason
    DIY Holiday Food Gifts

    DIY Holiday Food Gifts

    57 Homemade Gifts From The Kitchen
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Peppermint Bark Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Peppermint Bark

    Average Rating:

    26 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 26

    Sort by:

    • on December 17, 2012

      This is the second year I've made this, so here's what I've learned. I had trouble with the layers not sticking together last year, and found mixed advice on the internet about how to fix that problem. Some said room temp is the best for the bottom layer before pouring the white, some said ice cold. I split the difference and refrigerated my bottom layer for about an hour, then let it sit on the counter while I melted the white. Everything stuck, no problems at all with layers separating. I also experimented with chocolate to see which I liked best. The smoothest melt with the best flavor was regular old Kroger brand "private selection" white chocolate chips--I'd read someone else mention those, but was skeptical. They were by far the best of the bunch. Also tried Tollhouse white chips, which were second best, and the worst was Ghiradelli. They did not melt smoothly, and their flavor was nowhere near as nice as the cheaper chocolates, surprisingly enough. I'll put it this way, I thought the difference in the Ghiradelli quality and flavor was enough that I didn't mix the different batches when bundling these up for gifts. I thought the recipients would taste the difference as they ate their way through the bag. It's not that the Ghiradelli pieces taste bad, they're just not as nice as the others. I did use the chips and not the baking squares, so that could make a difference. I used Kroger's private selection semi sweet chips for the bottom on all layers, and regular old candy canes for the tops. I took some more internet advice and tried mixing in the dusty over-crushed bits of candy cane into the white chocolate of one batch, in lieu of using the peppermint extract, and the results were good. I don't have a preference for using that method over using the extract; both batches were good. I would like to try using peppermint oil instead of extract to see if that makes a difference, but the extract worked just fine. Oh, I will also say that last year I used foil to line my pan and had trouble with it sticking to the chocolate. This time I used parchment, cut to fit the bottom of the pan, no overhang. I sprayed the edges with a tiny bit of cooking spray, which I then rubbed all over the parchment with a paper towel. So it was just barely there, and not enough to show up on the candy, but I had no sticking whatsoever. I made three batches using 12 oz of semi sweet chips and 24 oz of white in each batch, and about 8-10 candy canes on each (depending on how much you crush them), and that made enough to make 30 little candy bags with 10-12 pieces each, with the pieces being cut all crazy shapes, however I can get it to break! Overall, I had big improvements over last year's methods, and everyone loves getting this stuff for Christmas. It's delicious! Hope my trial and error helps you make some of your own!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2011

      Hi, I made this recipe as stated. It was excellent and so easy. The only advice I would add, is to work quickly when putting on the candies. The white chocolate sets up very fast. It was excellent and very pretty for the holiday. Linda

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2012

      Awesome! I used bakers white premium chocolate squares.and I microwaved my white chocolate versus using a double broiler..it worked wonderful. Microwave one minute ...stir..microwave 30 sec stir and its melted nice and creamy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2011

      Good bark recipe. I think next time I try this I am going to melt the chocolate chips in a double broiler and pour in the baking pan. By melting in the oven, it didn't quite melt evenly and due to a hot spot, a part got burnt. Also, next time I make it, I think I will add some of the crushed peppermint candies to the melted white chocolate before I pour over the milk chocolate. This makes a wonderful holiday treat, can't wait to make again. Thanks cookiedog for a delicious recipe. Made for Let's P-A-R-T-Y! ~~2011~~ tag game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2009

      12 normal candy canes crushed made about 1 cup. Had trouble with the layers wanting to separate when cutting. It worked out better when we started cutting larger pieces first, then cut those smaller pieces into the sizes we wanted. Using a hot knife seemed to help too. Don't over-do the peppermint extract or everytime you kiss your spouse they'll ask if you just brushed your teeth!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2012

      I found another much easier recipe and the family liked it better....1 C. dark chocolate chips...2 C.white chocolate chips 6-8 candy canes. place parchment on sheet..spray lightly...crush canes..melt dark in microwave spread on parchment evenly..refrigerate 15 mins...melt white spread over choc. while still warm lightly press crushed candy canes on top refrigerate 15 mins. more or till harder...turned out good

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2010

      OMG! I made a 1/2 batch - in order to try it out for holiday gifts. This is unbelievable. My chocolate layer did blend into the white -- so I probably didn't let the white chocolate "cool" long enough before putting on top of refrigerated semi-sweet chocolate. Regardless, this is absolutely fabulous! I hope to make a couple of batches and share among 6 co-workers along with a few other little items in a small gift basket -- as a thrifty holiday gift. Thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2010

      Fantastic recipe - easy to make, simple ingredients, great results. What could be better? I used the Kroger brand white chips, melted nicely. I mashed up extra candy canes to total almost a cup and mixed the smallest bits/powder into the white chocolate before spreading it on the dark chocolate layer, then pressed the bigger chunks into the top of the white chocolate.

      My kids love this and have taken it in their lunches to school. All their friends who have tried it want the recipe. I'm sending them here. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2010

      Holy amazing!!! As a lover of all things mint chocolate, this is wonderful, without being overwhelmingly minty. I used to make a layered mint and chocolate fudge at Christmastime, which is very good, but this is not only easier, but prettier and better tasting. Crushed candy canes (instead of starlight mints) is a must, as candy canes have that distinct sweeter, mellower peppermint flavor that compliments the bark so well. So easy to make, too. Thanks for the great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2010

      William Sonoma's Bark is my favorite, but very expensive at $29 a tin. This was surprisingly easy to make and tasted exactly like the original! Never again will I pay so much for my Xmas habit. And I can say its homemade. Thanks to you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2014

      We were given a tin of Williams and Sonoma peppermint bark last year and it was AMAZING. So we decided to make our own, and we've made probably a dozen batches this year and last, for ourselves and gifts. I've had no problems at all with this recipe and it's exactly like Williams and Sonoma, and so much cheaper. I change one thing: I double the peppermint extract to 1tsp rather than 1/2. I use nestle toll house semi sweet and white chocolate chips. I tried ghiardhelli white chocolate chips once and they were DISGUSTING.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2014

      Fantastic and easy recipe - big party hit!. I recommend doubling the peppermint extract. The only hard part is cutting the darn thing. It's important to smooth the bottom layer as much as possible, since it tends to crack when cutting along the swirls. Also, a hint for those complaining about melting white chocolate: if it is not melting smoothly, add a little canola oil. Thank you for posting this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2014

      Great presentation and what a treat!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2013

      I am rating this a 5 with some modifications. This provided a tasty and much cheaper alternative to buying peppermint bark from Harry & David, William Sonoma or Trader Joe's. I used store brand chips for the semi-sweet chocolate but had to use Nestle white chips since they were the only ones available. I used a regular cookie sheet (double the size suggested) and doubled the recipe. After a few failed efforts with layer adhesiveness and seizing of the white chocolate I recommend the following:<br/>1. Place 12 candy canes into a zip-lock freezer bag and pound with a mallet until the desired size is obtained. I separated these pieces and kept the fine ground candy cane pieces separately.<br/>2. Cover the cookie sheet with foil. Lightly coat with PAM (or butter).<br/>3. Pre-heat oven to 250F. Pour the semi-sweet chocolate into an evenly spread layer and put in oven for 5 minutes.<br/>4. Spread evenly with a butter knife and let sit out to cool at room temperature.<br/>5. When the semi-sweet chocolate has just set start on the white chocolate part of the recipe. <br/>6. Put the white chocolate chips into a microwave-safe bowl and microwave at 15 sec intervals, stirring thoroughly with a rubber spatula after each time. When it starts to thin mix in the peppermint extract and fine peppermint that is saved from step #1.<br/>7. Microwave at intervals until it is both warm to the touch and thin. Pour over the semi-sweet layer and spread quickly and evenly with the spatula.<br/>8. Sprinkle on the peppermint chunks immediately and press into the white layer.<br/>9. Let sit at room temperature until set. Place in the refrigerator to cool prior to breaking.<br/><br/>I have read reviews about melting white chocolate and getting the layers to stick. I found that this is the best way to achieve both. Hope this helps! Enjoy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2012

      Super easy and super delicioius! Use mini chips for the bottom layer and they melt and spread very easily. Just had to make a second batch as the first one dissappeared FAST!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2011

      Could someone please give me an idea of what chocolate chips (or good baking bars) to buy? Ideally, they won't be so expensive! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2010

      I don't even like peppermint bark but LOVED this. My 7 year old help me make it. It was super easy. I did forget to put the peppermint oil in but it still turned out OK when I crushed more candy canes into powder and sprinkled on top. I took it to work and it was a hit. It's going to be a tradition.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2010

      Excellent! I used semi-sweet chips and can't wait to try dark chocolate next time! Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2010

      I made this for Christmas of '09 and it was AMAZING. Creamy, minty, refreshing, and chocolaty all mixed together. I would eat this year-round. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2010

      Fantastic!!!! I followed the recipe to the letter twice and it came out just wonderful. I think I will be making this one every year!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Peppermint Bark

    Serving Size: 1 (796 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 2043.0
     
    Calories from Fat 1114
    54%
    Total Fat 123.8 g
    190%
    Saturated Fat 74.2 g
    371%
    Cholesterol 47.6 mg
    15%
    Sodium 223.1 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 243.3 g
    81%
    Dietary Fiber 10.4 g
    41%
    Sugars 226.7 g
    907%
    Protein 20.4 g
    40%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    peppermint candies

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes