29 Reviews

I made this recipe as an appetizer for Christmas yesterday. It was DELICIOUS and everyone loved it! I used a jar of one of my favorite marinara sauces instead of the can of crushed tomatoes the recipe called for. I also added cubed chicken pieces. I think the next time I make this dish I am going to add some saut?ed onions as others have mentioned. I worked in an Italian restaurant for over 8 years when I was younger and their vodka sauce is one of my family's favorites, but they were just as pleased if not more in love with this one!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tamalicious121 December 26, 2012

This was terrific and easy. I used whole tomatoes. Sauteed about 1/2 c. onion and then used an immersion blender to puree the sauteed onion, garlic and tomatoes. The red pepper gave a nice bit of bite, but not too much. A winner I will use again! Don't skip the fresh parmesan or peccorino romano at the end. It really makes it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NYBokey April 16, 2012

So easy! My husband who doesn't cook usually makes this and it always turns out delicious! If I have extra tomato sauce made that needs to be used I use it as well as adding canned tomatoes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
murciana02 March 05, 2012

Not too good for me. A bit bland..

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cmatos21 January 23, 2012

Great recipe! Added onion and pancetta as other reviewers suggested. Good quality cheese is essential (I prefer romano). My family all loved this, hubby and kids 10 and 12, tho I had to puree the tomatoes for my son :( Also, I added a big handful of arugula to my serving to lighten it up and add some green. Arugula wilted nicely and was really delicious! Thanks :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
skw3 November 23, 2011

Restaurant quality recipe.
I used to frequent a place that had the best penne alla vodka, but we moved away and sadly when I returned on a trip the restaurant had gone downhill and the food was awful. I'm thankful to have found this recipe, as it is almost an exact duplicate of that once loved penne alla vodka.
I sauteed about 1/2 c of onions in the butter mixture because I had used some of my prosciutto in a previous recipe, didn't have enough and needed filler. It was awesome with them and I'll continue to put them in when I make this again. Thanks for a great dish!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CruellaDeVille August 29, 2011

I made my own sauce with fresh tomatoes from the farmers market. This is the most amazing and delicious recipe. The vodka I used was from our own family business. What a treat. No leftovers to be had...guess I'll have to make some more. Thank you for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cls45 August 19, 2011

This was great! I followed an earlier suggestion and used pancetta as well as the diced tomatoes, and added 1/4 cup fresh basil. I also sub'd GF penne, and it held up well under the sauce and cheeses, which is the usual complaint. The BF, who is a very picky eater, cleaned his plate and went back for seconds!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Krinn April 11, 2011

This was top notch! Loved it.. Just as good as Carrabas vodka sauce... I used the diced tomatoes that was suggested,...I used the combination romano parm cheese. This was too easy fantastic.. goes great with a glass of wine!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sunshinencgirl February 09, 2011

Love this recipe! Use a good quality vodka and quality cheese. You can't go wrong! Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CatalinaMD December 02, 2010
Penne Alla Vodka