27 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

So easy! My husband who doesn't cook usually makes this and it always turns out delicious! If I have extra tomato sauce made that needs to be used I use it as well as adding canned tomatoes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
murciana02 March 05, 2012

Not too good for me. A bit bland..

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cmatos21 January 23, 2012

Great recipe! Added onion and pancetta as other reviewers suggested. Good quality cheese is essential (I prefer romano). My family all loved this, hubby and kids 10 and 12, tho I had to puree the tomatoes for my son :( Also, I added a big handful of arugula to my serving to lighten it up and add some green. Arugula wilted nicely and was really delicious! Thanks :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
skw3 November 23, 2011

Restaurant quality recipe.
I used to frequent a place that had the best penne alla vodka, but we moved away and sadly when I returned on a trip the restaurant had gone downhill and the food was awful. I'm thankful to have found this recipe, as it is almost an exact duplicate of that once loved penne alla vodka.
I sauteed about 1/2 c of onions in the butter mixture because I had used some of my prosciutto in a previous recipe, didn't have enough and needed filler. It was awesome with them and I'll continue to put them in when I make this again. Thanks for a great dish!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CruellaDeVille August 29, 2011

I made my own sauce with fresh tomatoes from the farmers market. This is the most amazing and delicious recipe. The vodka I used was from our own family business. What a treat. No leftovers to be had...guess I'll have to make some more. Thank you for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cls45 August 19, 2011

This was great! I followed an earlier suggestion and used pancetta as well as the diced tomatoes, and added 1/4 cup fresh basil. I also sub'd GF penne, and it held up well under the sauce and cheeses, which is the usual complaint. The BF, who is a very picky eater, cleaned his plate and went back for seconds!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Krinn April 11, 2011

This was top notch! Loved it.. Just as good as Carrabas vodka sauce... I used the diced tomatoes that was suggested,...I used the combination romano parm cheese. This was too easy fantastic.. goes great with a glass of wine!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sunshinencgirl February 09, 2011

Love this recipe! Use a good quality vodka and quality cheese. You can't go wrong! Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CatalinaMD December 02, 2010

This was ok for me, we just thought it needed some herbs...maybe basil or something. I have never tried Penne Alla Vodka, so it just might not be my thing. Thanks for posting though!:)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sweetcakes September 21, 2009

Great and easy recipe!! I used regular can of plain tomato sauce instead of whole tomatoes and it worked out great! I cook the ham on the pan a little bit before adding the garlic, as to not burn the garlic. Thanks for the recipe!! I've used it tons of times and everyone has loved it!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SummerCsea April 07, 2009
Penne Alla Vodka