77 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I made this last night and was plesantly surprised with the outcome. The sauce was very good wtihout the cream but I enjoyed the richness that it added. I also added a few tablespoons of grated romano cheese to the sauce and lots of extra garlic. I have lots of leftovers since there are only two of us but that is okay, I'll eat them for lunch today! Thanks for posting!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Malriah October 11, 2003

I used the concept of this recipe and came up with a really nice pasta sauce. My only comment would be to use more garlic. Also....did you know that you can use leftover whipped cream? I did not have enough cream, so I used some canned whipped cream and.... (gosh, darn!!!) didn't it work!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Abby Girl May 28, 2010

The herb and spice measurements are perfect, I added 2cups sliced mushrooms and used half and half cream and used three quarters of a cup for the cream substitution to reduce the calories. I also cooked the noodles el dente and added them to the sauce for the last 15 minutes. Very tasty!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gary75 April 14, 2010

57 people can't be wrong!! ;) Loved this - made this for a quick weeknight dinner and everybody enjoyed it! Didn't use whipping cream - used low-fat milk - sure it's even tastier with real whipping cream!! Thanks Lucy! :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Redsie June 23, 2008

This was delicious - I was looking for a sauce for a special meal, but b/c of time constraints, it needed to be very easy and fast. This hit the mark! It's a nice, simple red sauce, and adding the cream makes for a nice finishing touch. The sauce would be great w/o it, but the cream really adds a smoothness and richness to make it feel just a bit more like a special meal type of dish - a notch up from the every day marinara. Everybody really enjoyed it. I didn't do much different - but I did use loads of fresh basil, instead of dried, and threw in a couple extra cloves of garlic and some red pepper flakes. I also added some freshly grated Parmesan at the end. This paired very nicely w/ "Italian Baked Salmon" (Italian Baked Salmon), some homemade Italian bread, and steamed broccoli. A real winner of a meal! My only complaint is very minor - it's probably just me - but I didn't care for the pasta leftovers the next day... loved it the first, not so much the 2nd. Unsure why - I normally love leftover pasta. But nonetheless, this is a great sauce!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Heath*J December 30, 2007

This is exactly what I was looking for the other night. I added about 1/4 t of red pepper flakes because I like a little heat and I even splurged and used whipping cream (I usually use half and half). Good simple tasty pasta. It is so easy to make sauce, I hate buying it from a jar and this was fantastic with the cream added! For me this was probably enough sauce for 1 lb of penne but I guess it depends how saucy you like your pasta.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jules127 October 04, 2007

I made this for my family and they loved it! The leftovers got eaten up by the next night. I substituted gourmet tomato sauce with basil and oregano for the tomatoes, sugar, and spices. It turned out wonderfully and had a nice Italian flavor.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The Tiny Chef August 14, 2007

I'm so glad I came across this. This is easily one of the best pasta dishes I have ever made. The only change I made was using thyme instead of oregano and that was only b/c I realized I didn't have any oregano. :) Yummy!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amber09 September 24, 2003

Oh yeah! The critics loved it! I made a few minor changes - I had bought some "penette" - little penne, so I used 1 can petite diced tomatoes. The rest according to the recipe, until I tasted it after I added the cream. Added a little more cream, a little more oregano, a chicken boullion cube, and a little Parmesan. It passed all taste tests here! My idea is to make it as a main course some night with bread and a salad. Tonight it was BBQ chicken and freash cantelope. THANKS TO YOU!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HEP MEP August 17, 2003

Very good flavor, easy to make. I used onion powder instead of onions and let it brown a bit for a roasted onion flavor. In the future I think I'll use crushed tomatoes instead of diced ones.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MadCatKim August 03, 2003
Penne with Tomato Herb Cream Sauce