Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Penne Arrabiatta Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Penne Arrabiatta

    Average Rating:

    60 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 60

    Sort by:

    • on February 25, 2003

      Well this was just wonderful! I didn't expect anything sensational from such simple ingredients, but the more we ate the more we loved it. I thought the basil and parsley amounts looked small for fresh herbs, so I used the dried herbs instead (same amounts.) It was just right, and I served it with spelt rotini. This recipe is now on my "make often" list. Thanks Mirj!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2002

      Made this for supper the other night. My DH and I loved it. The only addition was a second clove of garlic. Spicy and hot enough for us. This was really great and we will have this again. Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2002

      This was really good. It was very easy to prepare and everyone liked it. I would take it easy on the red pepper flakes if you don't like things spicy. I loved it but my kids thought it was a little hot.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2002

      This was yummy. I also tossed in some chunks of buffalo mozzarella. Ummmm yummy. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2002

      FINALLY, after a 101 plans, I got around to making pasta today. This is the FIRST pasta recipe I've made in my life! As I was making pasta for the first time, I used only 500gms. of penne pasta. I used 1 small onion, 1 clove garlic, 1 tbsp. oil, 3 pinches of salt to cook the pasta, 1 additional tsp. of salt in step 2, 1/4 tsp. pepper, 1/4 tsp. dried basil, 1/4 tsp. dried oregano, 1/4 tsp. red chilli powder as a substitute for red pepper flakes as we don't use the latter in our daily cooking and so I didn't have it on hand and 1/4 tsp. chopped fresh parsley. I do not use canned tomatoes, so, I peeled and chopped up 4 fresh tomatoes. Next time, I'll use atleast 6 tomatoes for the same qty. of pasta. I drizzled out of the bottle, a generous amount of tomato sauce to make this saucey while cooking the pasta in the spices! It was really delicious! At the end, I garnished it with finely chopped Kraft cheese(I used 3 slices). THANK YOU so much for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2002

      Simple but yet so flavorful with a very nice kick from the crushed red pepper. I mixed half the tomato sauce with the pasta and used the remaining half to top the individual servings. I didn't have any parmesan cheese but used shredded mozzarella cheese liberally sprinkled over the top of each serving. Added a salad and garlic bread for a great meal. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2002

      I did not like tomatoey sauces until recently. This one helped my "new" cause along nicely. It was terrific just as is (with extra garlic though). This would be good with rotini as well (lots of ridges to catch the sauce) Thanks Mirjam.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2003

      I thought this was pretty good, but it was a bit too "oniony" (if that is even a word!!) for my taste. I think I will add a lot less onion next time! I really liked how spicy it was though!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2002

      This was very good and extremely easy for a weekday meal. It's in my repeat file. Thanks Mirjam, for another keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2002

      Made this last night and got a thumbs up from my husband and son. The red pepper flakes make it a nice change from most pasta sauces. I served it with low fat Red Lobster biscuits and a salad.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2002

      This was so simple to make, and served with garlic bread and a salad, it made a wonderful dinner. Thanks, Mirjam, for a really good dinner that I will definitely make again. It's already in my file of "Do Again".

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2003

      Great recipe! DH loved this "spicy" sauce! The only change I made was to throw in a can of mushrooms. I also sauteed some shrimp (in garlic butter) and topped the pasta with the shrimp! Thanks for sharing. I'll certainly be making this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2009

      This is delicious! I made it for a picnic for our 4th of July celebration (nothing says America like Italian pasta). The only changes I made were using dried herbs instead of fresh, as well as only using 1/2 tsp of red pepper and adding 1/2 tsp of Italian seasoning. I also added a bit of store-bought tomato sauce, around 1/2 cup. The only thing is that there's no way this serves four--maybe we're small eaters, but we could serve six to eight with this recipe. Thanks for a new favorite!! :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2009

      Thanks Mirj! We really enjoyed this sauce tonight! I doubled the recipe with a few changes - 1 can crushed and 1 can diced tomatoes for a little more texture, doubled the garlic twice, and didn't double the red pepper flakes - to our taste. Also sauteed red pepper, red onion, mushrooms and shrimp to add to sauce at the end. Excellent dinner! Thanks again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2004

      Mirj, I really enjoyed this! I'm not sure which I liked more, the taste or the fact that I had dinner ready on a busy weeknight in about 30 minutes. I used more red pepper flakes b/c we like SPICY! I actually used fresh herbs. I added half of them at the beginning of cook time and the other half at the very last second (right before I served) so that the flavors would still be bright and vibrant. I also topped with a bit of freshly shredded romano cheese. It was delish!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2003

      Excellent recipe and so quick and easy to make. I only used 1/2 teaspoon red pepper flakes cause I am a wimp when it comes to "hot stuff". Next time I will use the full teaspoon. I also added sauteed fresh mushrooms and about 1/2 lb bay scallops just because I had them. Doubled the fresh herbs too. The best news is I have enough left over for dinner tonight. YUMMY.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2003

      A very good recipe for a classic Italian dish. I made it for a friend who wanted something "Italian and spicy", and got a thumbs up -- his mouth was too full to be able to say much... ;;-) Used a lot more pepper, as I love hot dishes and he is Malaysian. As usual though: put in the fresh herbs (basil and parsley) in last and don't cook them for best results.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2012

    • on August 29, 2011

      This is the best and it's easy to make.I cut up and added a Chorizo to this dish, what an extra taste. Once you make this you will never stop.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2010

    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Penne Arrabiatta

    Serving Size: 1 (339 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 510.6
     
    Calories from Fat 86
    16%
    Total Fat 9.6 g
    14%
    Saturated Fat 1.3 g
    6%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 14.6 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 99.9 g
    33%
    Dietary Fiber 15.3 g
    61%
    Sugars 6.0 g
    24%
    Protein 10.5 g
    21%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes