Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Penuche Fudge Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Penuche Fudge

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on December 08, 2002

      Oh my God!! I have searched high and low for a recipe that was like my Grammy's and I have found it. This was easy to make and so amazing to eat. I put it on my cookie tray for a bit of a variation this year. You brought me back to my childhood. Thank you for the recipe!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2008

      I loved the flavor. My only problem was that the penuche never set. I beat it for an hour.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2007

      The taste of this penuche is very good. However, my fudge was so crumbly that I couldn't cut it. It just fell apart. I know its something I've done and will try this recipe again. I wanted to include these in my holiday trays but somehow I messed thing up, will try again next year. But as I said before, the taste was spot on like I remember g'mas being like. Thank you for posting, its the recipe I want now I just need to perfect it......Stephanie

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2007

      Sorry but I followed the instructions to the letter but my first batch of fudge came out "sugarery". What am I doing wrong? Up to softball, down to 110 w/o stirring and then stiring. Help! I know I am missing something

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2006

      This is really good, it's just like fudge is supposed to be! It's actually the first time I've made proper fudge, so I think it is a testiment to the quality of this recipe that the fudge turned out perfect! The directions were very clear, and covered all of the important points (such as leaving the fudge to cool to 110F before stirring - I have read in several places that this is a crucial step in making good fudge). Only thing I did differently was not adding pecans (I was making a selection of sweets to give as gifts, and 2 others were already nutty). The stirring once it has cooled is hard work, so try to have someone with strong arms on hand to do that bit! Also, make sure you add the vanilla very quickly as it rapidly started to set once I'd added it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2005

      Wahey! I Got fudge! I've tried so many times to make fudge without success (before I bought my cooking thermometer) and this made a terrific tasting fudge. Wonderfully creamy and with a marvellous, slightly crumbly texture that just melts on your tongue as it gets moistened. Absolutely perfect! I used brown demarara sugar and white granulated as it was what I had. Also real vanilla essence. I took on board other review comments & as I prefer fudge not to be soft, doughy & chewy I heated to soft ball and kept it there or even a whisker over before removing from heat and putting in a prepared sink with an inch of cold water to stand for a good ten minutes for thermomenter to drop to 110. Other tip's I've picked up from various recipes I studied before making this were: I buttered sides of saucepan before starting, and buttered baking tray, foil-lined it then buttered foil. I SO wanted THIS fudge to work! Aparently it's mega important to heat to soft ball very slowly, over 10 ten minutes or so. Then, when cooling, cool without disturbing at all until it drops to 110F then be ready for a shock - it's very thick and very hard to stir. Absolutely the instant it loses it's gloss, get it into the pan to set, fast. Also mine got a bit burnt on the bottom. Oh yes... I left out the nuts - I wanted plain fudge and don't like pecans much anyway. Should have stirred a bit more it seems while heating to soft ball stage. Good instructions and great recipe. Thanks Lennie - will be making this often :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2004

      GREAT taste, better than any penuche fudge I've had in the past. As Ranikabani states, this is softer than the penuche I have had in the past, but is melt in your mouth wonderful. The only thing I'd change is that I suggest you set this up in an 8" square baking pan to make the fudge just a bit thicker. Wonderful!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2004

      I was looking for a recipe for Caribbean fudge and this was very similar to it. I found that the texture was softer than what I was looking for but it was quite good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Penuche Fudge

    Serving Size: 1 (75 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 16

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 262.0
     
    Calories from Fat 45
    17%
    Total Fat 5.0 g
    7%
    Saturated Fat 1.8 g
    9%
    Cholesterol 8.3 mg
    2%
    Sodium 115.7 mg
    4%
    Total Carbohydrate 54.7 g
    18%
    Dietary Fiber 0.3 g
    1%
    Sugars 52.3 g
    209%
    Protein 1.4 g
    2%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites