12 Reviews

This was wonderful!!! I thought maybe it would be bland, but it wasn't. Soooo good. I made it with the grilled onion option. Nice. I will definitely make again. Made for ZWT.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charmie777 August 13, 2012

Going through some of my recipes I noticed I didn't review this...Wonderful! DH couldn't stop eating. I used the mushrooms and the onions because we love both! This recipe was so easy and just plain good comfort food. Thank you for submitting.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mama smurf January 03, 2011

Gailanng- I was looking for a Salsbury Staek recipe for severl days and you became a teamate. What a great suprise to find you have the perfect recipe. Simple to make and I had all ingredients on hand. I scored a sale at the store for ground sirloin last week and your recipe fit perfect. I did use onions as opposed to mushrooms (PP). I used homemade beef broth to make the sauce, and let me tell you this is a super duper definite keeper! My FIL used to make this all the time but I never got his recipe and now I do not need it as I have yours. Excellent warm and comforting minus the additives of the sotre bought. DH and I ate this with fresh homemade italian bread, smashed taters, brocolli, and a salad. Dessert- forget about it we were stuffed. YUMMY! Ate this when DH had to stay home for the blizzard last week. Smells in the house were fantatic!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef1MOM-Connie December 18, 2010

This is comfort food at it's best, The only thing I changed at all was to make a half amount of the gravy and that was a mistake. You really do need the the 2 cups to have enough to go around on the big burgers and the spuds. I went with the mushroom option and they were delicious. The better quality meat cut really makes a difference. Don't let the time scare you off, it's not heavy labor at all. Just scrumptious Gail, thanks for sharing it. :D

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Annacia April 25, 2010

Enjoyed by my family. Everyone gave it a 5. Made the onion gravy with it. Thank You. Made for ZWT6 Family Picks. No-Nonsense Nibblers

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MomLuvs6 June 30, 2010

This is outstanding. It is perfectly season for our tastes. I went easy on the peppercorn. I used garlic powder cuz I was lazy. I caramelized both red onions & mushrooms. Just delicious. It's a keeper and all the other recipes I have tried have been tossed! Thanks bunch, gailanng!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chicagoland Chef du Jour January 09, 2013

Very good, GailAnn! The sauce was the perfect consistency, the cook times were spot on! Thanks for posting this. I have been looking for a recipe for this dish, now I have one!:)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pammyowl August 17, 2012

wow oh wow this is good . made onion gravy and did more than i needed as i know there are some other recipes that use grilled onion and this way i only have to do it once . great recipe just ground pepper on the top and bottom worked for me try this its good zaar world tour 8

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dienia B. August 14, 2012

I am giving this 2 stars, because the gravy with the mushrooms (Crimini) was outstanding, because that's all we could eat. The meat was so peppery, that we could hardly swallow it, and we do like spice. However this was over the top. I am going to try and slice off the outside of the patties and crumble up whats left into the sauce. Otherwise we have wasted $ 5.00 worth of meat. Did the other reviewers realy use 2 T of crushed peppercorns?

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Koechin (Chef) January 16, 2011

This was superb!! Loved it! The gravy was really special. Even my DD who is not a big "meat easter" loved this!! I went with the "onion-only" option. Thanks so much- made for ZWT6 and the Xtra Hot Dishes-

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kellychris June 26, 2010
Peppercorn Salisbury Steak Deluxe