Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Penne with Tomato Herb Cream Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Penne with Tomato Herb Cream Sauce

    Average Rating:

    77 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 77

    Sort by:

    • on October 11, 2003

      I made this last night and was plesantly surprised with the outcome. The sauce was very good wtihout the cream but I enjoyed the richness that it added. I also added a few tablespoons of grated romano cheese to the sauce and lots of extra garlic. I have lots of leftovers since there are only two of us but that is okay, I'll eat them for lunch today! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2010

      I used the concept of this recipe and came up with a really nice pasta sauce. My only comment would be to use more garlic. Also....did you know that you can use leftover whipped cream? I did not have enough cream, so I used some canned whipped cream and.... (gosh, darn!!!) didn't it work!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2010

      The herb and spice measurements are perfect, I added 2cups sliced mushrooms and used half and half cream and used three quarters of a cup for the cream substitution to reduce the calories. I also cooked the noodles el dente and added them to the sauce for the last 15 minutes. Very tasty!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2008

      57 people can't be wrong!! ;) Loved this - made this for a quick weeknight dinner and everybody enjoyed it! Didn't use whipping cream - used low-fat milk - sure it's even tastier with real whipping cream!! Thanks Lucy! :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2007

      This was delicious - I was looking for a sauce for a special meal, but b/c of time constraints, it needed to be very easy and fast. This hit the mark! It's a nice, simple red sauce, and adding the cream makes for a nice finishing touch. The sauce would be great w/o it, but the cream really adds a smoothness and richness to make it feel just a bit more like a special meal type of dish - a notch up from the every day marinara. Everybody really enjoyed it. I didn't do much different - but I did use loads of fresh basil, instead of dried, and threw in a couple extra cloves of garlic and some red pepper flakes. I also added some freshly grated Parmesan at the end. This paired very nicely w/ "Italian Baked Salmon" (Italian Baked Salmon), some homemade Italian bread, and steamed broccoli. A real winner of a meal! My only complaint is very minor - it's probably just me - but I didn't care for the pasta leftovers the next day... loved it the first, not so much the 2nd. Unsure why - I normally love leftover pasta. But nonetheless, this is a great sauce!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2007

      This is exactly what I was looking for the other night. I added about 1/4 t of red pepper flakes because I like a little heat and I even splurged and used whipping cream (I usually use half and half). Good simple tasty pasta. It is so easy to make sauce, I hate buying it from a jar and this was fantastic with the cream added! For me this was probably enough sauce for 1 lb of penne but I guess it depends how saucy you like your pasta.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2007

      I made this for my family and they loved it! The leftovers got eaten up by the next night. I substituted gourmet tomato sauce with basil and oregano for the tomatoes, sugar, and spices. It turned out wonderfully and had a nice Italian flavor.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2003

      I'm so glad I came across this. This is easily one of the best pasta dishes I have ever made. The only change I made was using thyme instead of oregano and that was only b/c I realized I didn't have any oregano. :) Yummy!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2003

      Oh yeah! The critics loved it! I made a few minor changes - I had bought some "penette" - little penne, so I used 1 can petite diced tomatoes. The rest according to the recipe, until I tasted it after I added the cream. Added a little more cream, a little more oregano, a chicken boullion cube, and a little Parmesan. It passed all taste tests here! My idea is to make it as a main course some night with bread and a salad. Tonight it was BBQ chicken and freash cantelope. THANKS TO YOU!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2003

      Very good flavor, easy to make. I used onion powder instead of onions and let it brown a bit for a roasted onion flavor. In the future I think I'll use crushed tomatoes instead of diced ones.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2003

      From now on I'm going to refer to this recipe as "the best pasta ever." Next time I'll use a little more garlic and salt but there's not much else I would change. GREAT RECIPE

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2013

      Wow! I prepared this recipe using fresh tomatoes (from my garden!) and doubled the recipe. The sauce was so incredible I didn't even use the cream because it was so delicious au natural. The only I change needed--being that my fresh tomatoes were so much more juicy-- I simmered for a couple of hours, but the smell was amazing the whole time! The recommended seasoning was perfect (I did use extra garlic as did other reviewers and a splash of balsalmic vinegar) and oh so delicious! Thank you soooo much for sharing! This really is an amazing recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2013

      I made this for myself one night, to use up some tomatoes I had in the fridge. It was delicious. I also cheated and added extra veggies, just some mushrooms and capsicum I also had to use up. Because I made it only for myself, I stored the extra sauce in the fridge to use the next day. My fiance however got to it first and ate it with chicken. He also thought it was delicious. Great recipe, thanks lucy k!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2012

    • on April 23, 2012

      AMAAAAZING!!! I used fresh tomatoes, didn't have an onion so I just used onion powder and I added some red pepper flakes.... but it's my FAVORITE new pasta dish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2011

      this was very good, but I need to warn you about the pasta to sauce ratio. I'd want more sauce, less pasta, some of my pasta was lacking in sauce because followed the amounts on the recipe directly.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2011

      What a wonderful, versatile recipe!! I used 1 (14.5 oz) can Italian seas tomatoes since it was just the 2 of us, but I bumped up the seasonings big time: added 1 tsp Italian seas, 1/2 tsp oregano & basil, garlic & onion powder for the minced garlic & onions. I actually simmered this, covered, and used fat free half & half for the whipping cream. Next time I may only half the amt as directed b/c I think that amt would be enough for us--personal preference. I seasoned our mini whole wheat penne w/ a little light butter, parm & oregano. I stirred in 1 tbsp grated parm cheese into the sauce at the end of cooking time, too--yes, I read through the 70 plus reviews & they were helpful! A great vegetarian meal. I think hubby would prefer this w/ turkey meatballs, tho, but he ate his whole bowl! It had a slight sweet taste that reminded me of Italian restaurants! Thanks so much for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2011

      Very good and easy too! I made this to use some leftover cream -- a great way to use it up for a very enjoyable dinner. Next time I may use a blender to make a smoother sauce but great just the way it is. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2010

      Very hearty and lite spring time dinner. Thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2010

    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Penne with Tomato Herb Cream Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (229 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 331.0
     
    Calories from Fat 119
    36%
    Total Fat 13.2 g
    20%
    Saturated Fat 5.3 g
    26%
    Cholesterol 27.1 mg
    9%
    Sodium 210.4 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 50.0 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 7.7 g
    31%
    Sugars 4.9 g
    19%
    Protein 5.7 g
    11%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes