Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Penne Alla Vodka Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Penne Alla Vodka

    Average Rating:

    26 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 26

    Sort by:

    • on June 02, 2013

      I did make a few minor modifications to this recipe. I had made it twice before and decided to change it. I added 3 shallots to the first step and used crushed tomatoes since we don't favor a chunky sauce, and I added some oregano. However, I STILL had to puree everything in a blender so that the prosciutto flavor blended better. My husband and sister loved it! I guess the third time really is the charm. This got added to my recipe collection, we'll definitely be making again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2010

      ****Original review 7/21/2008: Prosciutto, garlic, cream....how could one go wrong! Excellent flavor. I used fire roasted diced tomatoes instead of whole tomatoes. Since my DH & DD are not big fans of "chunky sauces" I might try this next time with crushed tomato....I bet it would be wonderful. Definitely a keeper! Thanks for posting! New 2010: I made this using crushed tomatos and it was much better appreciated by my DH and DD. I forgot to add the parmesan cheese, but passed it at the table. It tasted a bit sweet without it for some reason, so I won't forget it next time!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2014

      I made the recipe as described, but the sauce tasted a little bland to me, so I added Oregano and a little more garlic/salt. Overall it came out pretty well, easy recipe to follow.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2014

      Love this recipe! This is very similar to a recipe I make from the Soprano's cookbook! This time I used crushed tomatoes and added shrimp! It was awesome!! I also don't add crushed red pepper. Not a fan!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2013

      thanks i have been trying to replicate my local restaurants penne vodka and this recipe finally helped me do it! I added some chopped onions to the butter with garlic the second time i made it. i also added some tomato sauce in addition to the whole tomatoes. the original recipe is lighter but i wanted it richer saucier.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2013

      Wow,.....I just made this disk and my 10 year old daughter who just went to a "movin on up" party for her 5th grade class where they had a caterer bring the same dish in told me mine was better. I am a pretty good cook to and would love to offer some of my own recipes sometimes. I have a Nephew also who went to Culinary School and is a Chef who gives me lots of good ideas. Thanks so much for such a good recipe....it was so easy and a great recipe I will use over and over. Chellen322@aol.com (Helen)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2012

      I made this recipe as an appetizer for Christmas yesterday. It was DELICIOUS and everyone loved it! I used a jar of one of my favorite marinara sauces instead of the can of crushed tomatoes the recipe called for. I also added cubed chicken pieces. I think the next time I make this dish I am going to add some saut?ed onions as others have mentioned. I worked in an Italian restaurant for over 8 years when I was younger and their vodka sauce is one of my family's favorites, but they were just as pleased if not more in love with this one!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2012

      Absolutely delicious. Just like the penne alla vodka that I loved to order in Italian restaurants in NJ (it's an American-Italian dish)--it's the first recipe I've tried that comes out the right pink color. I didn't try it this time, but I've also seen this with peas in it. It's very rich. I wouldn't skimp on any of the ingredients, though. In particular I thought the prosciutto made recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2012

      This was terrific and easy. I used whole tomatoes. Sauteed about 1/2 c. onion and then used an immersion blender to puree the sauteed onion, garlic and tomatoes. The red pepper gave a nice bit of bite, but not too much. A winner I will use again! Don't skip the fresh parmesan or peccorino romano at the end. It really makes it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2012

      So easy! My husband who doesn't cook usually makes this and it always turns out delicious! If I have extra tomato sauce made that needs to be used I use it as well as adding canned tomatoes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2012

      Not too good for me. A bit bland..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2011

      Great recipe! Added onion and pancetta as other reviewers suggested. Good quality cheese is essential (I prefer romano). My family all loved this, hubby and kids 10 and 12, tho I had to puree the tomatoes for my son :( Also, I added a big handful of arugula to my serving to lighten it up and add some green. Arugula wilted nicely and was really delicious! Thanks :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2011

      Restaurant quality recipe.
      I used to frequent a place that had the best penne alla vodka, but we moved away and sadly when I returned on a trip the restaurant had gone downhill and the food was awful. I'm thankful to have found this recipe, as it is almost an exact duplicate of that once loved penne alla vodka.
      I sauteed about 1/2 c of onions in the butter mixture because I had used some of my prosciutto in a previous recipe, didn't have enough and needed filler. It was awesome with them and I'll continue to put them in when I make this again. Thanks for a great dish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2011

      I made my own sauce with fresh tomatoes from the farmers market. This is the most amazing and delicious recipe. The vodka I used was from our own family business. What a treat. No leftovers to be had...guess I'll have to make some more. Thank you for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2011

      This was great! I followed an earlier suggestion and used pancetta as well as the diced tomatoes, and added 1/4 cup fresh basil. I also sub'd GF penne, and it held up well under the sauce and cheeses, which is the usual complaint. The BF, who is a very picky eater, cleaned his plate and went back for seconds!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2011

      This was top notch! Loved it.. Just as good as Carrabas vodka sauce... I used the diced tomatoes that was suggested,...I used the combination romano parm cheese. This was too easy fantastic.. goes great with a glass of wine!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2010

      Love this recipe! Use a good quality vodka and quality cheese. You can't go wrong! Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2009

      This was ok for me, we just thought it needed some herbs...maybe basil or something. I have never tried Penne Alla Vodka, so it just might not be my thing. Thanks for posting though!:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2009

      Great and easy recipe!! I used regular can of plain tomato sauce instead of whole tomatoes and it worked out great! I cook the ham on the pan a little bit before adding the garlic, as to not burn the garlic. Thanks for the recipe!! I've used it tons of times and everyone has loved it!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2008

      This is the best ever! My hubby and I make it a lot and can't get enough of it! We use a little extra cheese and our own canned tomatoes. This recipe is for sure a keeper and anyone that has been over to try it always asks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Penne Alla Vodka

    Serving Size: 1 (266 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 481.5
     
    Calories from Fat 159
    33%
    Total Fat 17.7 g
    27%
    Saturated Fat 10.2 g
    51%
    Cholesterol 49.6 mg
    16%
    Sodium 237.6 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 67.1 g
    22%
    Dietary Fiber 10.1 g
    40%
    Sugars 3.8 g
    15%
    Protein 11.2 g
    22%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    prosciutto

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites