44 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Plate-licking good. I like my pasta saucy/goopy, so I used only 1/2-3/4 lb pasta. It was enough for 2 dinner servings and 2 lunch leftovers. I like spicy, so I cooked 1/2 lb of hot italian chicken sausage. When cooking garlic, I also sauted one small finely minced onion as well. Then added the red pepper flakes, with 1/4 tsp salt, 1/4 tsp black pepper, and 1/4 tsp oregano (probably could do 1/2 oregano). I used fat-free half and half and 4 tablespoons of vodka. I had no parsley, so used about 8 leaves of fresh chopped basil. Topped with a fistful of parmesan cheese, and mixed it all up. Penne is the best because all the meaty sauce gets stuck inside. This was the first time I've had penne alla vodka, and it was great! Thanks for the delicious dinner!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pancakee May 18, 2010

This is so good. I loved the Italian sausage in this and the sauce was creamy and good flavor. We will use your recipe again, its so good. Thank you for sharing with us.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyoffour August 08, 2013

My daughter's fave dish. I used morningstar ccrumblers instead of meat since I eat kosher. It is excellent!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Funkymunky613 May 13, 2013

it was ok ,thanks

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bobybaloony November 04, 2011

Excellent dish. I added an onion and used honey garlic sausage instead (all I had on me). It turned out delicious. I am going to make another round of it but this time using hot sausage and I might add a green pepper just to change up the dish. My husband loved it. He went back for THREE bowls and joked about how "terrible" it must be and that he needed to get rid of it as soon as possible... Needless to say it is now going to be a staple in our house.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Veggie Girl Kacey July 18, 2011

Fantastic! Easy! Delish!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
msyan March 09, 2011

Top notch dish! I have made this both the hot way (hot italian sausage, pepper flakes, and a squeeze of Siracha), and the mild way (sweet italian sausage) depending on who is eating. The smell will fill the house and make everyone hungry.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mwolach March 05, 2011

I added 1/2 an onion and a garlic clove to the recipe, but otherwise made it just like written. DH has already asked for this again. I served it with a simple salad, and it was really good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CookingBlues February 21, 2011

Made for the family for Valentines Day. I added 1/2 a minced onion with the garlic, only 1/4 t. pepper flakes, used fat free half and half, used fresh basil instead of parsley, and used 1 lb. Italian sausage. Also, I only had citrus vodka and it was totally fine. Excellent finished dish. Visually pretty, stupid easy and super tasty! My 4yo and 2yo ate it up and hubby was impressed. Thank you so much for a great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CarlyJax February 15, 2011

Made with rigatoni instead of penne, this dish is known in upstate New York (where we lived for 5 years) as "Vodka Riggies." In fact, Utica, NY hosts (hosted?) an annual Vodka Riggies cook-off, and it's a great honor to win! Tonight I made it with whole-grain penne and, at several reviewers' suggestion, substituted fat-free half-and-half for the heavy cream. Once it's plated, a sprinkling of Parm will do you no harm! Finger-licking good and comes to the table in no time. Thanks for a wonderful culinary flashback!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
l'ecole December 29, 2010
Penne With Spicy Vodka Tomato Cream Sauce