16 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

A good pasta recipe. Easy to make, good flavor. I cut it in half without any problem and have enough left for lunch. I also did not use the best sausage, and if I had I'm sure it would make it even better. There's nothing really different, nusual or "knock me off my feet" about it, but its just a good basic recipe. Also, I dont like my pasta drowning in sauce, I like just enough to nicely coat the pasta with maybe a little for bread dipping, and this recipe was perfect for my liking. Very good and I think I would make it again, especially when zucchini season comes around.

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kelly M. February 19, 2003

I did use both hot and sweet sausage. The cumin you didn`t even know it was in there! I also added the peppers and zucchini at the same time with the onions and garlic.The parmesan I let everyone add there own.This is something I would make again. It seems like I`ve made it before! My style of cooking! Just loved it! I could eat the whole thing!

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rita~ February 11, 2003

Thank you for a delicious, easy recipe. I made this exactly as written (except I cut in in half) for dinner today and it was wonderful. All the ingredients worked so well together. I will definately make this again. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sacodeb February 27, 2011

I have had vodka sauces at restaurants but have never made them. This was really easy. I have tried to get my son to eat sweet Italian sausage and he thinks that it is too spicy. Boiling it and then slicing it must have made a difference. He didn't care for the sauce. I am not too crazy about the cumin. Thank you.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Delenn October 12, 2010

This is a great recipe that I can see making more often the future. I am fan of vodka sauces, though I had them mainly with just a bit of bacon in, not with veggies and sausage. It makes more of a complete meal, which is really nice. I halved the recipe as there are only 2 of us, which was enough because we are both stuffed. My DH doesn't usually scrape the pot for the last of the sauce, and he did with this recipe. You can't get Italian sausage here so I used Seasoning for Ground Pork (Italian-Style Sausage) and skipped to step 3. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tea Girl June 01, 2010

I also agree it's more than 5 stars worth, I've made it a few times now with spicy Italian sausage. mmm yummy yummy!! Thanks for creating and sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Blue Skies September 20, 2009

You desesrve more than 5 stars for this recipe!!! It was so delicious- I couldn't believe it came out of my kitchen! Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kiko December 20, 2008

that was really good ... i didnt have volka so i put tequilla and it was amazing ... thanks you for that great recipe

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bobybaloony July 26, 2008

This recipe is amazing!!! This recipe has inspired me to start a cookbook with my current "Top 10 Zaar Recipes" b/c it's truly one of the best. I made some adjustments for diet/taste. I used Jennie-O Hot Turkey Sausage and rather than boiling it, I crumbled it and cooked it in with the sauce. I had fresh tomatoes, so I chopped them up and added them as well. Finally, because I like to make my own noodles (and can't do penne!) I served this over fettuccine noodles for a FANTASTIC meal. It's got this amazing "just perfect" spiciness to it. I would have oooohed and ahhhhed over this at any restaurant.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AKillian24 October 29, 2007

I made this last night for dinner. I t was very quick because I had leftover naked penne in a ziploc bag. It was absolutely wonderful, I couldn't resist adding a handful of fresh herbs and a dash of worcestershire sauce. I love it because it has lots of veggies in it. Ralph (my livein chef) said it was very good also. Thanks for a great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
conniecooks July 18, 2007
Penne & Sausages a La Vodka