25 Reviews

This recipe isn't for me. I made this for the first time and didn't make any changes at all. I think the idea of southwestern style pasta dish just isn't for me. The sauce itself, looked more like soup, and probably would have tasted better as a soup. It is spicy, but was missing something. This is just my opinion, a lot of people enjoyed it like my husband. Sauce doesn't taste like a pasta sauce, but a soupy sauce. I won't make this anymore, it was a disappointment.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jennifer052275 April 24, 2011

This was so flavorful with just the right amount of kick. I had everything prepped and ready to go (as suggested by other reviews). I added 1 large jalapeno and left the cayenne pepper out. It was perfect for us. I also doubled the garlic and used half and half because my milk was only 1%. This makes a ton, we had it again last night and there is still some left over. (all three of us are light eaters). Thank you Patrish for posting such a yummy recipe! Will definitely make again! :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JT'sMom July 22, 2009

Really great! I used 5 slices of pancetta instead of bacon, which gave a really nice flavor. Served over rice instead of penne, but I think it would be fantastic either way! Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Blue Skies March 15, 2008

We enjoy this dish and have it quite often due to it being so good and easy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Devin71 February 20, 2014

This is a rich, hearty dish. We didn't find it to be overly spicy, despite using the hot pepper cheese, jalapeno, and cayenne. I could have used a little more heat in mine, personally. I used fat free milk and 2% Greek yogurt in place of the sour cream. My sauce was still very thick and I got to cut out a few (just a few) calories. I also added a bit more garlic. Thanks for an easy dinner.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dr. Jenny October 25, 2010

Yummy! I used cream instead of milk and added extra cheese. Easy to make.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DonnaColorado Johnson July 06, 2010

This recipe was wonderful, my whole family loved it. I added more bacon, and left out the jalapeno(for my kids). Thank you for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
vincentandkim June 12, 2010

I really enjoyed making this recipe. It has a rustic flavor that's not overpowering. The only thing I would change is to add more bacon and garlic. I ended up using different cheese, because I cannot handle jalapeno on any level. Still, a good recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cmargheim December 15, 2009

This was absolutely delicious. My mother gave me two pounds of pepper jack cheese so I was looking for a way to use it. Anyway, I decided to try this dish and was pleasantly surprised. Additionally, we have never tried penne noodles before and even my 80 year old mother enjoyed them. This recipe is a keeper and I will be putting it into our regular meal rotation. Bravo!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Joy3672 December 01, 2009

This was great! DH recently decided he doesn't like onions, so I sadly had to skip them - but I think they would have made it even better. I didn't use a jalapeno or cayenne because of my DD, but it still had a nice smokey kick like a PP suggested - sadly too much for my 13 month old. I will def make this again, thanks Patrish!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lolablitz November 24, 2009
Penne With Chicken in Creamy Pepper Jack Cheese Sauce