Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Pepparkakor - Traditional Scandinavian Sugar and Spice Cookies Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Pepparkakor - Traditional Scandinavian Sugar and Spice Cookies

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on November 08, 2009

      Terrific flavor, awesome texture! I used parchment paper so didn't grease my pan or sugar the drops of dough. I also used a 3/4-inch cookie scoop. We got 140 cookies!!! Thank you! These are great! Update May 18, 2008: We have taken these to two different dinner parties and none were left, everyone loves them and wants the recipe! Thankyou! UPDATE: I can't make enough of these or eat enough of them!! Neither can my kids. This is our favorite!! Thanks.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2008

      My husband's mother used to make a Swedish rolled pepparkakor cookie, and the flavor of these are much, much better. Delicate and crispy on the outside, scrumptious on the inside. Perfect to serve to friends with that cup of tea. The recipe is perfect as is, I made no changes.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2008

      These taste just like the pepparkakor my grandma used to make. I added a little extra cloves and ginger and a tiny bit of nutmeg. They turned out great.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2013

      I had to make these for a project of mine. And I forgot to rill them in sugar... well, they turned out very nice still! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2011

      Great! I love spice cookies and these were just right. For a little added zip, I made orange scented sugar to roll them in, and I recommend it! (Zest an orange, combine zest with 1.5 cups sugar in container, cover, and shake until well combined!)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2010

      So good. Love the intense spice flavours. Made this multiple times through the holidays last year. Be careful not to overcook them: they get really solid! (But still good for dunking when solid: they didn't go to waste.) Thank-you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2009

      They are just perfect!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2008

      Nice flavor, but not quite as spicy as I wanted. Might add some more ginger next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2007

    • on December 18, 2006

      Nice recipe, thank you! Very good and chewy and they are still great a week later! My only problem was that the ginger seemed a little overpowering, but that may have been my fault, I was kind of in a rush when making them. A very pretty color but I warn you to not overbake them as I did on a few trays! Thanks again. These reminded me of gingersnaps.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2006

      Absolutely perfect - little crunchy on the outside, chewy in the middle. Very flavorful, but light. My daughter is doing a report on Christmas in Sweden & dressing as the eldest daughter on St. Lucia's Day and will serve these to her 2nd grade class. Thank you so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2006

      These are excellent cookies! I was looking for a recipe similar to the Nyaker's gingersnaps. These are soft and chewy, but have a very similar flavor. I made a half batch this time, but am already planning to make more for Christmas!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2006

      A half-batch yielded nearly three dozen tender, chewy, and very flavorsome cookies that my entire family really liked. I'll definitely be making these again ~ Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2006

      Great molasses cookie! This recipe made a gob of cookies...could easily be halved.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Pepparkakor - Traditional Scandinavian Sugar and Spice Cookies

    Serving Size: 1 (22 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 60

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 87.6
     
    Calories from Fat 23
    26%
    Total Fat 2.5 g
    3%
    Saturated Fat 1.5 g
    7%
    Cholesterol 12.3 mg
    4%
    Sodium 85.3 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 15.2 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 0.2 g
    1%
    Sugars 8.2 g
    33%
    Protein 1.1 g
    2%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites