Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Peppered Filet Mignon With Mushroom Wine Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Peppered Filet Mignon With Mushroom Wine Sauce

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on October 05, 2009

      Unbelievably delicious!!!!!!! ...take my word for it...it is divine! Thanks so much!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2002

      Not worth all the effort, it took me 45 minutes just to make the sauce & it was OK, I expected WOW from Dawn's description. She must not have ever been to a real 5 star restaurant!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2013

      Made this for Valentine's Day for my hubby - was really delicious. I wasn't wild about the sauce on it's own and worried it wouldn't be good but matched with the filet, it was better than any we've had in a restaurant! Paired with boiled baby potatoes and asparagus. Mmmm!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2012

      Dawn, I signed up just to tell you how great this recipe is. It's the best and one of the easiet filet mignon recipes I've ever made. I was hesitate to try it without a grill to cook the meat on since that's about the only way I like my steaks cooked. Only thing I changed was I added a 2x more tomato paste - only because I like tomato-ey flavors, briefly cooked a little minced garlic with the steaks, then quickly removed the garlic and added to the sauce (before it burned), and added some steak drippings - I used olive oil and butter -to the sauce when the steaks were done. Awesomely good. Thanks for sharing. I hope you'll post more of your recipes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2012

      Oh Yum! Did this with beef tenderloin steaks done on the bbq. I used a good quality red wine vinegar instead of balsamic as it is less sweet. Used one of our favourite dry red wines - best tip is to use a wine you'd be happy to drink. This is a very fast & easy recipe to whip up yet one that will be sure to impress guests.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2012

      I made this recipe for my DH for Valentine's Day and we both loved it. I couldn't find shitake mushrooms so I just used brown mushrooms. It was still delicious and very easy. Will definitley make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2012

      Oh...My....GOSH!!! This was delicious! You don't need a lot on the Filet - the flavor is so concentrated...but explosive! I WILL make this dish again and again...wouldn't change a thing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2009

      This was excellant! I had a beef tenderloin that I wanted to roast and was looking for a nice sauce to serve with it. I will definitely be making this again and again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2009

      After getting Australian filet mignon at the grocery store for $2.99/pound (and no, that's not a typo...it's pre-Father's Day weekend!!) I decided to search for filet recipes. This was outstanding. I can't even believe that it's even Weight Watchers-friendly (6 points, using a 5-oz. filet, for those of you who are interested). Definitely make the sauce first, and let it sit while you make the steaks. The flavor only improves upon sitting on low heat. I also used a slight bit less mustard than called for. I think that any more might overwhelm the flavor and have it taste like a mustard sauce, than simply add to the overall good flavor. I cooked the wine and balsamic vinegar until almost syrupy, when a spoon drawn through it creates a separation. That definitely concentrated the flavors. Plus I used a VERY good quality balsamic vinegar and cabernet sauvignon, both with bold flavors. I did pan-sear my filet for about 3.5 minutes on each side, but it was very thick so I needed to sear the edges as well. I love my beef rare, but needed to ensure that it was more than raw on the inside, so toward the end I placed a lid over it to cook it a tad bit more. Also didn't salt it until just prior to taking it out of the pan, then tented it and let it rest for 5 minutes. Plated it over the mushroom sauce and it was perfectly cooked, nice and rare. Served it with roasted cauliflower (done with roasted garlic, then tossed with capers, fresh herbs more good balsamic). Fantastic dinner! THANK YOU!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2009

      WOWWOWWOW. I'm thinking I should downgrade all my other 5 star ratings so I can give this an exceptional rating. The steak became just a carrier for the sauce, it was that good, and I even forgot the mustard. Not being a fan of the yellow stuff it was probably my subconscious talking, but even the hubby said the sauce was awesome. Praise indeed!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2009

      great sauce, great steak great dinner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2008

      I was disappointed with this sauce. All I could taste was the vinegar and it took quite a bit of doctoring to make it to where I could eat it. I guess its just not for our tastes. Thanks anyways!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2007

      I made this tonight, it was easy and delicious. My husband loves sauce on his food, so it was a hit at my dinner table.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2004

      Yo, this was good!! Doesn't matter how you cook your filet, the sauce makes this dish. I BBQ my filet and used a nice CA red wine in the sauce. Jody Puentes' review is wack like her cooking skills. It's not what you expected cause you used wine from a box. And 45 minutes to make the sauce?? It probably took you 45 minutes to read the recipe!! HAHA, great post Dawn. Booyah Kasha!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2004

      I made this last night for myself and my boyfriend...mind you, we eat out alot...this was wonderful!!! It only took about 20 minuetes total to make my entire meal. The sauce was amazing. I will never pay for this meal at a restraunt again. It was also pretty cheap for as elegant as this meal turned out to be.This is definatly a keeper!!!Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Peppered Filet Mignon With Mushroom Wine Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (497 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 59.8
     
    Calories from Fat 2
    66%
    Total Fat 0.3 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 563.6 mg
    23%
    Total Carbohydrate 9.6 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 1.1 g
    4%
    Sugars 2.0 g
    8%
    Protein 1.8 g
    3%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    filet mignon steaks

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites