Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Penne With Spicy Vodka Tomato Cream Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Penne With Spicy Vodka Tomato Cream Sauce

    Average Rating:

    44 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 44

    Sort by:

    • on May 18, 2010

      Plate-licking good. I like my pasta saucy/goopy, so I used only 1/2-3/4 lb pasta. It was enough for 2 dinner servings and 2 lunch leftovers. I like spicy, so I cooked 1/2 lb of hot italian chicken sausage. When cooking garlic, I also sauted one small finely minced onion as well. Then added the red pepper flakes, with 1/4 tsp salt, 1/4 tsp black pepper, and 1/4 tsp oregano (probably could do 1/2 oregano). I used fat-free half and half and 4 tablespoons of vodka. I had no parsley, so used about 8 leaves of fresh chopped basil. Topped with a fistful of parmesan cheese, and mixed it all up. Penne is the best because all the meaty sauce gets stuck inside. This was the first time I've had penne alla vodka, and it was great! Thanks for the delicious dinner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2013

      This is so good. I loved the Italian sausage in this and the sauce was creamy and good flavor. We will use your recipe again, its so good. Thank you for sharing with us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2013

      My daughter's fave dish. I used morningstar ccrumblers instead of meat since I eat kosher. It is excellent!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2011

      it was ok ,thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2011

      Excellent dish. I added an onion and used honey garlic sausage instead (all I had on me). It turned out delicious. I am going to make another round of it but this time using hot sausage and I might add a green pepper just to change up the dish. My husband loved it. He went back for THREE bowls and joked about how "terrible" it must be and that he needed to get rid of it as soon as possible... Needless to say it is now going to be a staple in our house.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2011

      Fantastic! Easy! Delish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2011

      Top notch dish! I have made this both the hot way (hot italian sausage, pepper flakes, and a squeeze of Siracha), and the mild way (sweet italian sausage) depending on who is eating. The smell will fill the house and make everyone hungry.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2011

      I added 1/2 an onion and a garlic clove to the recipe, but otherwise made it just like written. DH has already asked for this again. I served it with a simple salad, and it was really good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2011

      Made for the family for Valentines Day. I added 1/2 a minced onion with the garlic, only 1/4 t. pepper flakes, used fat free half and half, used fresh basil instead of parsley, and used 1 lb. Italian sausage. Also, I only had citrus vodka and it was totally fine. Excellent finished dish. Visually pretty, stupid easy and super tasty! My 4yo and 2yo ate it up and hubby was impressed. Thank you so much for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2010

      Made with rigatoni instead of penne, this dish is known in upstate New York (where we lived for 5 years) as "Vodka Riggies." In fact, Utica, NY hosts (hosted?) an annual Vodka Riggies cook-off, and it's a great honor to win! Tonight I made it with whole-grain penne and, at several reviewers' suggestion, substituted fat-free half-and-half for the heavy cream. Once it's plated, a sprinkling of Parm will do you no harm! Finger-licking good and comes to the table in no time. Thanks for a wonderful culinary flashback!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2010

      Great meal. I added parmesan when serving and fresh basil. Wonderful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2010

      This was delicious! 5 out of 5 family members agreed. I used hot pepper sauce (about 5 dashes) instead of crushed red pepper and I only had 3 Italian sausages but the results were fantastic. The recipe came together quickly and will likely become a "go to" meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2010

      We've made this twice already and loved it both times! We definitely used more than 1/2 teaspoon of crushed red pepper, but we like it pretty spicy. We like a meatier sauce so we used the full pound of sausage. We also used spicy sausage the first time and liked it better actually. This will definitely be in our regular rotation. Thanks for the post.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2010

      Although this sauce was good, I like a sauce that clings to the pasta....this was thin and wattery. I used spicy Italian sausage (as I had bought them by mistake), left out the red pepper flakes and the rest was the same. My DH really liked it...hense the 4 stars, but I knew that it would be a tad warm for my liking. Once the pasta was cooked, I let the sauce sit for about 5 minutes to let the sauce absorbed some of the juices. (once it was cooled, all the juices were absorbed) Next time, I definately will use the mild sausage and pass the hot pepper flakes to the DH. I would also try making a separate white sauce with vodka and add it in after the tomatoes have simmered for 15 minutes. I might also reserve the tomato juices and add them at the end if the pasta needs to be thinned out. This recipe would be very easy to play around with

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2010

      Easy and delicious. I too made this with fat free half and half like other reviewers and omitted the parsley as I was out.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2010

      My husband and I loved this dish! It was so quick and easy to prepare. I followed the recipe exactly except I used hot Shady Brook Farm Turkey Sausage, removed the casings breaking up the sausage as it browned. It was deeeeliccciouuuusss! Quite spicy, which we loved, and very flavorful. This will definitely be on a regular rotation for dinners. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2009

    • on December 02, 2009

      Made this for my picky BF and he loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2009

      This is so good that I way overate! No complaints though, as I loved it so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2009

      Yum! I really liked this recipe, something a bit different. It really needs the chili to pick it up a little bit. I agree you could easily use spicy sausage. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Penne With Spicy Vodka Tomato Cream Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (420 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 739.5
     
    Calories from Fat 229
    31%
    Total Fat 25.5 g
    39%
    Saturated Fat 10.0 g
    50%
    Cholesterol 57.7 mg
    19%
    Sodium 1039.0 mg
    43%
    Total Carbohydrate 108.1 g
    36%
    Dietary Fiber 16.5 g
    66%
    Sugars 0.1 g
    0%
    Protein 21.8 g
    43%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites