13 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

used lemon juice instead of rind, mozzarella with dry parmesion , no zuchini ... everything else was exact and it was great. cant wait to do it again with zuchini and squash. yum! thank you.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sweetatforty September 13, 2013

Very much enjoyed. I added extra lemon zest, spinach and omitted the zucchini. Personal preference. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lori Mama January 30, 2012

I can always depend on Uncle Bill for a fantastic supper! This dish is no exception. The medley of flavors is a treat. I might add some chicken or shrimp to this dish the next time I make it to complete the meal. Thanks, Uncle Bill!** Edited (1/30/2012) to add that I continue making this wonderful recipe now that we are making the switch to meatless meals. The only changes I make now is to use canola oil in place of the olive (to make even healthier), use vegetable broth in place of the chicken and eliminate the Parmesan ~ Thanks again, Uncle Bill for sharing all your fabulous recipes!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bev January 30, 2012

This was delicious! The flavors blended very nicely. I left out the mushrooms as I am not a fan of them. It was good even without them. I didn't pay close attention to the amount of penne to make. I made the whole box (which I noticed afterwards was 14 oz.) and it was way too much for the amount of vegetables I had. Other than that it went great. I prepped the veggies earlier in the day so when it came time to cook it all I had to do was mix per the directions! This one I will definitely make again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Zinnia's chef June 02, 2011

Great dish! We substituted vegetable broth for chicken broth and used squash instead of broccoli from our garden. My DH was skeptical at first, but helped himself with more. Thanks William!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Chill September 20, 2009

Super recipe. I used kale and collar greens in place of the spinach, those were on hand. Substituted fresh lemon juice for lemon rind. It turned out great. This is definitely a keeper. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Recipe Mavin August 31, 2009

Delicious! We didnt have the red pepper flakes or zucchini and we used canned mushrooms, canned tomatoes. Will use fresh ingredients next time. I can't wait for leftovers tomorrow!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Afternoon Delights December 14, 2008

Excellent dish! I did add a bit more garlic and did not have any zucchini. This is a keeper for sure.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Zoe #2 September 26, 2005

Great veggie side dish. Interesting flavors. I used summer squash for color and interest. I used fresh tomatoes but good to hear that canned can be subbed.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MollyJ July 12, 2005

I did as another reviewer did and used canned diced tomatoes. (My son won't eat fresh) Otherwise I cooked it exactly as it said to and added some chicken breast I'd sliced into strips and cooked. It was excellent. Fed 5 kids and my husband and they all loved it as much as I did. Thanks for the recipe, we will be keeping it to make again and again. (the recipe makes a lot, I didn't realize that and doubled it and made enough for a small army :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Laura G. July 06, 2005
Penne Pasta with Vegetables