Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Pepper Steak With Rice Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Pepper Steak With Rice

    Average Rating:

    47 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 47

    Sort by:

    • on April 20, 2002

      This is a really good recipe! Of course, I changed it just a little, lol... I added chopped regular onion to it because they give a lot of flavor, (but kept the green onion tops too), also added 1/4 tsp. of ginger, and after tasting, 2 tsps. sugar to the sauce portion because I like my pepper steak to have a little zing to it. We had the neighbors over to dinner, and there wasn't any left over. Thanks for the recipe, bert! :o)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2002

      Wonderful!!We all wanted more if this!!!Steak was tender and juicy.Sauce thickend up just perfect!!Instead of cutting into strips I left the steaks whole,I also used teryaki sauce for the soy sauce!!Great meal,I will make this again soon!Thanks a million!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2002

      bert, this was wonderful! I tried to stick to the recipe, but got carried away! Threw in a sliced red pepper and a dab of hoisin sauce. Absolutely delicious! Thanks, from me and my full stomach!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2002

      I tried this tonight. Easy and excellent. Of course, I can't help "adding" to any recipe I try, so I threew in a dash of ginger and a splash or red wine....fabulous. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2002

      This was excellent!!! I used a yellow onion instead of the green onion and I substituted a yellow pepper for one of the green. I followed everything else to the T. The broth thickened up just right and the addition of the tomato was a nice added touch. Even my six-year old, who thinks he should eat cereal three times a day, liked this meal. This is such a simple meal to make and it will be on our regular menu from now on.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2011

      I have been making this for a while now, and my whole family (especially my step dad) loves it. I've made a few changes, like adding more onions and green peppers, 1/2 cup more beef broth and a bit more cornstarch. I also like to add a little worcestershire sauce. I think the tomatoes make the sauce. In my house this definitely isn't 8 servings.....more like 4. Thanks so much for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2009

      This is a simple dish for starter cooks I think. Also kids will like this dish because the flavor is simple and not complex. However, the adults might feel that it lacks oommph. To make it tastes better, I added 1/4 teaspoon of crushed pepper, 2 tablespoons of oyster sauce, 1/2 tablespoon of grated ginger to the sauce. I also used 1 green and 1 red pepper to make it pretty. Thank you for the recipe anyway.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2002

      Excellent...the sauce is really yummy. I will try another type of beef. Used round steak but I didn't think it was tender enough, didn't stop my husband and son from finishing this dish. I used 3 beef bouillons with 1 1/2 c. of water. Definitely will be a favorite in this kitchen!! Thanks for sharing this recipe!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2002

      This is awesome! The sauce is absolutly perfect. I omitted the tomatoes and peppers and used a 16 0z. bag of frozen stir fry veggies added the last 20 minutes of cook time. Very easy and my significant other said its a keeper and the only response I ever get out of him is "its fine." Will be a permanent recipe in our house! Thanks for the great recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2002

      Wow, this was great! We had an abundance of tomatoes and peppers from our garden and this was a perfect use for them....I did use teryaki sauce because that's what I had and I added a little ginger like some of the others ( I don't really know why....). We had it two nights in a row. Thanks for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2013

      Yummy and very easy! I used a little more than a pound of cube steak. Very tender, lots of flavor with simple ingredients. So tender the meat fell apart so next time I'll cut in slightly larger pieces. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2012

      This turned out great and it was easy to make. I used low sodium beef broth and low sodium soy sauce. The following day I threw in some cooked broccoli just to stretch it enough for lunch for myself. The broccoli was a nice addition too. Thank you for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2012

      I made this today for my family for the holiday, because we wanted something different and everyone from ages 2yrs - 51yrs, loved it. Not one complaint. Will be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2010

      Very good basic recipe for a pepper steak. I did jazz it up by adding mushrooms, red and yellow peppers and some ginger paste, along with more fresh garlic. Rather than green onions, I used large slices of white onion and small halved cherry tomatoes from the garden. Healthy and simple to put together!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2010

      YUM! My Grandma would make a similar recipe (she used little cans of gravy though). This was almost as good as hers. I like that even though there is soy sauce, it doesn't taste Asian. Served with brown rice. Leftovers heat up nicely. Gravy thickens to a desirable consistency. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2010

      So easy and delicious. I substituted 1/2 tsp cayenne pepper for paprika, white onion chopped in wedges instead of green, and halved the soy sauce (4 tbsp seemed like an awful lot). Loved the result. Definitely adding this one to my regular repertoire.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2010

      This was oh so good! DH loved it! Next time I will add a bit more soy sauce as we really liked the flavor, but it is great as is! Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2010

      Made this tonight for dinner and my husband and I loved it! I made it just as stated except I used 2 yellow onions in place of the green onions. It was still excellent. I'll be making this again for sure. Thanks Bert!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2009

      Super simple and delicious! I used skirt steak and it turned out wonderful!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2009

      I wanted to love this dish but in my opinion it was just ok. I did add mushroms to it just for some extra veggies but still didnt love it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Pepper Steak With Rice

    Serving Size: 1 (226 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 153.9
     
    Calories from Fat 30
    19%
    Total Fat 3.4 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 1.9 g
    9%
    Cholesterol 7.6 mg
    2%
    Sodium 701.7 mg
    29%
    Total Carbohydrate 27.0 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 1.9 g
    7%
    Sugars 2.4 g
    9%
    Protein 4.2 g
    8%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    lean round steak

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites