Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Penne With Shrimp and Spicy Tomato Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Penne With Shrimp and Spicy Tomato Sauce

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on June 19, 2008

      This pasta was very different and very good. I loved all the spices in it. Everyone loved this for dinner tonight too, thanks! Made this for ZWT4 for the Chic Chefs.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2008

      This is a very different spin on your typical penne recipe. The combination of spices gave the sauce a flavor that is hard to describe, but good. I love cilantro and especially am fond of it in pasta dishes. This meal came together very quickly, which is nice, because I was short on time. I made it with the shrimp and topped with fresh parm. I imagine the recipe would have been improved with the poster's suggestion of using fresh tomatoes over canned, however, I used what I had on hand at the time. Made for ZWT4.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2008

      I used a basic tomato sauce in place of the canned tomatoes, and I realize now that I used almost twice as much as the recipe called for, and about half the amount of olive oil. I cooked the shrimp in with the sauce which I heated on the stove, but I don't think that was necessary. We had the sauce over some packaged gnocchi I bought instead of the penne and it was really tasty. My DH was skeptical when he saw me put the ginger in the sauce, but it turned out really well. I also used cilantro and parsley. The lemon, cilantro and touch of ginger made it taste slightly Asian and was a really awesome unique sauce for pasta.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2007

      I made this a few nights ago. I didn't have crushed tomatoes, so i used diced and stewed. Was still very tasty!! Definite keeper. Thanks for posting!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2006

      This pasta and shrimp was very good. I doubled the sauce ingredients because I wanted it more saucy. Also, I heated the sauce before tossing it with the pasta and shrimp. My family loved this. Thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2006

      The perfect dinner party meal that will impress. This recipe goes great w/homemade bread which can be made earlier in the days and warmed before dinnertime and a simple salad. Country club-style gourmet made at home. I love it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2006

      Amazing shrimp and pasta! This is just as perfect for a date night meal for two as it would be for a dinner party,. LOVED the way this goes together fast- leaving you more time to spend with the people you love. The flavors meld wonderfully together. Followed the recipe exactly using parsley and topping with some fresh grated parm and some crushed red pepper flakes for a little extra heat. Served with some crusty fresh baked french bread and a simple green salad. The Pinot Grigio suggested was a perfect choice. Thanks Cheryl for a fantastic and easy meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2005

      Easy to Make. I adapted the Shrimp version by adding 3 chopped celery stalks sauteed in butter. I then served over rice. The whole family loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2005

      These pasta, shrimps and no-cooked tomatoes are a winner. The sauce is easy to make and I would prepare them in advance. So the different flavors are blended well. The use of full riped fresh tomatoes instead of canned tomatoes was the only change I made. Fresh tomatoes are great with their sweet flavor. But the combination of paprika, cumin and ginger makes the sauce so special. I have had this with a dry white wine, which brings up the flavors of the shrimps. This is a fresh and light summer dish. It reminded me of my visit in Rome - sitting in a wonderful small restaurant having a light pasta dish and seafood. Try it, love it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2005

      Great recipe. We made the Penne with Mozzarella and Spicy Tomato Sauce Variation and it was very good! The combination of spices gives a great taste to the sauce. We thought the spices complemented it well. We love this recipe and are going to try the vegetable variation this week.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2005

      This dish was relatively very easy to make. The only thing I added to the recipe was chopped green onion that I sprinkled on top of the dish. I did not care for the taste of the sauce as is in the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Penne With Shrimp and Spicy Tomato Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (220 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 564.2
     
    Calories from Fat 153
    27%
    Total Fat 17.0 g
    26%
    Saturated Fat 2.5 g
    12%
    Cholesterol 172.8 mg
    57%
    Sodium 465.8 mg
    19%
    Total Carbohydrate 66.2 g
    22%
    Dietary Fiber 3.2 g
    12%
    Sugars 1.7 g
    6%
    Protein 34.5 g
    69%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    crushed tomatoes in puree

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes