29 Reviews

I did make a few minor modifications to this recipe. I had made it twice before and decided to change it. I added 3 shallots to the first step and used crushed tomatoes since we don't favor a chunky sauce, and I added some oregano. However, I STILL had to puree everything in a blender so that the prosciutto flavor blended better. My husband and sister loved it! I guess the third time really is the charm. This got added to my recipe collection, we'll definitely be making again.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Fantasygirl3127 June 02, 2013

****Original review 7/21/2008: Prosciutto, garlic, cream....how could one go wrong! Excellent flavor. I used fire roasted diced tomatoes instead of whole tomatoes. Since my DH & DD are not big fans of "chunky sauces" I might try this next time with crushed tomato....I bet it would be wonderful. Definitely a keeper! Thanks for posting! New 2010: I made this using crushed tomatos and it was much better appreciated by my DH and DD. I forgot to add the parmesan cheese, but passed it at the table. It tasted a bit sweet without it for some reason, so I won't forget it next time!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cook4_6 March 24, 2010

Amazing! I'm not a fan of reviews that talk about modifications, but here I go. I added cubed grilled chicken for more protein because the box of my favorite brand of "healthy" pasta is less than a pound. It was superb. Definitely adding this one to my favorite recipe binder!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kathytrinkle November 01, 2015

Wow,.....I just made this disk and my 10 year old daughter who just went to a "movin on up" party for her 5th grade class where they had a caterer bring the same dish in told me mine was better. I am a pretty good cook to and would love to offer some of my own recipes sometimes. I have a Nephew also who went to Culinary School and is a Chef who gives me lots of good ideas. Thanks so much for such a good recipe....it was so easy and a great recipe I will use over and over. Chellen322@aol.com (Helen)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chellen322 June 17, 2013

Absolutely delicious. Just like the penne alla vodka that I loved to order in Italian restaurants in NJ (it's an American-Italian dish)--it's the first recipe I've tried that comes out the right pink color. I didn't try it this time, but I've also seen this with peas in it. It's very rich. I wouldn't skimp on any of the ingredients, though. In particular I thought the prosciutto made recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
amy.gaetano June 07, 2012

This recipe was excellent, and got raving reviews from my husband (who is quite fussy about pasta sauces). I did add some ingredients of my own: an onion, which I fried up with the garlic before adding the tomatoes; roasted red pepper and tomatoes, along with the canned tomatoes; and fresh basil both in the sauce, as well as on top as a garnish. It turned out pretty much perfect--I will definitely be making this again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Karla Freeman April 21, 2016

5 Stars, Delicious! I doubled the recipe, blended the sauce and omitted the Proscuitto! Simple, and delicious, it was a great crowd pleaser! I will try it with the Proscuitto, and not blend it next time my vegetarian family members are not over! Can't wait! So yummy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ruth D. January 20, 2015

I made the recipe as described, but the sauce tasted a little bland to me, so I added Oregano and a little more garlic/salt. Overall it came out pretty well, easy recipe to follow.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
fdaly86_12076204 June 01, 2014

Love this recipe! This is very similar to a recipe I make from the Soprano's cookbook! This time I used crushed tomatoes and added shrimp! It was awesome!! I also don't add crushed red pepper. Not a fan!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nymema May 12, 2014

thanks i have been trying to replicate my local restaurants penne vodka and this recipe finally helped me do it! I added some chopped onions to the butter with garlic the second time i made it. i also added some tomato sauce in addition to the whole tomatoes. the original recipe is lighter but i wanted it richer saucier.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Making a mess October 27, 2013
Penne Alla Vodka