9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

We enjoyed this dish for dinner today and found that it was simple to prepare, it didn't take long to cook and it had a nice taste. The only issue I had was that the sauce was rather soupy. Next time I will let the sauce simmer without the lid to allow some of the water evaporate and see what happens. Thank-you for posting this recipe!

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sunny_day November 16, 2002

This tasted good but needs something else. Sauce was a bit runny. This dish was easy to prepare. I used 8oz of cream cheese to try and thicken the sauce but was still a little runny.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jamielynn0557 November 27, 2010

A little thin but very good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
heyitsamandas May 11, 2010

I really liked the flavor of this, but my sauce was a little on the thin side. Nice side dish for us.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Southern Bug April 12, 2010

I really liked this dish! It was really easy to make. Next time i will add crushed red pepper and maybe some gorgozola sprinkled on the top.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
haskinsfam July 21, 2007

I made this by the recipe with a couple of minor changes. I used cheese filled tortellini, as I had no penne on hand. I added a shake of red pepper flakes to the chicken broth/carrot pot, and I added the peas about 7 minutes into the simmer, so they wouldn't cook too much. I found the sauce to be almost the right consistency, just had to simmer it for a couple of minutes to thicken. This is a nice warm, meatless meal for a busy night.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
anne in apex October 28, 2005

Overall a good dish. I used Fat free cream cheese and it came out good. I imagine using reducedfat/full fat cream cheese would make the dish very rich. I also simmered with cover off, made the sauce just right, not too thin, but not thick. I would also recommend definitely finding another vegetable other than peas for this concoction. After a while, the peas gave the dish too much of a "mush" to it, and I only used a 10oz frozen package, glad I didn't use 16oz! Next time around I'd go with a more firm vegetable, or just use spinach instead, cause I personally just can't get enough of spinach!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chchchchewie September 02, 2005

Delicious. Even liked enormously by my hot sauce-loving husband. I thought he might find it too bland but nary a complaint. I made half a recipe with no problems and took zygetta's comments to heart and cooked the vegetables, lid off, to thicken the sauce. I suggest adding salt and pepper. My idea of satisfying comfort food, Kari. Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sugarpea April 18, 2005

This is deliciouis! I was expecting a side dish, but this makes a huge amount! So much that I was able to take the left overs, add some cooked chicken breast and take it over to a friend who just had a baby. When it says to place in a serving bowl, I would suggest an 11x13 casserole dish. Wonderful flavor and an excellent dish! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dine & Dish October 04, 2004
Penne with Creamy Carrots and Scallions